Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th February 2017, 21:57   #42541  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
1. just go in your GPU driver and look.
you find everything under "change resolution"
6. default settings are there for a reason leave it at default.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2017, 22:50   #42542  |  Link
cyberscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecmslee View Post
Looks better. A couple things of note- unless you play a lot of oddball resolution videos, you could simplify your rules using just srcHeight.
Also, these two lines here:

Code:
else if (srcWidth < 2000) and (srcHeight < 1100) and (deintFps >= 29) "1080p29"
else if (srcWidth < 2000) and (srcHeight < 1100) "1080p60"
mean that any video with 29 fps or higher use "1080p29" profile. This is probably not what you intended.

With all that in mind, here's an example with your profile rules:
Code:
if (srcHeight < 700) "SD"
elseif (srcHeight <= 740) "720p"
elseif (srcHeight < 1100) and (deintFps < 30) "1080p29"
elseif (srcHeight < 1100) "1080p60"
else "2160p"
Your streamline code looks a lot less cluttered than mine. I ran it but all my 1080p videos kept going to the "1080p29" profile.
I made a change from:
Code:
elseif (srcHeight < 1100) and (deintFps < 30) "1080p29"
To
Code:
elseif (srcHeight < 1100) and (deintFps >= 29) "1080p29"
Changing the "< 30" to ">= 29" now sends each 1080p video to its' correct profile. Gotta love automated profiles!

Last edited by cyberscott; 16th February 2017 at 23:14. Reason: edited code
cyberscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2017, 23:07   #42543  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
that's kind of the same as removing the line.
a file with a deint FPS of 30 is not in any spec and doesn't make sense.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 01:28   #42544  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
@huhn

Still haven't understood the point of the chroma image thing but it doesn't matter.It happens to have ''problem'' with 4:4:4 these days and also I have : change size and text,apps... in 300% and sometimes it does strange things.
This image posted earlier explains why you need fit to screen on http://imgur.com/a/XiQta
It ''plagues'' everything,from desktop to whatever,not only the player.You also get ''better'' quality image,it removes any scaling.So...1:1 pixel mapping.
Just saying,don't answer.

@Madshi

About the TV resolution thing that you found weird (4096x2160) I found the PROPER TVs e manual that displays supported resolutions and 4096x2160 is there.Including the support of 24hz+ that I asked.
Here it is: http://mslib.co/read/3820/eng-us-jza...4.html?page=95
So...windows displays things correctly and all good.
I like Madvr more and more for helping maximizing TVs capabilities


@To all

Is there anything to do to improve playback with 24hz?I get 1 frame repeat every 42 seconds with 23.970 source(still don't know how good or bad that is in practice,checking it these days).
23hz : nope (I don't have)
reclock :nope (I'd like to stay 64bit)
auto motion plus:nope(I find frame interpolation only good for *orn)

Any tweaks or something?

Last edited by Damien147; 17th February 2017 at 01:55.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 02:15   #42545  |  Link
jmonier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
About the TV resolution thing that you found weird (4096x2160) I found the PROPER TVs e manual that displays supported resolutions and 4096x2160 is there.
If you look a couple of pages before that it says this:

"optimal and recommended resolution is 3840 x 2160 at 60 Hz"

My 2 LG's also support 4096 but that is not unusual or weird. What would be weird would be if 4096 was the native resolution, but it is not for either the Samsung or the LG. It is 3840 for the LG's and for the Samsung (according to the statement above). That is completely normal.

Last edited by jmonier; 17th February 2017 at 02:26.
jmonier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 02:24   #42546  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
@Madshi
About the TV resolution thing that you found weird (4096x2160) I found the PROPER TVs e manual that displays supported resolutions and 4096x2160 is there.Including the support of 24hz+ that I asked.
Here it is: http://mslib.co/read/3820/eng-us-jza...4.html?page=95
So...windows displays things correctly and all good.
It's fine if you think it's "all good", but you are misunderstanding something very fundamental that people have been trying to explain to you.
Note, that "PROPER TVs e manual" you linked says the following (2 pages prior):
Quote:
Note that the optimal and recommended resolution is 3840 x 2160 at 60 Hz.
The reason for this is because they are telling you that computer graphics and fonts will display most crisp and readable at the native resolution of your panel.
It's saying it "supports" 4096x2160 on the page you linked, but that's not the recommended resolution (which would be the native resolution of the panel).

Your image: http://imgur.com/a/XiQta is a perfect illustration of what happens when you select 4096x2160, you are sending too many dots to the TV and the TV is simply displaying them 1:1, centres the image and truncating the pixels that "fall off" the screen.

Note: DCI 4k is 4096 × 2160. Consumer 4K (UHD-1) is 3840 × 2160. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:D...VCD_to_4K).svg
See how the above image, the DCI is wider? You are sending that, while your TV's native resolution is 4K UHD.

You also need to be careful when you select lower resolutions in windows because video drivers may upscale the image to what it "thinks" is the best. In Nvidia this option is called "Scaling" as seen here:
http://i.imgur.com/uzWk2jw.png
(edit: The selected options in that image are not optimal for what would be ideal in your scenario)

I don't know what the AMD equivalent is.

Hope this information helps. Please understand that people are only trying to help you understand a misunderstanding.

Last edited by Clammerz; 17th February 2017 at 02:26.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 02:54   #42547  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
@jmonier and @Clammerz

The whole point of the conversation was if 4096x2160 existed or not.If it's recommended or whatever comes second.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clammerz View Post

Your image: http://imgur.com/a/XiQta is a perfect illustration of what happens when you select 4096x2160, you are sending too many dots to the TV and the TV is simply displaying them 1:1, centres the image and truncating the pixels that "fall off" the screen.

Note: DCI 4k is 4096 × 2160. Consumer 4K (UHD-1) is 3840 × 2160. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:D...VCD_to_4K).svg
See how the above image, the DCI is wider? You are sending that, while your TV's native resolution is 4K UHD.
No,this image is like that because I have fit to screen(1:1 pixel mapping) in TV OFF.Here is the same image with fit to screen in ON http://imgur.com/a/FzCMJ.

4096x2160 is 1.90:1,right?This second picture has a movie playing with 1:86:1.It's expected to have a small bar on the side if everything works fine and as intended.Just watch the OSD.




And here is a 4096x2160 movie http://imgur.com/a/CYdYf .Everything works as intended,just check the OSD.


Thank you both though.

Last edited by Damien147; 17th February 2017 at 03:13.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 03:09   #42548  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
There is no misunderstanding on our part, please understand. Also people aren't disputing the existence of 4096x2160, that is a misunderstanding. People are disputing the native resolution of consumer screens at 4096x2160. They are also not disputing the "support" of 4096x2160, they are disputing the whether that "support" of the resolution is further processed (shrunk) by the display to fit on the native resolution. Which is what is happening in this scenario.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
No,this image is like that because I have fit to screen(1:1 pixel mapping) in TV OFF
Exactly. "fit to screen" means "force all pixels of the incoming stream to fit on to the TV, don't leave any off screen".
"Fit to screen" is not "1:1 pixel mapping". That is a very big misunderstanding.

From what I can gather there are 2 problems in your setup. The misconception of "fit to screen" and AMD "upscaling" 3840 to 4096.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 03:19   #42549  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
And here is a 4096x2160 movie http://imgur.com/a/CYdYf .Everything works as intended,just check the OSD.
I think you are focusing on the wrong points. It doesn't matter what you configure MadVR to do, and what movies you are playing if you are telling your TV to fudge the incoming signal or if your graphics card is fudging the signal behind your back. Of course under a chain of misconfigurations you could end up at a point where things appear "correct", but there are subtle differences and quality compromises you are making to get to that end-goal.

If you aren't concerned with those, then that's fine. But we are saying there's a gap in your knowledge and there is room for subtle improvement by understanding things at a more fundamental level.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 03:46   #42550  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
.....just check again what I wrote and the two pictures.About fit to screen in these two pictures and the OSD prove what happens(the off and on thing I mean)Fit to screen disables scaling.


Generally speaking I am a noob but I am not doing any mumbo jumbo here.I am just displaying things with native resolution which I proved that it is 4096x2160 and I don't find any problem anywhere.What is the problem?Black bars in movies?It's expected depending on the aspect ratio.If I put 1.90:1 source there aren't any black bars.I can't see the wrong or the misunderstanding you guys mention.@huhn maybe misunderstood,not me.

Last edited by Damien147; 17th February 2017 at 03:53.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 04:30   #42551  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clammerz View Post
You also need to be careful when you select lower resolutions in windows because video drivers may upscale the image to what it "thinks" is the best. In Nvidia this option is called "Scaling" as seen here:
http://i.imgur.com/uzWk2jw.png
(edit: The selected options in that image are not optimal for what would be ideal in your scenario)

I don't know what the AMD equivalent is.
AMD has the same settings and does the same.

with my setup it is even "worse".
when i select 4096x2160 it will stick to this resolution even when i'm switching back to 3840x2160 it is still sending 4096x2160 but with black bar luck my TV doesn't really care and 4096x2160 is just cropped but this is just dumb. i'm using a 1060.

a TV doesn't care what the madVR OSD says it doesn't matter for it. and there is no paint program that can't display that PNG. if the image looks odd on paint your display is creating the artefacts not paint. i'm pretty sure it is the doing of "fit to screen" the specs are very clear it has nothing to do with 1:1 pixel mapping or something else but it is very unlikely that paint is doing it.

but the biggest problem is that this is the madVR thread not a "how to setup my display correct help thread".
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 04:35   #42552  |  Link
Anleck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
@Damien147
http://www.samsung.com/au/tvs/uhd-ku...A55KU6000WXXY/
http://www.samsung.com/us/television...n55ku6300fxza/

"With 3840 x 2160 pixels on our UHD 4K screens, you can experience incredible detail and nuance from Ultra HD Blu-ray™ discs and online movie content"

Supported does not equal Native.

Last edited by Anleck; 17th February 2017 at 05:14.
Anleck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 05:15   #42553  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
@Anleck
Things are *ucked up,look here http://mslib.co/read/3820/eng-us-jza...4.html?page=95



Last example because Hunh is right --->(''but the biggest problem is that this is the madVR thread not a "how to setup my display correct help thread'')


I've pictured an 16:9 source.

3840x2160 is 16:9


4096x2160 is 1.90:1

16:9 source is expected to have blacks bars on the side with 4096x2160 screen.

Here is the screenshot http://imgur.com/a/Dq1VA

As you see there is a black bar behind the OSD.Source is 3840x2160 resolution.



EDIT:....and if you see the whole concept of what I posted it proves that fit to screen is 1:1 pixel mapping.

Last edited by Damien147; 17th February 2017 at 05:39.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 05:40   #42554  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
4096x2160 is 1.90:1

16:9 source is expected to have blacks bars on the side with 4096x2160 screen.

Here is the screenshot http://imgur.com/a/Dq1VA

As you see there is a black bar behind the OSD.Source is 3840x2160 resolution.
the "test" is meaning less because you are using fit to screen.
and the linked page just shows the supported input resolution by the screen this still has nothing to do with the native resolution.

and here a small tutorial for 4.4:4:
Quote:
Almost all the resolutions that we have tested are supported on this TV, the only exception was 1080p@120Hz, but that was to be expected for a Samsung TV. For sharper text 4:4:4 you must set the input type to 'PC'. For 4K@60Hz@4:4:4 you must enable UHD mode. This is only possible on HDMI1.
edit source: http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/ku6300
smasung can't be more clear than this:
Quote:
Read Before Connecting a Computer (Supported Resolutions)
Check the supported resolution for PC input signals.
When you connect your TV to a computer, set the computer's video card to one of the standard resolutions
listed in the tables below or on the next page. The TV will automatically adjust to the resolution you
choose. Note that the optimal and recommended resolution is 3840 x 2160 at 60 Hz. Choosing a resolution
not included in the tables can result in a blank screen or just the power indicator turning on. Refer to the
user manual of your graphics card for compatible resolutions.
just set it to 3840x2160.
you can even change the fit to screen option now it will do nothing because everything fit already.
and run the chroma test picture in paint.

Last edited by huhn; 17th February 2017 at 05:47.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 06:33   #42555  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the "test" is meaning less because you are using fit to screen.
and the linked page just shows the supported input resolution by the screen this still has nothing to do with the native resolution.
If I put screen fit to off you will see the removal of the black bar with the current source.In other sources it crops the sides and full image isn't displayed.You understand why I need fit to screen ON now?We need a universal setting,not only good for 3840x2160 source.I can give you various links that fit to screen disables scaling if you want.


Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
and here a small tutorial for 4.4:4:

edit source: http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/ku6300
smasung can't be more clear than this:

just set it to 3840x2160.
you can even change the fit to screen option now it will do nothing because everything fit already.
and run the chroma test picture in paint.

For 4:4:4--->Thanks for the recommendation but I am already like that(UHD color on,pixel format to full RGB,PC mode) .The problem seems to be here with HDMI https://community.amd.com/thread/204227 .Another guy on another forum told me that he sees 4:4:4 with ChromaRes.png in the same TV but with local lan.


If I change resolution to 3840x2160 my TV settings doesn't like it.For example I lose some picture modes and the problem is that I lose the one I've set.Generally speaking I don't have a problem to lead me in lowering resolution.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 06:47   #42556  |  Link
Ecmslee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: California
Posts: 6
Damien147 please look at this post and the examples of what the test pattern is supposed to look like.

You need to find the resolution and settings that make your display show 4:4:4. You need to see clearly see the text "4:4:4" to prove that your whole display chain passes 1:1 pixel mapping without chroma subsampling.
Ecmslee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 06:49   #42557  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
If I put screen fit to off you will see the removal of the black bar with the current source.In other sources it crops the sides and full image isn't displayed.You understand why I need fit to screen ON now?We need a universal setting,not only good for 3840x2160 source.I can give you various links that fit to screen disables scaling if you want.
this is not about sources. it is about the signal you are sending the source has nothing to do with this.
i know what fit to screen does unlike you.

for 4:4:4 chroma you need
Quote:
For 4:4:4--->Thanks for the recommendation but I am already like that(UHD color on,pixel format to full RGB,PC mode) .The problem seems to be here with HDMI https://community.amd.com/thread/204227 .Another guy on another forum told me that he sees 4:4:4 with ChromaRes.png in the same TV but with local lan.
fixed like 5 month ago in the driver.
Quote:
If I change resolution to 3840x2160 my TV settings doesn't like it.For example I lose some picture modes and the problem is that I lose the one I've set.Generally speaking I don't have a problem to lead me in lowering resolution.
do you get 4:4:4 yes no?
do you even want 1:1 pixel mapping on this 100% 3840x2160 screen?
do you even want 4:4:4?
and you you know why you are losing some picture modes...
because it is entering PC mode.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 06:52   #42558  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
@Ecmslee

I know how the proper image is as I can see it in my monitor.If it's an AMD thing what can I do?Sue them?
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 06:55   #42559  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,921
i had a RX 480 and i have other AMD cards AMD can AMD is able to do 4:4:4.

there was a bug in the past that hide the pixel format setting that's all.
and people that can't read the specs of active adapter.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2017, 07:06   #42560  |  Link
Ecmslee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: California
Posts: 6
As long as your display is unable to show properly "4:4:4" with UHD Color, full RGB, etc., scaling is being applied.
Ecmslee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.