Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st April 2021, 14:35   #30521  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 125
I dont know
Now i get backup
First with dvdfab without compression
After with bdrebuilder in bd25

First time i have problem with a backup
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2021, 05:04   #30522  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by hautem View Post
@Lathe

If you don't mind me asking, what was the Blu-ray source of the burned copy that wouldn't play in your BDP-83? I'm having a similar problem that I initially tried addressing at RedFox here:

https://forum.redfox.bz/threads/solv...-4#post-534479

but I'm not so sure that's the problem. Another poster in that thread had a similar problem with that title (Knives Out) and the burned copy not playing in a stand alone Blu-ray player. Also reported that with "Judy" (another recent Lionsgate release) on Blu-ray.

https://forum.redfox.bz/threads/solv...-3#post-513955

I'm just wondering if this might be a specific title or a larger Lionsgate issue (or maybe I just have an entire spindle of blank discs that have gone bad).

If you feel so inclined...thanks.
It's been a little while ago (my fault) so I'm not sure, but I believe it was the recent Blu-ray release of 'BREAKDOWN' from Imprint in Australia, but ripped region free of course. Again, in my case it SEEMS that the only difference between a Blu-ray disc burned after being re-encoded by BDRB playing and not playing was using an older version of TSMuxer instead of whatever newer version is included with BDRB. As soon as I took the raw re-encoded files from the 'Workfiles' folder and remuxed them with the older version of TSMuxer, the resulting Blu-ray played perfectly.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2021, 05:20   #30523  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotswood View Post
Great! Bug Vanquished! V is for Victory! VBR Rules! Sorry for any convusion (pun intended).
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2021, 14:42   #30524  |  Link
hautem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
It's been a little while ago (my fault) so I'm not sure, but I believe it was the recent Blu-ray release of 'BREAKDOWN' from Imprint in Australia, but ripped region free of course. Again, in my case it SEEMS that the only difference between a Blu-ray disc burned after being re-encoded by BDRB playing and not playing was using an older version of TSMuxer instead of whatever newer version is included with BDRB. As soon as I took the raw re-encoded files from the 'Workfiles' folder and remuxed them with the older version of TSMuxer, the resulting Blu-ray played perfectly.
@Lathe

Thanks much for the reply/info. I was just curious if it was another Lionsgate release.
hautem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2021, 05:06   #30525  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 125
Good morning. I have a doubt. if when I make a backup in bd25 the estimated time is 50 hours with 2 passes, how much will the estimated time be if I make a backup in bd50 of the same film with the same settings? 25 hours?
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2021, 20:33   #30526  |  Link
spotswood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotswood View Post
Great! Bug Vanquished! V is for Victory! VBR Rules! Sorry for any convusion (pun intended).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
?????
spotswood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2021, 08:05   #30527  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotswood View Post
?????
Your PUN!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2021, 08:14   #30528  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
Top man , nice to see people supporting this awesome piece of software, its certainly been useful to me so will also be donating soon
Well, I just got this stimulus dumped in my lap and I don't really have a lot of expenses, so I thought it would be a good time to send something JD's way.

I kinda wanted to help out gonca too. I feel kind of sorry for him way up there in the Great North, isolated deep in the snowy forest in that ramshackle cabin of his. But, I KNOW that he would just spend it on Moose Pheromones. Sometimes tough love is best... (not to be confused with Moose love)
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2021, 17:49   #30529  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
Good morning. I have a doubt. if when I make a backup in bd25 the estimated time is 50 hours with 2 passes, how much will the estimated time be if I make a backup in bd50 of the same film with the same settings? 25 hours?
I'd guess, about the same time ... the whole video needs to be reencoded, just with a higher bitrate.

Why don't you just try it?
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2021, 22:45   #30530  |  Link
kpic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 70
So I'm not sure if this is a 'bug', a known limitation or I have an internal setting wrong? Using latest BDRB 0.61.21 and I am sending through a UHD title that has an additional audio track muxed in (I am doing testing to add in audio\subtitle tracks to existing UHD title & have thread over in the "Blu-ray Authoring' section)

Anyway this title has 2 audio tracks; DTS 4.0, DTS 2.0 I have muxed in an additional track & clipinfo that is DTS-HD 7.1 (BDRB reads it ok upon import) - so it reads it all correctly when importing. I set everything as export to BD-50 & Full Backup and the version that has been output now has converted my DTS-HD 7.1 track to a DTS 5.1 track (So it now shows DTS 4.0, 2.0 & 5.1 where before BDRB it showed DTS 4.0, 2.0 & DTS-HD MA 7.1)

Is this a limitation of BDRB, or did it do something on purpose to convert the DTS-HD 7.1 track to DTS 5.1?
kpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2021, 14:25   #30531  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpic View Post
So I'm not sure if this is a 'bug', a known limitation or I have an internal setting wrong? Using latest BDRB 0.61.21 and I am sending through a UHD title that has an additional audio track muxed in (I am doing testing to add in audio\subtitle tracks to existing UHD title & have thread over in the "Blu-ray Authoring' section)

Anyway this title has 2 audio tracks; DTS 4.0, DTS 2.0 I have muxed in an additional track & clipinfo that is DTS-HD 7.1 (BDRB reads it ok upon import) - so it reads it all correctly when importing. I set everything as export to BD-50 & Full Backup and the version that has been output now has converted my DTS-HD 7.1 track to a DTS 5.1 track (So it now shows DTS 4.0, 2.0 & 5.1 where before BDRB it showed DTS 4.0, 2.0 & DTS-HD MA 7.1)

Is this a limitation of BDRB, or did it do something on purpose to convert the DTS-HD 7.1 track to DTS 5.1?
BD-RB can change a 7.1 track to a 5.1 track is if it is being reencoded (standard AC3 doesn't support 7.1). Since your description says it is still DTS in the output -- I don't see how that could be the case. It might also happen if the core audio is being kept and the core is 5.1.

If I understand correctly, you have created a file (MKV, MP4, M2TS?) in which you have muxed in a DTS 7.1 track and then imported it into BD-RB. You then reencoded from the newly created pseudo-disc structure.

1. Do you have "Do not convert DTS to AC3" checked in the SETUP dialog? That will prevent it from being reencoded to AC3.

2. You should also make sure you click "Keep HD Audio for BD25/Alternate intact" -- and set your output size is set to a minimum of BD-25 (as it appears you have). That's because HD audio is generally too big for smaller output sizes. Typically 7.1 sources are HD (as yours is). By default it is unchecked and BD-RB keeps the core audio.

I'm guessing the option in #2 isn't checked and that is the source of your issue.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 7th April 2021 at 14:40.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2021, 19:51   #30532  |  Link
kpic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 70
Jdobbs; thanks for the reply, I did in fact have the 'Keep HD Audio' unchecked in the setup, so it was converting the DTS-HD tracks to DTS just like you thought.

Basically in that other thread another user and I are trying to come up with a streamlined or system\guide to insert audio & subtitle tracks into a UHD title keeping everything else (structure) intact.

Simplified; if TSmuxerGUI is used to create the M2TS you would like (with added sub track\audio etc.) along with a clipinf file then replace the M2TS in the current UHD title with your revised one (of course it doesn't work correctly at this point).

At that point if you take that revised UHD title and send it through your lovely program it will 'fix' the title into a playable UHD title, I then use BDedit for further needed tweaking.

Now for me I have a finished & working 45gb or so UHD title capable of burning to BD-DL and that is fine for me however others may want to keep the UHD size intact and use an ISO for playback - my test UHD title is 57gb in size - so for them; is BDRB able to run through the entire process to 'rebuild & fix' the title but not actually compress?
kpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2021, 22:22   #30533  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpic View Post
Jdobbs; thanks for the reply, I did in fact have the 'Keep HD Audio' unchecked in the setup, so it was converting the DTS-HD tracks to DTS just like you thought.

Basically in that other thread another user and I are trying to come up with a streamlined or system\guide to insert audio & subtitle tracks into a UHD title keeping everything else (structure) intact.

Simplified; if TSmuxerGUI is used to create the M2TS you would like (with added sub track\audio etc.) along with a clipinf file then replace the M2TS in the current UHD title with your revised one (of course it doesn't work correctly at this point).

At that point if you take that revised UHD title and send it through your lovely program it will 'fix' the title into a playable UHD title, I then use BDedit for further needed tweaking.

Now for me I have a finished & working 45gb or so UHD title capable of burning to BD-DL and that is fine for me however others may want to keep the UHD size intact and use an ISO for playback - my test UHD title is 57gb in size - so for them; is BDRB able to run through the entire process to 'rebuild & fix' the title but not actually compress?
Yes. You can either set FORCE_NOENCODE=1 in the INI file, or create a custom output size and make it larger than the input. If there is no need to recompress, the BD-RB will keep it intact.

Just a warning, though. The maximum encode bitrate for a BD-66 or BD-100 is higher than a BD-50. I haven't personally had an issue with it... but it's possible there could be playback issues if the bitrate goes higher than acceptable for BD-50, assuming the source came from a BD-66 or BD-100.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 8th April 2021 at 14:29.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 17:21   #30534  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
I'd guess, about the same time ... the whole video needs to be reencoded, just with a higher bitrate.

Why don't you just try it?
I was hoping that with less compression it would take less time
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 17:38   #30535  |  Link
sieve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
encoded fps is very low on playback

I've redone this bd a couple of times and am having the same problem. The video playback of the burned bd has a notably slow fps, as if I'm watching a slow motion playback.

I am running v61.21. I have even tried uninstalling and reinstalling bdrb and all associated programs hoping that would help. It didn't.

Any help is appreciated. Data is below. Thanks!

Here is the log from the last encode:

----------------------
[04/07/21] BD Rebuilder v0.61.21
[22:08:59] Source: ROCKY_HORROR_WW_00800
- Input BD size: 26.60 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:38:40.914]
- Target BD size: 21.97 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Highest (Very Slow), Two Pass
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:08:59] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [22:08:59] Processing: VID_00260 (1 of 3)
- [22:08:59] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00260]
- [22:09:30] Reencoding video [VID_00260]
- [22:09:30] Keeping original video (no reencode)
- [22:09:30] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [22:09:30] Processing: VID_00261 (2 of 3)
- [22:09:30] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00261]
- [22:10:03] Reencoding video [VID_00261]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 106,957 frames
- Bitrate: 23,325 Kbs
- [22:10:03] Reencoding: VID_00261, Pass 1 of 2
- [23:19:14] Reencoding: VID_00261, Pass 2 of 2
- [03:23:05] Video Encode complete
- [03:23:05] Processing: VID_00263 (3 of 3)
- [03:23:05] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00263]
- [03:23:11] Reencoding video [VID_00263]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 5,935 frames
- Bitrate: 23,016 Kbs
- [03:23:11] Reencoding: VID_00263, Pass 1 of 2
- [03:25:29] Reencoding: VID_00263, Pass 2 of 2
- [03:40:50] Video Encode complete
[03:40:50]PHASE ONE complete
[03:40:50]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [03:40:50] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[03:41:40] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[03:41:40] Writing BD structure to ISO file
- ImgBurn completed successfully
- ROCKY_HORROR_WW folder removed.
- WORKFILES folder removed.
[03:42:52] JOB: ROCKY_HORROR_WW finished.


and here is the INF file:

[Status]
LABEL=ROCKY_HORROR_WW
VERSION=v0.61.21
SOURCE_SIZE=28559505408
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=28559505408
TARGET_SIZE=23592960000
REDUCTION=.826098339692928
RESIZE_1080=0
RESIZE_1440=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=-1
SUBS_TO_KEEP=
BACKUP_MODE=1
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=0
USE_LAVF=0
INSTANCES=1
DGDECNV=0
DGDECIM=0
FRIMSOURCE=0
FFMS2=0
SSIF_MODE=0
UHD_V3_MODE=0
QUICK=0
ENCODE_STEP=0
COMPLETED=3
REBUILD_COMPLETE=1
[00260]
AUDIO=1000000
PGS=00000000000000000000
APULLDOWN=0
S1440=0
VIDEO2=0
V2MBRATE=0
M2TS_TARGET=4858045732
USE_ORIGINAL=1
NSIZE=0
FLINK=-1
MLINK=0
[00261]
APULLDOWN=0
S1440=0
VIDEO2=0
V2MBRATE=0
M2TS_TARGET=17762342798
RATE=23325
SPLITS=1
AUDIO=1000000
NSIZE=0
FLINK=-1
MLINK=0
[00263]
APULLDOWN=0
S1440=0
VIDEO2=0
V2MBRATE=0
M2TS_TARGET=972571470
RATE=23016
SPLITS=1
AUDIO=1000000
NSIZE=0
FLINK=0
MLINK=0
sieve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 16:08   #30536  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieve View Post
I've redone this bd a couple of times and am having the same problem. The video playback of the burned bd has a notably slow fps, as if I'm watching a slow motion playback.

I am running v61.21. I have even tried uninstalling and reinstalling bdrb and all associated programs hoping that would help. It didn't.

Any help is appreciated. Data is below. Thanks!
The only thing I see that is strange is that you are doing a MOVIE-ONLY encode -- but one of the parts is not encoding while the other two are. I don't see an obvious connection to your problem -- but when they are all part of the same movie either all streams or none should be encoded, not a mixture. I'll have to follow the code and see how that could have happened.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 9th April 2021 at 16:11.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 21:01   #30537  |  Link
sieve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Interesting. I hadn't noticed that detail.

I typically do movie-only and with no problems. And I've never had an issue like this one (slow FPS) before. (I have occasionally run into out-of-sync audio, but I think that is a result of the LAV getting corrupted or replaced by another program install. Uninstalling everything and reinstalling with fresh new files fixes that.)

I just looked at the 3 included source files. 260 is the first 20 min or so of the movie. 261 is the middle 75 minutes. 263 is the last 4.

If I play each of these 3 files individually on VLC media player, the video and audio look fine, so the ripped source files are good.

For some reason, the encode/compress function seems to be dramatically slowing the FPS in the final .iso
sieve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 22:36   #30538  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieve View Post
Interesting. I hadn't noticed that detail.

I typically do movie-only and with no problems. And I've never had an issue like this one (slow FPS) before. (I have occasionally run into out-of-sync audio, but I think that is a result of the LAV getting corrupted or replaced by another program install. Uninstalling everything and reinstalling with fresh new files fixes that.)

I just looked at the 3 included source files. 260 is the first 20 min or so of the movie. 261 is the middle 75 minutes. 263 is the last 4.

If I play each of these 3 files individually on VLC media player, the video and audio look fine, so the ripped source files are good.

For some reason, the encode/compress function seems to be dramatically slowing the FPS in the final .iso
Immediately after the encode, look at the command line in LASTCMD.TXT. See if a strange frame rate is somehow being used (--fps xx.xx in the command line).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 23:44   #30539  |  Link
sieve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
I don't have that file. Maybe because I have settings set to "remove workfiles after rebuild"?
eta it's not in my trash folder either.
sieve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2021, 08:30   #30540  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieve View Post
I don't have that file. Maybe because I have settings set to "remove workfiles after rebuild"?
eta it's not in my trash folder either.
It's located in the BDRB installation folder
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.