Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th April 2021, 00:14   #1  |  Link
latigular
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 2
Encoding 24bit audio (StaxRip)

Hello,
i have a problem encoding 24bit audio in StaxRip. If i choose ffmpeg or eac3to encoder the output file (eac3, dts) is always in 16bit. Is there a way to keep the 24bit depth?
latigular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 02:16   #2  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 984
Lossy compressed audio has no bitdepth anymore.
One can read 32bit float reported but that gives no safe way to conclude any source resolution.
The reported values can depend on the decoders, their implementations, and possibly embedded metadata.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 02:30   #3  |  Link
latigular
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 2
Hello,
thank you for the reply but i have compressed lossy audio in DTS which has 24 bit, so there should be some easy way to keep it.

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 1 h 30 min
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 768 kb/s
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel layout : C L R Ls Rs LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 93.750 FPS (512 SPF)
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 496 MiB (5%)
Language : Chinese
Default : Yes
Forced : No
latigular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 09:08   #4  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,735
There is no real loss in going down to 16b.

In fact, having 24b and encoding "lossy" was already a bad decision to start with.


Keeping proportions it is like having an MP3 off a CD that has been encoded in 24b (I am not sure MP3 allowes 24b, but it's a fictional argument anyway) which then "has to be kept" 24b while re-encoding lossy again into another format.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 20:55   #5  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,459
While lossy audio has no bit-depth, DTS comes in a lossless flavour. In order for it to be truly lossless, there must be a reference bitdepth for decoding, and it appears they chose 24. Before DTS could be lossless, there was DTS 96/24. I assume the same 24 bit principle applies to DolbyTrueHD.

latigular,
Most programs would decode to 16 bit for re-encoding losslessly (flac or wave file etc) because the file sizes can get silly at 24 bit.
Can you clarify this?

Quote:
If i choose ffmpeg or eac3to encoder the output file (eac3, dts) is always in 16bit. Is there a way to keep the 24bit depth?
I assume "(eac3, dts)" above refers to the source audio, but what's the output format?
If the output is lossless you'll have huge files at 24 bit. As a quick comparison I encoded 1 hour and 36 min of 5.1ch audio as flac. Once at 16 bit and again at 24 bit. The 16 bit version was 658 MB. The 24 bit version was 1.7 GB. If the output format is lossy such as AAC.... it has no bitdepth.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 08:22   #6  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by latigular View Post
Hello,
thank you for the reply but i have compressed lossy audio in DTS which has 24 bit, so there should be some easy way to keep it.
As Emulgator has already explained, lossy audio does not have bit depth, so there is nothing to keep. There is nothing wrong with the output from StaxRip.

I wish that the MediaInfo developers would remove (or suppress by default) that stupid field from the program's output for lossy DTS. It causes nothing but trouble.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 13:25   #7  |  Link
j7n
Registered User
 
j7n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 83
A reliable way to test for an encoding's effective dynamic range is to feed it a very quiet signal, decode with a known good player, then boost both up to audible levels and compare. Lossy encoding (mp3, ac3, dts) will only exceed 16 bits during very quiet sections that are usually inaudible, and usually never in VBR mode, because the bitrate will be automatically decreased as the levels drop below the threshold of hearing. Some encoders will also use less precision to be fast.
j7n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2021, 16:37   #8  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,706
Quote:
I wish that the MediaInfo developers would remove (or suppress by default) that stupid field from the program's output for lossy DTS. It causes nothing but trouble.
It will be hidden in the next MediaInfo.NET release.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2021, 18:02   #9  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
It will be hidden in the next MediaInfo.NET release.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.