Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th March 2018, 19:22   #49521  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,251
so what? is it a container flag or a stream flag?
madVR doesn't get the needed information so most likely not a stream flag.


@chuchicoupe
if you are using an nvidia card check the power settings in the NV control panel make sure it is >not< optimal.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 19:25   #49522  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
so what? is it a container flag or a stream flag?
madVR doesn't get the needed information so most likely not a stream flag.
Makes no difference though, in absence of flags it guesses BT.709 anyway.

The most likely reason for such color differences are bad configuration on the GPU control panel though, and not in madVR.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 19:48   #49523  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,251
yes it falls back to bt 709 for this resolution but is this file really bt 709 and not smpte C?

in term of faces colors i don't think bt 709 is correct. with a proper flag there would be nothing to argue about (which would be BT 709 nearly for sure...).

doesn't fix the issue anyway d3d9 or d3d11 are the same for me so this is something todo with the screen settings or GPU driver.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 20:42   #49524  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Same here, still no difference with the clip itself, no matter what...

@mclingo: too lazy to back-check if this had been brought up, but does that happen when the GPU is connected to some other display?
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 20:44   #49525  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by cremor View Post
Yes, I sometimes have the same problem, but it only happens if you leave the PC long enough so that Windows turns off the display. So one workaround would be to increase that time or disable the function completely.
Still? Ugh I would have hoped this wretch of an OS would have improved in 2,5 somewhat. (But it looks like it'll remain a dump of an OS like Visa was)

Thanks for the info anyway. (I might take a peek at RS4 anyway, well isolated form everything else)

Last edited by mzso; 9th March 2018 at 20:55.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 21:34   #49526  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
well thats interesting, it does the same thing with my 40" samsung MU7000 plugged so that rules out my LG OLED TV, could be my receiver though I guess, I'll bypass that next.


reciever also bypassed same result so it has to be my settings of a problem with the GPU, everyone else is testing this with NVIDIA cards?

Anyone got a similar setup to mine?

AMD RX 550 18.2.2
LG OLED 2015 4K
Win 10 creators up to date

Last edited by mclingo; 9th March 2018 at 21:39.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 22:07   #49527  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
issue is not apparent with MADVR 09024, something must have changed after that to change the way the calibration off setting interacts with my TV, i'll fully configure this version and test again as I've tested it with no settings changes apart from adding DIRECT3D11 tick as it wasnt ticked as default in this old version, could be something i'm doing wrong when configuring MADVR, its more likely something changed in MADVR that doesnt play nice with my TV.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 22:09   #49528  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Ha...thought it might be the amd thing so I checked on an RX580, Win 10 1709, built in screen - picture is still the same, no matter what D3D or fullscreen mode is used.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 22:15   #49529  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
Well i've found one issue, or at least the setting that might be causing it, someone might be able to explain whats going on now. Its in TV properties, if I choose 8 bit its ok, if I choose 10bit (or higher) I get those nasty reds, positive my TV is 10 bit, could it be 8 bit afterall or is something else going on here?

here is my TV model and specs - supposed to be 10 bit

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/lg/ef9500


edit - reinstalled latest version, same behaviour, picture back to normal with 8 bit enabled instead of 10 bit in display properties.

This setting, what does it actually do?


EDIT 2 - with this settinng set to 8 bit I lose HDR passthrough mode - no more HDR .


here is my config screen -

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0gdi4kmb0n...57%5D.jpg?dl=0


(( screeshot doesnt capture the red tones for some reason, everything is unticked)

Last edited by mclingo; 9th March 2018 at 22:46.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 22:32   #49530  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
@mclingo: perhaps the TV goes into forced native gamut mode if you enable 10 bit manually (it is sometimes erroneously associated with wider gamut)...that would mean MadVR communicates with the TV...what happens if you changed bitdepth in Radeon settings?

Another clue: I think it is said that 10 bit works only in D3D11, that might explain the difference between D3D9 and D3D11? in D3D9 it is always 8 bit and that's why it looks OK

Last edited by mytbyte; 9th March 2018 at 22:39.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 23:08   #49531  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
ok, getting some odd behaviour here, here is what i've found.

AMD control panel - MADVR - result
8 bit 442 8 bit ok
8 bit 442 10 bit ok
10 bit 442 10 bit blown reds
10 bit 442 8 bit ok
8 bit 444 RGB 8 bit ok
8 bit 444 RGB 10 bit blown reds
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 23:14   #49532  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
@mclingo: perhaps the TV goes into forced native gamut mode if you enable 10 bit manually (it is sometimes erroneously associated with wider gamut)...that would mean MadVR communicates with the TV...what happens if you changed bitdepth in Radeon settings?

Another clue: I think it is said that 10 bit works only in D3D11, that might explain the difference between D3D9 and D3D11? in D3D9 it is always 8 bit and that's why it looks OK
this and my results would suggest to me that MADVR is processing 8 bit movies incorrectly in that the only way to solve this is to force MADVR into 8 bit when it plays 8 bit movies, how can I be the only one seeing this though, do you have 10 bit enabled in MADVR, on your AMD card and have DIRECT3D enabled?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 23:31   #49533  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
this and my results would suggest to me that MADVR is processing 8 bit movies incorrectly in that the only way to solve this is to force MADVR into 8 bit when it plays 8 bit movies
Considering it works for everyone else, it seems more likely that either your graphics card/driver or your TV behave badly when processing 10-bit.
The processing on madVRs side for 8 or 10-bit output is quite the same, only the number of bits in the final output step is different.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 9th March 2018 at 23:51.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2018, 23:58   #49534  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
its not my TV as i've tried it with my MU7000 same thing happens. results dont make sense to me but they are correct, I went through them twice.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 00:19   #49535  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Looks like it may also be a MadVR -> AMD driver issue...I could connect it to an oldish plasma tomorrow or a monitor with HDMI even, since I can't get to my regular TVs over this weekend, and see if i can replicate over HDMI...

Last edited by mytbyte; 10th March 2018 at 00:29.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 00:44   #49536  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
Looks like it may also be a MadVR -> AMD driver issue...I could connect it to an oldish plasma tomorrow or a monitor with HDMI even, since I can't get to my regular TVs over this weekend, and see if i can replicate over HDMI...
sorry, maybe i'm misunderstanding the implication of what you just said , are you saying you have the same problem now on your Rig or that you havent actually tested it yet using a 4K AMD card?

Your assistance is much appreciated but dont put yourself too much.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 00:51   #49537  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
another oddity. If I put my gfx card in 8 bit 442 and MADVR in 10 bit it looks ok and HDR works, guess this is the easiest workaround for now, just not sure why this doesnt work if I put my GFX in full RGB 444 and MADVR to 10 bit, I get blown out reds, this makes no sense at all.

I can leave with my GFX set to 8 bit for now until I can get some help getting to the bottom of this.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 00:57   #49538  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
another oddity. If I put my gfx card in 8 bit 442 and MADVR in 10 bit it looks ok and HDR works
When using 8-bit output from the gfx card always set madVR to 8-bit. You do not want madVR dithering to 10-bit and then the GPU dithering that to 8-bit, better to simply dither to 8-bit once.

Why not use the gfx card set to RGB 8-bit? At least on Nvidia, HDR still works when using 8-bit RGB output and the quality would be better than having madVR set to 10-bit.

It sounds like your TV is bad at processing 10-bit input.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:16   #49539  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
unfortunately I cant set MADVR to 8 bit, HDR stops working in that it no longer triggers HDR mode on my TV.

The other option is to configure calibration but calibrating it for BT709 still looks a bit too red and BT2020 a bit too yellow, the correct setting seems to be somewhere in middle, rock and hard place...

Last edited by mclingo; 10th March 2018 at 01:20.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2018, 01:17   #49540  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,327
AMD's drivers are weird.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.