Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st March 2018, 21:14   #501  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,265
When h265 HDR clip is properly encoded then HDR metadata should be present at every GOP. Some old clips made with x265 may not follow this rule. Current (few months old) x265 has this fixed and adds HDR metadata every GOP by default.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2018, 21:46   #502  |  Link
Revan654
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Thanks. Following Revan654 question I was thinking what can be done with metadata capture. Because it can be a sequence of unrelated clips it must be possible to preserve variable metadata (per scene) despite its static nature. The fact that it is included per GOP helps this idea.

After allot of research, some things I've come up with. This should help. Atlease a starting point.

Shaders looks to be where color space is refined at. Which needs to add BT.2020 to it.


Review source Code(The Original Virtual).

I cam across this: AVIStreamHeader_fixedhdr in the AVIReadHandler.cpp

I have no idea what this means Since I don't understand C Programming.


More noting HDR:

Quote:
if (hdr.biWidth != mWidth || hdr.biHeight != mHeight)
return false;

const VDAVIBitmapInfoHeader& hdr = *(const VDAVIBitmapInfoHeader *)format;

if (hdr.biWidth != mWidth || hdr.biHeight != mHeight)
return false;

int pxformat = VDBitmapFormatToPixmapFormat(hdr);

return QueryTargetFormat(pxformat);

bool VDVideoDecompressorDIB::SetTargetFormat(const void *format) {
const VDAVIBitmapInfoHeader& hdr = *(const VDAVIBitmapInfoHeader *)format;

if (hdr.biWidth != mWidth || hdr.biHeight != mHeight)
return false;

int variant;
int pxformat = VDBitmapFormatToPixmapFormat(hdr, variant);
if (!pxformat)
return false;
There allot more with HDR in the file, It's all from VideoSource.cpp file.


Also BlackMagic SDK seems to have HDR and Color Space. Maybe that would help speed things up with HDR aspect? Magewell SDK is being released in one to two weeks time.


Some Free Source code Color/ Shaders which has BT.2020 in them already.

Link: https://github.com/Microsoft/DirectX...eUtility.hlsli

VDub Filter for BT.2020: https://github.com/jpsdr/Filtres_JPS...orSpaceConvert

Here are allot of Links talking about the MetaData and HDR:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

Link 2 (Color Space) : https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

Link 3(Setting HDR): https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

Link 3 (Defining HDR) : https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

Link 4(HDR Structure): https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx

Link 5 Wide Range: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx
Revan654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2018, 10:22   #503  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 469
New update (41768): most effort went to fixing bitdepth scaling errors/inconsistencies.
Using VapourSynth resize as reference, I now confirm bit-to-bit identical results at every sample that I checked.
Previously there were inaccuracies like gray CbCr->0x8080 and inexact scaling of limited range values.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2018, 11:19   #504  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 512
I still try to open a file with the context menu and start VDub 1.10.4, when could this be fixed?
__________________
By law and justice!

Flea Market
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2018, 21:52   #505  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJCZP View Post
I still try to open a file with the context menu and start VDub 1.10.4, when could this be fixed?
All I can do now is keep this in requests list, so it doesn't get lost. https://sourceforge.net/p/vdfiltermod/tickets/125/

I implement things that I select. How else would you expect? Right now, solving context menus is not on top of my wish list. I'm sorry but it can last long.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 00:16   #506  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
New update (41768): most effort went to fixing bitdepth scaling errors/inconsistencies.
Using VapourSynth resize as reference, I now confirm bit-to-bit identical results at every sample that I checked.
Previously there were inaccuracies like gray CbCr->0x8080 and inexact scaling of limited range values.
Thanks! Great to see the math getting polished.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 12:11   #507  |  Link
fAy01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 54
Thanks for fixing the conversion errors. Cheers!
fAy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018, 01:53   #508  |  Link
isidroco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJCZP View Post
I still try to open a file with the context menu and start VDub 1.10.4, when could this be fixed?
You may try renaming Vdub v1.10.4 (ie: VDUB4.EXE) so context menu won't find it.
isidroco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 22:07   #509  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 962
How about a pie in the sky feature request... An option to use MadVR in a window as the output display for VD2 instead of the standard Windows display API?
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 22:14   #510  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,309
A prerequirement, using DirectX (9 or 11) for output panes, seems to be supported already; now "just" select a renderer?!
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2018, 10:43   #511  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
How about a pie in the sky feature request... An option to use MadVR in a window as the output display for VD2 instead of the standard Windows display API?
Sounds great, and a lot of work.
I expect the fact that I'm already using DX9 has zero help with it
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.