Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th February 2009, 23:42   #41  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Now that's interesting--this is the first VBV bug I have seen in a long time that occurs even with threads and B-frames off. I will look into debugging this tonight or tomorrow.

If you are using two-pass, you may be able to get away with commenting out line 933 in encoder/ratecontrol.c:

Code:
if( h->mb.i_mb_x != h->sps->i_mb_width - 1 || !rc->b_vbv)
This completely disables all row-based ratecontrol and relies solely on 2pass VBV for VBV accuracy. It is not guaranteed to avoid underflow, but it should eliminate your problem for now.

How can I do this? Get the original code and then build x264?
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:43   #42  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
How can I do this? Get the original code and then build x264?
Sure, or ask someone to build such a modified version for you.

A proper description of this modification would be "disable row-based VBV handling".
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:43   #43  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
How can I do this? Get the original code and then build x264?
Exactly.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:43   #44  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Use the x264 CLI encoder with Avisynth input and you can use whatever deinterlace filter you prefer
The problem is that I need bach encode. I have 700 movies to encode
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:45   #45  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
The problem is that I need bach encode. I have 700 movies to encode
Ever heard of batch/script files?

Also you can use a GUI like MeGUI, which uses Avisynth input too, offers job control (batch processing) and offers all options you'll need.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:47   #46  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Ever heard of batch/script files?

Also you can use a GUI like MeGUI, which uses Avisynth input too, offers job control (batch processing) and offers all options you'll need.
Since this solution still use x264 I will get same problem? Correct?
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:50   #47  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
Since this solution still use x264 I will get same problem? Correct?
Yes, as said before: All tools that use the x264 encoder will give identical output for identical input (and identical encoder settings).

However Avisynth allows you to use the pre-processing filters of your choice, including your preferred deinterlacer
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:51   #48  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Sure, or ask someone to build such a modified version for you.

A proper description of this modification would be "disable row-based VBV handling".
I will try to build myself.

With this patch the vbv-maxrate / bufzie will still work?
I will be able to set the x264 to use VBV at 250Kbps with maximum 500Kbps?

Thanks
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:52   #49  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
I will try to build myself.

With this patch the vbv-maxrate / bufzie will still work?
Yes, but it will only be remotely reliable in 2-pass mode.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 23:53   #50  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 957
If you don't have a build environment already setup, here is a build with Dark Shikari's change: http://users.telenet.be/darnley/x264...thiagoprado.7z
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:14   #51  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
The VBV bufsize is ridiculously low. It has no relation to bitrate. It's determined by the HW of your player. Find out what your player has and set it appropriately.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:18   #52  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
The VBV bufsize is ridiculously low. It has no relation to bitrate. It's determined by the HW of your player. Find out what your player has and set it appropriately.
A 1 second VBV is unreasonable?
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:23   #53  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Worked!!! Worked!!!

Thanks!!!!
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:25   #54  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
I thought bufsize is the time in seconds maxrate can be used.

Ex: maxrate 500 / bufzise 500 - One second of 500Kbps peak
maxrate 500 / bufsize 1000 - Two seconds of 500Kbps peak

I'm using JW Player with Flash Media Streaming 3.5

Last edited by thiagoprado; 19th February 2009 at 00:28.
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:36   #55  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks Dark Shikari for the help and for the build.

It's incredilble how fast a problem was fixed.

I bought the Flash Media Server ($990) and I still don't get an awnser for a question posted one month ago.
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:44   #56  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
I thought bufsize is the time in seconds maxrate can be used.

Ex: maxrate 500 / bufzise 500 - One second of 500Kbps peak
maxrate 500 / bufsize 1000 - Two seconds of 500Kbps peak

I'm using JW Player with Flash Media Streaming 3.5
Are you actually streaming the H.264, or just using progressive download?

If you're using progressive download, you don't need VBV.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:47   #57  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Are you actually streaming the H.264, or just using progressive download?

If you're using progressive download, you don't need VBV.
Streaming
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:49   #58  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
A 1 second VBV is unreasonable?
I haven't looked at the particulars of his stream. I was just saying that it is small compared to what typical HW provides.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:51   #59  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiagoprado View Post
Streaming
If you're encoding beforehand and not in real-time, why do you need to stream instead of progressive download?

IMO progressive download avoids most of these annoyances and is much easier for both the user and server.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:55   #60  |  Link
thiagoprado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Security, time seek and bandwidth control.

It's a pay-per-view site.
thiagoprado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, mediacoder, vbv-maxrate, x264


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.