Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th March 2015, 00:55   #2021  |  Link
LazyNcoder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Guys let me get this straight. 10bit videos bring better color range(like, they remove banding) but they make the details/quality lower at the same bitrate as 8bit vids. Am I right?
I mean, encoder has to store 10bit pictures in same size/bitrate as 8bit pictures.
I did two encodes, one was x265 8bit version and the other was 10bit. it looks like the 10bit version could use a little higher CRF/bitrate to look the same as 8bit version.

Also, Noob question, what is the difference between main 10 profile and 10bit encoder? isn't it better just to use main 10 profile instead of 10bit encoder?

Last edited by LazyNcoder; 30th March 2015 at 01:30.
LazyNcoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 01:22   #2022  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
Could you please give me command line for that so I would just edited source?
You can try

x265-Xbit-full -o test.mkv source.mkv --YOUR --OTHER --PARAM --HERE

- or, use -

-o test.mp4

to produce MP4 files.

This way it'll use Haali MKV Muxer / L-SMASH MP4 Muxer to mux your hevc data on the fly when writing files.

You can also use --opts 1 to skip writing all the param string into hevc header and still keep the SEI segment, While the --no-info option will completely remove the SEI.

I suspect that there's still a bug inside mkvmerge.
__________________
Projects
x265 - Yuuki-Asuna-mod Download / GitHub
TS - ADTS AAC Splitter | LATM AAC Splitter | BS4K-ASS
Neo AviSynth+ filters - F3KDB | FFT3D | DFTTest | MiniDeen | Temporal Median
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 06:13   #2023  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajvar View Post
Emm, it worked! It. Really. Worked!

Now I go sleep, too tired
Mkvmerge add extra one SEI if mux raw HEVC stream, not add extra one if remux from MP4. x265 1.5+444 gives longer SEI (because --rdoq-level and deblock). If longer SEI is doubled, it crash with nVidia decoder.

My software LAV decoder stop working with your example after the SEI was tripled -- in your original MKV it was doubled, I demux video track and mux again to MKV (2 + 1 = 3).

Workaround to this mkvmerge bug: first mux to MP4 and then to MKV not works with large files -- I try with 6 GB HEVC stream and mkvmerge crashes when remuxing from MP4.

If you take v1.hevc file with nonempty SEI and execute:
Code:
mkvmerge -o v2.mkv v1.hevc
mkvextract tracks v2.mkv 0:v2.hevc
mkvmerge -o v3.mkv v2.hevc
mkvextract tracks v3.mkv 0:v3.hevc
mkvmerge -o v4.mkv v3.hevc
mkvextract tracks v4.mkv 0:v4.hevc
mkvmerge -o v5.mkv v4.hevc
mkvextract tracks v5.mkv 0:v5.hevc
mkvmerge -o v6.mkv v5.hevc
mkvextract tracks v6.mkv 0:v6.hevc
...
The number of SEI in the files should be equal the number in filename.

Last edited by Ma; 30th March 2015 at 07:20.
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 10:24   #2024  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyNcoder View Post
Guys let me get this straight. 10bit videos bring better color range(like, they remove banding) but they make the details/quality lower at the same bitrate as 8bit vids. Am I right?
I mean, encoder has to store 10bit pictures in same size/bitrate as 8bit pictures.
I did two encodes, one was x265 8bit version and the other was 10bit. it looks like the 10bit version could use a little higher CRF/bitrate to look the same as 8bit version.

Also, Noob question, what is the difference between main 10 profile and 10bit encoder? isn't it better just to use main 10 profile instead of 10bit encoder?
Higher precision leads to less quality loss. 10bit encoding uses 25% more bitrate to store the same amount of pixels, but the benefits are more than 25% so that if you decrease the bitrate to the same level (thus higher CRF), it should still maintain better quality.

At least this is true on x264. With x265 there are still rooms for improvement. Let's see.

To your second question. Main10 is a profile that also covers lower profile such as Main. It's the highest complexity a video can be. Thus with Main profile, the video can only be 8 bit, while with Main10, it can be 8 up to 10 bit. And with the coming Main 12 profile, it can be 8 up to 12 bit.
__________________
Projects
x265 - Yuuki-Asuna-mod Download / GitHub
TS - ADTS AAC Splitter | LATM AAC Splitter | BS4K-ASS
Neo AviSynth+ filters - F3KDB | FFT3D | DFTTest | MiniDeen | Temporal Median
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 10:25   #2025  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
I released a new beta version with some video encoder improvements and made a snapshot of both the help page and the code file that contains the defaults so later I can use a diff tool to catch all changes.
  • Added GUI for NVEncC (tool for NVIDIA H.264/H.265 GPU encoding)
  • Added GUI for QSVEncC (tool for Intel Quick Sync H.264 GPU encoding)
  • Added x265 option --pools
  • Added x265 option --frame-threads
  • Added x265 option --min-cu-size
  • Added x265 option --log-level frame and updated help for --log-level
  • Updated x265 to version 1.5+370
  • Updated QSVEncC (tool for Intel H.264 GPU encoding) to version 1.32

http://sourceforge.net/projects/stax...?source=navbar
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 10:51   #2026  |  Link
LazyNcoder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
Higher precision leads to less quality loss. 10bit encoding uses 25% more bitrate to store the same amount of pixels, but the benefits are more than 25% so that if you decrease the bitrate to the same level (thus higher CRF), it should still maintain better quality.

At least this is true on x264. With x265 there are still rooms for improvement. Let's see.

To your second question. Main10 is a profile that also covers lower profile such as Main. It's the highest complexity a video can be. Thus with Main profile, the video can only be 8 bit, while with Main10, it can be 8 up to 10 bit. And with the coming Main 12 profile, it can be 8 up to 12 bit.
Thanks a lot.

so, using main 10 profile is better than forcing the video to be 10bit(for lower crf/bitrate videos). Am I right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
I released a new beta version with some video encoder improvements and made a snapshot of both the help page and the code file that contains the defaults so later I can use a diff tool to catch all changes.
  • Added GUI for NVEncC (tool for NVIDIA H.264/H.265 GPU encoding)
  • Added GUI for QSVEncC (tool for Intel Quick Sync H.264 GPU encoding)
  • Added x265 option --pools
  • Added x265 option --frame-threads
  • Added x265 option --min-cu-size
  • Added x265 option --log-level frame and updated help for --log-level
  • Updated x265 to version 1.5+370
  • Updated QSVEncC (tool for Intel H.264 GPU encoding) to version 1.32

http://sourceforge.net/projects/stax...?source=navbar
Correct me if I'm wrong. since v1.5 of x265, --aq-mode 1 is default. but in StaxRip it's still --aq-mode 2. I mean you can only change it to --aq-mode 1 or 0 or default which is --aq-mode 1. so no --aq-mode 2 until you write it in "Custom Switches".
Selecting auto-variance removes the --aq-mode switch and let the encoder uses the default value which is not auto-variance.

Last edited by LazyNcoder; 30th March 2015 at 10:54.
LazyNcoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 10:57   #2027  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,752
Another weekly, stable merge build.

x265 1.5+448-22a312799bb0 (GCC 4.8.2 EXE + DLL)
x265 1.5+448-22a312799bb0 (GCC 4.9.2 UPX-EXE)

It seems that the x265 project will allow easier configuring for native architecture optimized builds. If I would enable this feature, my builds would probably still be generated for SSE2 or SSE3, using AMD K10 architecture (Phenom-II). I did not yet change my workflow.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 11:37   #2028  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
@LazyNcoder

Thanks, I've missed it, here is a fix: https://www.dropbox.com/s/n5q0jhukdk....03.30.7z?dl=0

You should download EXE + DLL, drop the content in the x265 folder and run the batch file located in the x265 folder, I hope LigH unifies it.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 11:38   #2029  |  Link
MeteorRain
結城有紀
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ; OR; Shanghai
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyNcoder View Post
Thanks a lot.

so, using main 10 profile is better than forcing the video to be 10bit(for lower crf/bitrate videos). Am I right?
No it's not. Put 8 bit video inside Main 10 means you are driving away any decoders that can't properly decode 10 bit video. You are more likely "forcing a profile" in this situation.

It's like you are looking for a driver to drive a personal sedan car but claim to require a commercial driving license, thus kicking away those who don't have one, and it's unnecessary.

That's why we use the lowest profile that fits the video to increase compatibilities.
__________________
Projects
x265 - Yuuki-Asuna-mod Download / GitHub
TS - ADTS AAC Splitter | LATM AAC Splitter | BS4K-ASS
Neo AviSynth+ filters - F3KDB | FFT3D | DFTTest | MiniDeen | Temporal Median
MeteorRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 11:58   #2030  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
..., I hope LigH unifies it.
What do you want me to do? Please explain more verbosely.

The GCC 4.8.2 package contains both static EXE and DLL versions because the default scripts by Multicoreware create both. If you intend to use only the EXE, omit the DLL; the DLLs are included only for developers who prefer to link them instead of calling the EXE.

The GCC 4.9.2 package was compiled by the media-autobuild_suite which does not provide a DLL, only the EXE. I would not be able to change this script accordingly. Most GUI developers use the EXE only, anyway. I wonder if I should also disable UPX, the uncompressed EXE are easier to pack by 7-zip (more similarities among them).
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 12:41   #2031  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
What do you want me to do? Please explain more verbosely.

The GCC 4.8.2 package contains both static EXE and DLL versions because the default scripts by Multicoreware create both. If you intend to use only the EXE, omit the DLL; the DLLs are included only for developers who prefer to link them instead of calling the EXE.

The GCC 4.9.2 package was compiled by the media-autobuild_suite which does not provide a DLL, only the EXE. I would not be able to change this script accordingly. Most GUI developers use the EXE only, anyway. I wonder if I should also disable UPX, the uncompressed EXE are easier to pack by 7-zip (more similarities among them).
use identical folder and file names, StaxRip expects different names so I included a batch file everybody can use, expanding the batch file to handle both packages might also work, at the moment it looks like this:

Code:
Rename Win32_8bpp "32-Bit 8-Bit"
Rename Win32_16bpp "32-Bit 10-Bit"
Rename Win64_8bpp "64-Bit 8-Bit"
Rename Win64_16bpp "64-Bit 10-Bit"
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 12:54   #2032  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ma View Post
Mkvmerge add extra one SEI if mux raw HEVC stream, not add extra one if remux from MP4. x265 1.5+444 gives longer SEI (because --rdoq-level and deblock). If longer SEI is doubled, it crash with nVidia decoder.[...]
I have written an answer in the the mkvtoolnix thread. We should take the discussion there, it's not a problem of x265.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2015, 22:58   #2033  |  Link
Ajvar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeteorRain View Post
You can try
x265-Xbit-full -o test.mkv source.mkv --YOUR --OTHER --PARAM --HERE
- or, use -o test.mp4 to produce MP4 files.
This way it'll use Haali MKV Muxer / L-SMASH MP4 Muxer to mux your hevc data on the fly when writing files.

You can also use --opts 1 to skip writing all the param string into hevc header and still keep the SEI segment, While the --no-info option will completely remove the SEI. I suspect that there's still a bug inside mkvmerge.
Thank's for sharing, will use it later. I believe this will be better than toolnix then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
I have written an answer in the the mkvtoolnix thread. We should take the discussion there, it's not a problem of x265.
You are like a moderator but better Taking all info, drying it out to get the most important and make right conclusions... and even continue digging, thank you! I see that mkvtoolnix' author is not going to change that, oh well... will mux in mp4 then or use direct mkv muxing as told above.

Last edited by Ajvar; 30th March 2015 at 23:01.
Ajvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 17:45   #2034  |  Link
Ma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 326
New speed test of 10-bit x265

I made new fprofiled builds of 10-bit x265 and compare them to my normal build with "-O2 -march=corei7-avx" options.

Win7 64-bit, i5 3450S, test video http://media.xiph.org/video/derf/y4m...arkrun_ter.y4m

Warriors:
x265-AVX -- compiled with options "-static -s -O2 -march=corei7-avx -mtune=corei7-avx"

x265-AVXp-O2 -- compiled with options:
"-static -s -O2 -march=corei7-avx -mtune=corei7-avx -fprofile-generate" for first pass
"-static -s -O2 -march=corei7-avx -mtune=corei7-avx -fprofile-use -fprofile-correction" for second pass

x265-AVXp-O3n -- compiled with options:
"-static -s -O3 -fno-tree-vectorize -march=corei7-avx -mtune=corei7-avx -fprofile-generate" for first pass
"-static -s -O3 -fno-tree-vectorize -march=corei7-avx -mtune=corei7-avx -fprofile-use -fprofile-correction" for second pass

Result:
x265-AVX | 413.45s | 1.22 fps | 100.0%
x265-AVXp-O2 | 408.58s | 1.23 fps | 98.8%
x265-AVXp-O3n | 409.15s | 1.23 fps | 99.0%

Accuracy: +/- 1.23s = +/- 0.3%

Full result, builds and test.bat -- http://msystem.waw.pl/x265/test3.7z
Ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 18:01   #2035  |  Link
x265_Project
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The x265 HEVC Upgrade

Until now, HEVC has been a technology for experts and hard-core video enthusiasts only. We have a fast, reliable HEVC decoder, called UHDcode, but we needed to find a way to make this available for everyone to try. x265 was available in source code form, but we didn't have an application available directly from the x265 team.

To make it easier for anyone to try x265 and experience the benefits of HEVC, today we're launching the x265 HEVC Upgrade. We've created a new Windows 64 bit application that lets you convert MP4 files to HEVC. There is a new Basic Mode which anyone non-technical person should be able to use. In Advanced Mode we expose the full feature set of x265.

The x265 Encoder application is bundled with our UHDcode HEVC decoder, packaged as a Windows DirectShow filter; a plug-in for Windows Media Player. This upgrades Windows Media Player (64 bit) to play back HEVC video files (raw bitstreams or MP4 files with HEVC).

The MSRP of the x265 HEVC Upgrade is $29.95, but for a limited time you can download for free at www.x265.com. We hope you find these applications valuable.

Last edited by x265_Project; 1st April 2015 at 00:23.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:17   #2036  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
How does the free download work?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:21   #2037  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
How does the free download work?
You need to set up an account, but don't need to give any financial information. Make sure to hit the "Apply Coupon" button (which has the code pre-filled) to make it $0.

Took me about 90 seconds from clicking the link to having it installed.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:37   #2038  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,901
I'm doing the procedure from the mobile phone and although it gave me a discount, it had already charged me with a quantity of 2, so I had to pay 29.95$

I cancelled the order and tried to put a new one with quantity 1, but there is no discount now.

I see no coupon.

Obviously I'm doing something wrong...
__________________
Win 10 x64 (19042.572) - Core i5-2400 - Radeon RX 470 (20.10.1)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:39   #2039  |  Link
x265_Project
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikosD View Post
I'm doing the procedure from the mobile phone and although it gave me a discount, it had already charged me with a quantity of 2, so I had to pay 29.95$

I cancelled the order and tried to put a new one with quantity 1, but there is no discount now.

I see no coupon.

Obviously I'm doing something wrong...
I'll PM you a link to the download and a key Nikos. For others... make sure your shopping cart has a quantity of 1 before you check out. The coupon code should be filled out already. The coupon code can only be used once by each person.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:40   #2040  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
You need to set up an account, but don't need to give any financial information. Make sure to hit the "Apply Coupon" button (which has the code pre-filled) to make it $0.

Took me about 90 seconds from clicking the link to having it installed.
Try this kick as Firefox plugin, next time you might make 85.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en/firefox/addon/smartfill

Last edited by stax76; 31st March 2015 at 19:44.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.