Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 23:34   #54901  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
no it doesn't this selection only depends on your screens settings.

if your screen only runs in bt 709 mode no point in making a bigger 3D LUT.
Well the screen is ever so slightly wider than 709.

My question is whether all the lut in the calibration tab are treated the same way, and indifferent to source colorspace ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:48   #54902  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
I don't understand why you think something may be going wrong.

Whatever is happening isn't some trick that's eating your CPU cycles for no reason. However many CPU cycles is taken, that's the correct amount necessary to do what you've asked the computer to do.

There is no process virus here stealing CPU cycles.

Different videos, Different SEGMENT of the SAME VIDEO, different CPUs, different Graphics cards will ALL TOGETHER, exhibit Different quantities of processing consumption, You're not comparing apples to apples.

Between fullscreen and windowed, full screen scales luma through ngu, windowed does not.

As for GPU clock Not going up higher, I don't think it needs to, because that is a very low bitrate file and you're not upscaling it by very much.

For the CPU load change, Check your cpu in HWmonitor, I'm not sure, but see if all cores are clocked to the same frequency, maybe on the windowed smaller screen mode, some cores are clocked lower, so it represents higher % of utilization during that moment.
I don't think its that simple, there is something not setup right or something else. When I run MPC-BE I see one instance running and under that whatever video that is playing in task manager.

His picture shows MPC-HC and two instances of madVR for some reason.

https://postimg.cc/Js7C5n6c

EDIT : Ah the only way I could see madVR in task manager was to have the settings open and be playing a video, unsure how you can have two instances of that, but try closing down the settings as that may be eating up CPU cycles with a video playing ?

I also don't see madVR running on the screen though, so just set fire to the computer.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 - v1809, I5 3570k, Asus GTX 1050 OC 2GB,
Drivers : 385.28, Yamaha RX-V377, Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

Last edited by madjock; Yesterday at 23:58.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:02   #54903  |  Link
janos666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
But this tech vastly surpasses OLED's capabilities, because it will EVENTUALLY allow for Backlight blink motion blur reduction. (ULMB)
I don't see how. The OLED still wins in contrast ratio (1000/1000000=0.001 is roughly what you got from a fresh new or tweaked 9G Poneer Kuro, which is excellent but the OLED black is still noticably darker) and the peak white is roughly the same as well (well, yeah, the LG OLED cheats with the W sub-pixel but they have a few years to improve, the top-emission panels might reach almost 1000 nit with RGB - especially if they drop the W pixel and increase the RGB sizes). The LG panels will run at 240Hz this year which means 25% duty cycle is now possible (although I am not sure how usable because ABL already starts kicking in around 80 nit on fullscreen 100% white screen if you compensate for the 50/50% BFI with the OLED Light control and HDR is always cut to 50% light output with BFI - but pretty much the same applies to the LCD in HDR and roughly the same in SDR). And then the viewing angle distortion of LCD remains (well, of course the OLED burn-in remains there as well).
janos666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:04   #54904  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Well the screen is ever so slightly wider than 709.

My question is whether all the lut in the calibration tab are treated the same way, and indifferent to source colorspace ?
the source colorspace is supposed to match madVR settings. it has to how else should this ever work. just giving madVR a BT 2020 3D LUt and load it as b 709 what'S the point of this?

i mean you are doing this calibration stuff for a while know. just try to think why an option is even there.

Quote:
OR does madvr shader output HDR->SDR in Rec709
i'm simply at a lost of word when i read this. why should it even support BT 2020 3D LUT way before HDR was a spec.

just take a step back and think.

if your screen has a meaningfully bigger colorsavce then BT 709 add a DCI P3 3D LUT. madVR will do the rest this option to load aDCI P3 3D LUT is not for fun in there and a DCI P3 3D LUT is defined by the source colorspace.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:12   #54905  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
I don't think its that simple, there is something not setup right or something else. When I run MPC-BE I see one instance running and under that whatever video that is playing in task manager.

His picture shows MPC-HC and two instances of madVR for some reason.

https://postimg.cc/Js7C5n6c

EDIT : Ah the only way I could see madVR in task manager was to have the settings open and be playing a video, unsure how you can have two instances of that, but try closing down the settings as that may be eating up CPU cycles with a video playing ?

I also don't see madVR running on the screen though, so just set fire to the computer.
mine shows 3 processes too.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:17   #54906  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the source colorspace is supposed to match madVR settings. it has to how else should this ever work. just giving madVR a BT 2020 3D LUt and load it as b 709 what'S the point of this?

i mean you are doing this calibration stuff for a while know. just try to think why an option is even there.


i'm simply at a lost of word when i read this. why should it even support BT 2020 3D LUT way before HDR was a spec.

just take a step back and think.

if your screen has a meaningfully bigger colorsavce then BT 709 add a DCI P3 3D LUT. madVR will do the rest this option to load aDCI P3 3D LUT is not for fun in there and a DCI P3 3D LUT is defined by the source colorspace.

You're assuming too many things

The madvr calibration boxes has one for rec2020 and one for rec 709.

The dispcal lut output has a source colorspace box for rec2020 and rec709.

I can't assume what madvr may require a different setting from dispcal when using the different boxes.

So , THAT'S WHY I ASK, does madvr expect a different generation setting for a lut put into those different boxes.

This is perfectly reasonable on my end.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.