Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th January 2019, 17:52   #16601  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
I am trying to encode a .TS that is mpeg2. It was recorded from an OTA broadcast in the US. THe video is 29.97 but ripbot has the deinterlace option greyed out. Any idea why this would be?
https://imgur.com/a/GREKgvz
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 18:25   #16602  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,235
Upload 100-200 MB sample. I will take a look.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 18:36   #16603  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Upload 100-200 MB sample. I will take a look.
I don't know how to cut the file. I don't currently have a tuner to record a small sample it is coming in the mail. I sent the other one back.
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 18:53   #16604  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by light5out View Post
I don't know how to cut the file. I don't currently have a tuner to record a small sample it is coming in the mail. I sent the other one back.
https://www.softpedia.com/get/System.../DGSplit.shtml
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 19:46   #16605  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 529
I've brought it up before, but is it possible in the batch mode to set a custom crop?
I've been using the auto crop, but it doesn't always get it right.

Right now I have about 78 files that should all have a crop of L 240 and a R 240 but many (not all) are L238 R240 and all of those have a small black line on the left side, so I'm having to go through each job and check manually, which IMO defeats the purpose of the autocrop.
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 19:48   #16606  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
For some reason I can't load the download page, getting an error.
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 20:11   #16607  |  Link
pepeq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 17
you can download DGsplit from here:

http://rationalqm.us/mine.html
pepeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 20:21   #16608  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Thank man!

https://ufile.io/gj8t7

Here you go OP, hopefully that site works never used it before.

Last edited by light5out; 20th January 2019 at 23:55.
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2019, 17:13   #16609  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by light5out View Post
Thank man!

https://ufile.io/gj8t7

Here you go OP, hopefully that site works never used it before.
I recorded the same show and have the same problem, I did a test of a random recording and it worked on that one, any idea why.

Again the options to deinterlace are greyed out.
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2019, 17:37   #16610  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,235
Option is greyed out because your video does not have constant frame rate. Detected FPS has to be 29.97 or 25.

BTW. I'm shocked that big broadcasters in USA still use MPEG-2 format for HD content. In EU only MPEG-4 AVC is used in HD (and probably in SD as well).

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 23rd January 2019 at 17:41.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 00:36   #16611  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,964
Germany still uses MPEG-2 for SD broadcasts via DVB-S.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 06:19   #16612  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Option is greyed out because your video does not have constant frame rate. Detected FPS has to be 29.97 or 25.

BTW. I'm shocked that big broadcasters in USA still use MPEG-2 format for HD content. In EU only MPEG-4 AVC is used in HD (and probably in SD as well).
Ok, so what do you recommend I do with it, I notice when I did an encode it came out at like 25.3 fps or something. (and it was way out of sync) Basically I just want to shrink it down.
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 07:59   #16613  |  Link
Wishbringer
Silent Reader
 
Wishbringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by slalom View Post
Anyone having problems with auto shut down?
Has already happeden 2 times on one PC
Received yesterday a new core update for RB 1.24.0.
Was hoping that issue with non-closing/ non-responding application would be solved.

Issue is still there: When trying to close RB (manuell or per checkbox after completing encode), window closes, but RB still shows up in taskbar, but isn't responding anymore.
So autoshutdown doesn't happen too.

New start of RB isn't possible except i kill task in taskmanager before.

Last edited by Wishbringer; 24th January 2019 at 08:05.
Wishbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 13:03   #16614  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Germany still uses MPEG-2 for SD broadcasts via DVB-S.
In Poland only MPEG-4 AVC exists even in SD.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 16:28   #16615  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by light5out View Post
Ok, so what do you recommend I do with it, I notice when I did an encode it came out at like 25.3 fps or something. (and it was way out of sync) Basically I just want to shrink it down.
Also can someone help me understand how to identify that it is variable framerate?
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 16:41   #16616  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wishbringer View Post
Received yesterday a new core update for RB 1.24.0.
Was hoping that issue with non-closing/ non-responding application would be solved.

Issue is still there: When trying to close RB (manuell or per checkbox after completing encode), window closes, but RB still shows up in taskbar, but isn't responding anymore.
So autoshutdown doesn't happen too.

New start of RB isn't possible except i kill task in taskmanager before.
Which Windows Version are you on? Do you have antivirus or anything running? I haven't had this issue in Windows 7 or Windows 10.

Quote:
Originally Posted by light5out View Post
Ok, so what do you recommend I do with it, I notice when I did an encode it came out at like 25.3 fps or something. (and it was way out of sync) Basically I just want to shrink it down.
Sometimes Media info can help see if the file is a variable FPS, or if you look at the FPS info while playing the file, if your video player shows the FPS in realtime.

As for syncing up the audio/video, have you tried TimeCodes?

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...es#post1849546

Quote:
...try copying the timestamp file from source to your encoded file. This is especially helpful with variable frame rate files.

Extracting timecodes (windows batch file):
Code:
Code:
FOR %%A IN (*.mkv) DO "C:\Program Files\MKVToolNix\mkvextract.exe" timecodes_v2 "%%A" "0:%%A_timecodes.txt"
^^ The above is for running the batch file in the same folder as the video files that you want to extract the timestamp info from (source)

Batch importing with Encoded files in the same folder as the extracted timecodes .txt files(windows batch file)
Code:
Code:
FOR %%A IN (*.mkv) DO "C:\Program Files\MKVToolNix\mkvmerge.exe" -o "%%~A-fixed.mkv" --timecodes "0:%%A_timecodes.txt" "%%~A"
If you're working with something other than MKVs you'd want to change that in the scripts.
The above has the batch version but you can do this with MKVExtract and the GUI.
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 16:44   #16617  |  Link
byteshare
ByteShare
 
byteshare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 529
HEVC 3.0 stable is out:
3.0+1-ed72af8
http://msystem.waw.pl/x265/

Release notes:
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/...leasenotes.rst
Quote:
+New features
+-------------
+1. option:: '--dolby-vision-profile <integer|float>' generates bitstreams confirming to the specified Dolby Vision profile. Currently profile 5, profile 8.1 and profile 8.2 enabled, Default 0 (disabled)
+
+2. option:: '--dolby-vision-rpu' File containing Dolby Vision RPU metadata. If given, x265's Dolby Vision metadata parser will fill the RPU field of input pictures with the metadata
+ read from the file. The library will interleave access units with RPUs in the bitstream. Default NULL (disabled).
+
+3. option:: '--zonefile <filename>' specifies a text file which contains the boundaries of the zones where each of zones are configurable.
+
+4. option:: '--qp-adaptation-range' Delta-QP range by QP adaptation based on a psycho-visual model. Default 1.0.
+
+5. option:: '--refine-ctu-distortion <0/1>' store/normalize ctu distortion in analysis-save/load. Default 0.
+
+6. Experimental feature option:: '--hevc-aq' enables adaptive quantization
+ It scales the quantization step size according to the spatial activity of one coding unit relative to frame average spatial activity. This AQ method utilizes
+ the minimum variance of sub-unit in each coding unit to represent the coding unit’s spatial complexity.
+
+Encoder enhancements
+--------------------
+1. Preset: change param defaults for veryslow and slower preset. Replace slower preset with defaults used in veryslow preset and change param defaults in veryslow preset as per experimental results.
+2. AQ: change default AQ mode to auto-variance
+3. Cutree offset reuse: restricted to analysis reuse-level 10 for analysis-save -> analysis-load
+4. Tune: introduce --tune animation option which improves encode quality for animated content
+5. Reuse CU depth for B frame and allow I, P frame to follow x265 depth decision
+
+Bug fixes
+---------
+1. RC: fix rowStat computation in const-vbv
+2. Dynamic-refine: fix memory reset size.
+3. Fix Issue #442: linking issue on non x86 platform
+4. Encoder: Do not include CLL SEI message if empty
+5. Fix issue #441 build error in VMAF lib

Last edited by byteshare; 24th January 2019 at 16:56.
byteshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 18:30   #16618  |  Link
light5out
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by byteshare View Post
Which Windows Version are you on? Do you have antivirus or anything running? I haven't had this issue in Windows 7 or Windows 10.



Sometimes Media info can help see if the file is a variable FPS, or if you look at the FPS info while playing the file, if your video player shows the FPS in realtime.

As for syncing up the audio/video, have you tried TimeCodes?

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...es#post1849546



The above has the batch version but you can do this with MKVExtract and the GUI.
I have not done that and thank you. I am a noob when it comes to encoding. I am looking for an easy way to shrink DVR recordings. I have used ripbot in the past and like it, but the interlaced thing always seems to be a headache. I don't even need to deinterlace if there is a way to shrink the file but keep all that the same. Because the mpeg2's look great, they are just too big.
light5out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 21:39   #16619  |  Link
Wishbringer
Silent Reader
 
Wishbringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 289
@byteshare:
Three z270, 7700k, 64gb ram, 2tb 970 Evo, vega64 with Win10pro 17763.292 (at home)
Two x470, 2700x, 64gb, 1tb 960 Evo, RX550 with Win10pro 17134.xxx (at work)
Only ms defender as av.
Issue with each of them. One z270 has a fresh reinstall today (17763.107 iso + Cu292) + drivers.
Does not happen with an old local install of RB1.23.
Wishbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2019, 21:56   #16620  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,964
@byteshare: It's not the HEVC standard, but the x265 encoder, which reached version 3.0.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.