Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th April 2018, 15:59   #50481  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideeffect View Post
I posted for confirmation there is no harm posting the same issue again, it shows that multiple people have the issue and it's not just a configuration issue for one person. I also included the software enviroment information and other configuration settings tried.

I don't really understand the hostility it's not like I am spamming posts.
It didn't read as a confirmation as you didn't post as if you had read the last 2-3 pages of the thread.

There is no hostility, just tired of repeating the same thing over and over simply because some are too lazy to read the feedback since the last release.

If it was a confirmation, then apologies, but please make it clearer next time so that it doesn't look like you're reporting something new and are wondering what's happening.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 03:08   #50482  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
So the new Nvidia Drivers 397 , allows you to use NV HDR mode with RGB 8 Bit .


Quote from other forum :

Have you tried the latest drivers? Geforce 397.31 WHQL and 397.40 (new Vulkan dev drivers) both let Windows 10 switch to HDR using RGB 8-bit with dithering. It actually looks really good, i opened Final Fantasy 15 (HDR), Fortnite (not HDR), Warframe (not HDR) so far, and they all looked great, the desktop also looks good too.

I finally got my Samsung tv to look good by using Game Mode instead of PC Mode for HDR as well. Now that they fixed the latency by allowing HDR in RGB mode for 4k, i think i will be keeping HDR enabled all the time now.


For me HDR now seems to work at RGB 8 Bit , that's what windows says on the display properties , before if you lock the Nvidia Control panel to RGB 8 bit then it wouldn't go into HDR mode if you launched a HDR movies in potplayer or other player, it would stay non hdr mode.

Last edited by x7007; 30th April 2018 at 03:10.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 06:37   #50483  |  Link
Axelpowa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Hi,

I've started using the last official version of madvr after the testmode5.

So far that diffuse white option is gone I'm having some trouble getting the same picture tones as before.

Before I had two settings with peak nits to 100 and diffuse white to 23 or 30.

Is now diffuse white by default 100 and should I scale the peak nits by the same multiplier as diffuse white? IE, if I had 100-30 should I put now 333 in peak nits?

Regards!
Axelpowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 09:13   #50484  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelpowa View Post
Is now diffuse white by default 100 and should I scale the peak nits by the same multiplier as diffuse white? IE, if I had 100-30 should I put now 333 in peak nits?
Yes, that's what you want.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 10:37   #50485  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Exactly. See FAQ in the 2nd post of this thread.
well they talk briefly about VVR video apps. so it can atleast be used gneerally for something even through it's not fixing the A/V sync.

but if there are people out there that know if there is an API or a way to use VVR to make it useful for madVR than these are most likely the persons that do.

i personally don't really care about VFR displays.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 11:09   #50486  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
So the new Nvidia Drivers 397 , allows you to use NV HDR mode with RGB 8 Bit .


Quote from other forum :

Have you tried the latest drivers? Geforce 397.31 WHQL and 397.40 (new Vulkan dev drivers) both let Windows 10 switch to HDR using RGB 8-bit with dithering. It actually looks really good, i opened Final Fantasy 15 (HDR), Fortnite (not HDR), Warframe (not HDR) so far, and they all looked great, the desktop also looks good too.

I finally got my Samsung tv to look good by using Game Mode instead of PC Mode for HDR as well. Now that they fixed the latency by allowing HDR in RGB mode for 4k, i think i will be keeping HDR enabled all the time now.


For me HDR now seems to work at RGB 8 Bit , that's what windows says on the display properties , before if you lock the Nvidia Control panel to RGB 8 bit then it wouldn't go into HDR mode if you launched a HDR movies in potplayer or other player, it would stay non hdr mode.
Good find. I have tried 397.31 and uninstalled it, but 397.40 seems to handle HDR with the NV api much better (vastly improved contrast and tone mapping) on my set up. I lose 36bit custom res, but it saves content type set at full screen videos, so will keep.

K
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-NR686, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 30th April 2018 at 15:01. Reason: Typo
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 16:35   #50487  |  Link
sauma144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 89
Any news or leaks about the new algorithm?
sauma144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 17:34   #50488  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by sauma144 View Post
Any news or leaks about the new algorithm?
No, nothing.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 19:07   #50489  |  Link
wolfman2791
Registered User
 
wolfman2791's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 57
Guys... I have a problem. Ever since I upgraded to the last version, I get this strange sound from my R9 390. I know it's from madvr because it goes away as soon as I turn it off. Anyone else have this problem?
wolfman2791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2018, 19:27   #50490  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,965
Like this, 2 pages ago?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkmatterx76 View Post
Hi, starting last night I started hearing a quiet chirping sound that sounds not unlike a cricket. I've tracked the problem back to MadVR ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I am almost positive that is coil whine, a manufacturing defect that specific loads can cause to manafest. Try different madVR settings, more or less load can change or eliminate the sound.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 06:56   #50491  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Coil-whine so lower the setting.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 09:01   #50492  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Update to Windows 1803, it fixes the HDR issues.

https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=691209

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 09:05   #50493  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
and what does it fix?

it still converts SDR to HDR ...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 12:16   #50494  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Temporary don't use FSE mode with 1803 + 397.31.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 12:30   #50495  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
Temporary don't use FSE mode with 1803 + 397.31.
Can I ask why?

BTW, no problems with FSE with SDR or HDR with 397.40 (on 1803 build 17134.5)
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-NR686, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 13:02   #50496  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Can I ask why?

BTW, no problems with FSE with SDR or HDR with 397.40 (on 1803 build 17134.5)
Freeze when is full screen mode. FYI, 397.40 is r396 branch, whereas 397.91 is r397.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 13:07   #50497  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
Freeze when is full screen mode. FYI, 397.40 is r396 branch, whereas 397.91 is r397.
Ok. I know which branch 397.40 is based on - all I can say is re HDR to try it out.

As far as I can tell, both are based on r396:

https://www.anandtech.com/show/12685...a-rtx-and-more

But, 397.40 is a bit ahead of the curve I believe ( I could of course me mistaken):

https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/nv...driver.420585/
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-NR686, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 1st May 2018 at 13:21. Reason: Typo
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 13:36   #50498  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Ok. I know which branch 397.40 is based on - all I can say is re HDR to try it out.

As far as I can tell, both are based on r396:

https://www.anandtech.com/show/12685...a-rtx-and-more

But, 397.40 is a bit ahead of the curve I believe ( I could of course me mistaken):

https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/nv...driver.420585/
I don't have HDR. I'm not sure why FSE mode is freezing. Every driver can produce different results.

P.S. I'm using 17134.1 so this might be the reason behind.

Last edited by khanmein; 1st May 2018 at 14:45.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 13:55   #50499  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
I don't have HDR. I'm not sure why FSE mode is freezing. Every driver can produce different results.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 14:01   #50500  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
@x7007 What's wrong with your LG? Everything looks good.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.