Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th February 2012, 17:29   #1  |  Link
EpheMeroN
EphMan
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 737
DVDSubEdit and subtitle delays

Can DVDSubEdit adjust the delays for subtitles?

I use this app to adjust the positioning of my subs and / or the colors after I mux together my dvd files. However, I have subs right now that need to be adjusted by appx. 1 sec. If DVDSubEdit can do this, please advise?

Thanks guys!
EpheMeroN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 17:30   #2  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,635
Yes, read the manual, it's actually simple to do it.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2012, 18:19   #3  |  Link
EpheMeroN
EphMan
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 737
Well, I found how to edit ALL subs by X delay. However, I keep receiving an error randomly which says "Couldn't locate an empty slot". What does this mean?
EpheMeroN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2012, 08:12   #4  |  Link
jeanl
Registered User
 
jeanl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,079
This is an error that should not happen (hence the cryptic message) ... It means, though, that DVDSubEdit had a hard time finding an LBA to put the subpic in. As I said, it's probably a bug.
Jeanl
__________________
A few PgcEdit guides.
DVDSubEdit a free tool to edit subtitles directly inside the vob.
jeanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2012, 11:39   #5  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,635
I don't think it's a bug. It seems that in this case, DSE simply skips the affected subtitle.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2013, 14:03   #6  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,635
It appears that the new version, 1.52, does a horrible thing on this matter - the already aligned subtitles remains in synch, but those coming after the message (which doesn't even mention the subtitle number, to find the "offender" easier) are wrongly delayed.

If I may ask, does the program starts "intelligently" (AKA from the end for + delays, and from the beginning for - ones)? This assures a quick check, in case of overlapping (say over cell/PGC boundaries) ... useful since the program has no UNDO .

If not, maybe in a future version?
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adjust, delay, positioning, subtitles

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.