Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st November 2013, 22:46   #241  |  Link
Cedvano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 232
Here Google Docs : FRIMTranscode GUI
You can click on the picture in the website.
Cedvano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 22:52   #242  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedvano View Post
Here Google Docs : FRIMTranscode GUI
You can click on the picture in the website.
Initial impression job well done. Are you gone translate installer string to English? Also may I suggest offer to consider right click on option and offer brief detail about it.
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:00   #243  |  Link
Cedvano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
Initial impression job well done. Are you gone translate installer string to English? Also may I suggest offer to consider right click on option and offer brief detail about it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinhunt View Post
FRIMTranscode supports hardware encoding; can you add that to the GUI?
Also, if -hw or -hw_d3d11 is enabled, Transcode can use LA BRC mode (-labrc parameter) so that would a nice additional option if the required hardware is present.
Ok, thanks for your help, I work on it.
Don't hesitate for others suggestions.
Cedvano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:09   #244  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedvano View Post
Here Google Docs : FRIMTranscode GUI
You can click on the picture in the website.
Running first test now, seems to be working fine. This is a very nice addition to the toolset; thanks!
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:09   #245  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,510
Cedvano
VBR has to parameters: average and maxrate, like
-vbr 8000 15000.
I think in your GUI the maxrate is missing, no?
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:12   #246  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Cedvano
VBR has to parameters: average and maxrate, like
-vbr 8000 15000.
I think in your GUI the maxrate is missing, no?
I assumed that you type the average bitrate in the CBR box, maxrate in VBR box and select VBR. Yeah, assumptions...
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:15   #247  |  Link
Cedvano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 232
If you select CBR, the max bitrate is selected for average. (option -cbr 15000)
If you select VBR, you have got the min and max bitrate. (option -vbr 8000 15000)

Edit: I add help box !
Cedvano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:25   #248  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
Full backup might not be good option since you need 50% overhead for dependent view. However I do see this option viable for short movies and have good news for you
That is good news, and I look forward to physic's implementation. But, as I tried to explain before -- you don't have to worry about additional overhead because from a 3D perspective the M2TS files have no purpose. If you want to create a 3D disc -- all you need is the corresponding SSIF file(s). The 3D playback is played from there. The two M2TS files can be replaced by dummy files that have the same attributes but are only a couple of seconds long (assuming the CLPI is correctly formatted) since they would be simply pointing to the same data that is interleaved in the SSIF. The base view M2TS might be replaced with a video saying "You need a 3D player, buddy". The downside is that the features, etc. can ONLY be played on a 3D player with a 3D monitor (2D playback would require the base view M2TS). But some discs are like that anyway (meaning they won't play except on a 3D player).

I've done it and on my 3D BD player it works fine.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 21st November 2013 at 23:34.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:32   #249  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
Okay, first 5000 frame-long test encode using FRIMTranscode GUI is done. The result is very nice. I selected VBR, and entered 22000 in the CBR box and 48000 in the VBR box.

Dropped the combined output file into latest tsMuxer, output into BD3D ISO, then mounted ISO in virtual drive and used BDInfo to measure bitrates. Average bitrate for AVC was 12018 kbps and 9962 kbps for MVC. In total that's very close to the 22000 kbps average set in the CBR box. As for max bitrate... I'm not quite sure how to read BDInfo's output. It says 39485 kbps for "Max 1-sec Rate", but that appears to be for AVC only.

That's the MVC on top and AVC underneath:


Last edited by colinhunt; 21st November 2013 at 23:39.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:33   #250  |  Link
Cedvano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 232
Version 1.02b
- Add help for options
- some aesthetic corrections.

FRIMTranscode GUI 1.02b
Cedvano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:40   #251  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That is good news, and I look forward to physic's implementation. But, as I tried to explain before -- you don't have to worry about additional overhead because from a 3D perspective the M2TS files have no purpose. If you want to create a 3D disc -- all you need is the corresponding SSIF file(s). The 3D playback is played from there. The two M2TS files can be replaced by dummy files that have the same attributes but are only a couple of seconds long (assuming the CLPI is correctly formatted) since they would be simply pointing to the same data that is interleaved in the SSIF. The base view M2TS might be replaced with a video saying "You need a 3D player, buddy". The downside is that the features, etc. can ONLY be played on a 3D player with a 3D monitor (2D playback would require the base view M2TS). But some discs are like that anyway (meaning they won't play except on a 3D player).

I've done it and on my 3D BD player it works fine.
Sound good, definitely looking forward to it and since quality is subjective I will leave it here. In the meantime I did some benchmark to help you decide which preset to use within BD-RB, I did benchmark of quality using preset Quality, Balanced and Fast and uploading result here to give you idea and hopefully it will help you decide. Should you need me to conduct more test or can offer help, just let me know.

I should also mention I ran them one by one.
Quote:
System Setting and info
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3930K CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3201 MHz, 6 Core(s), 12 Logical Processor(s) Clocked at 4.00GHZ
Source and Destination On Separate Physical Drive
Source Used: Pacific Rim, total runtime for sample 6min and 42 second and taken from beginning of movie.
Tota Frame processed 19329

Encoder Setting
Input format YUV420
Output video AVC
MFX dll: G:\FRIM_version_1.15\libmfxsw32.dll

Source picture:
Resolution 1920x1088
Crop X,Y,W,H 0,0,1920,1080
Destination picture:
Resolution 1920x1088
Crop X,Y,W,H 0,0,1920,1080
Frame rate 23.976
Bitrate control VBR
avg,maximum 39081,60000
GOP structure:
GOP length 24
I-/P-frame distance 4
IDR-frame interval 0
GOP type Strict
Num of slices 6

Memory type system
Media SDK impl sw
Media SDK version 1.7



Preset U-1 (Quality)
Cpu Usage 36 % Min - 44% Max Encoder
Cpu Usage 1 % Min - 2% Max Decoder
Time Taken 5121.22 Second
-------------------------------------
Preset U-4 (Balanced)
Cpu Usage 41 % Min - 72% Max Encoder
Cpu Usage 1 % Min - 8% Max Decoder
Time Taken 1089.70 Second
-------------------------------------
Preset U-7 (Speed)
Cpu Usage 25 % Min - 51% Max Encoder
Cpu Usage 4 % Min - 5% Max Decoder
Time Taken 800.78 Second
-------------------------------------


Media Info Report

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=4, N=24
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 6mn 43s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 21.5 Mbps
Maximum bit rate : 32.7 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.432
Stream size : 1.01 GiB (96%)

Video
ID : 4114 (0x1012)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Stereo High@L4.1
MultiView_Count : 2
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Codec ID : 32
Duration : 6mn 42s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 17.9 Mbps
Maximum bit rate : 27.3 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.359
Stream size : 858 MiB (96%)
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.

Last edited by HWK; 21st November 2013 at 23:57.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:45   #252  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
Anyone know if there's a way to tell FRIM to start encoding from a specific frame number?
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:48   #253  |  Link
Cedvano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinhunt View Post
Anyone know if there's a way to tell FRIM to start encoding from a specific frame number?
Demux with split option in TsMuxer. The only way I know.
Cedvano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:52   #254  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
I'm no good at this command line lark, it seems. Transcoding ends with a bunch of error messages when I try to run this:

Code:
frimtranscode -i::mvc t:left.264 t:right.mvc -o::mvc outputcombined.264 -hw -labrc 22000 0 -profile high -level 4.1

FRIM Transcoder version 1.15 (build: Nov 12 2013)
 - based on Intel(R) Media SDK (version: 4.0.760.60435)

MFX HARDWARE Session 0 API ver 1.7 parameters:
Input  video:   AVC
Output video:   AVC
MFX dll:        C:\Users\xxxxxxxxxxxx\encoders\libmfxhw32.dll

Session 0 was NOT joined with other sessions
Transcoding started
Return on error: error code -3, .\src\sample_utils.cpp  1472
Return on error: error code -3, .\src\pipeline_transcode.cpp    1783
Return on error: error code -3, .\src\pipeline_transcode.cpp    443
Return on error: error code -3, .\src\pipeline_transcode.cpp    744
Transcoding finished
MFX session 0 transcoding FAILED
Processing time: 0.11 sec
Number of processed frames: 0
Return on error: error code 1,  .\src\sample_multi_transcode.cpp        603
... but if I leave out the last "-level 4.1", transcoding starts running just nicely. Huh?

edit: Figured it out. When running in -hw mode and using LA BRC (-labrc), Transcode will stop in error if "-level 4.1" is used. Switching from LA BRC to -vbr allows the use of -level 4.1.

Last edited by colinhunt; 22nd November 2013 at 00:14.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:54   #255  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
Sound good, Definitely looking forward to it and since quality is subjective I will leave it here. In the meantime I did some benchmark to help you decide which preset to use within BD-RB, I did benchmark of quality using preset Quality, Balanced and Fast and uploading result here to give you idea and hopefully it will help you decide. Should you need me to conduct more test or can offer help, just let me know.
Yes, quality is subjective, but I'd still like to know about where a given level falls... maybe I can use some kind of testing (PSNR etc.) that will give me some idea as to how an item (2D) encoded by FRIMEncode at a given quality level compares to an X264 encode with it's quality levels given an identical source. These "quality" metrics are never great -- but the quality level doesn't have to be perfectly 1:1, just close. That way I can still let users pick a preset quality level from within BD-RB.

Thanks for the info you provided.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 21st November 2013 at 23:58.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2013, 23:59   #256  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Jdobbs, I am just curious how soon one may expect 3D support. Just rough timeline will do for know.
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.

Last edited by HWK; 22nd November 2013 at 00:14.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2013, 00:03   #257  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
Well, poop. Can't use -hw option in FRIMTranscode: output is garbled, just riddled with artefacts. I believe it's the same issue I discovered earlier, i.e. hardware encoding works fine, but hardware decoding is futzed up.

Last edited by colinhunt; 22nd November 2013 at 00:06.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2013, 00:08   #258  |  Link
videofan3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 292
Frim 1.16

Hi,

Minor update FRIM 1.16 is available.
Key changes:

FRIM Encoder 1.16
- workaround for Avisynth error (occasionally Avisynth 2.5.8 doesn't feed R-eye in -sbs mode) - please try if it helped

FRIM Encoder and Transcoder 1.16
- allowed bitrate higher than 65000 Kbps (although I personally doubt whether it is reasonable and useful )

(rest is in Release notes)
videofan3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2013, 00:09   #259  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by videofan3d View Post
Hi,

Minor update FRIM 1.16 is available.
Key changes:

FRIM Encoder 1.16
- workaround for Avisynth error (occasionally Avisynth 2.5.8 doesn't feed R-eye in -sbs mode) - please try if it helped

FRIM Encoder and Transcoder 1.16
- allowed bitrate higher than 65000 Kbps (although I personally doubt whether it is reasonable and useful )

(rest is in Release notes)

Thank you
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2013, 00:11   #260  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
I notice when you mux file with tsmuxer number of frame is different. However if you extract it there are same.

Quote:
Network Optix tsMuxeR. Version 2.2.3(b). www.networkoptix.com
Decoding H264 stream (track 1): H.264/MVC Views: 2 Profile: High@4.1 Resolution: 1920:1080p Frame rate: 23.976
MVC muxing fps is not set. Get fps from stream. Value: 23.976
Decoding H264 stream (track 2): Profile: High@4.1 Resolution: 1920:1080p Frame rate: 23.976
H.264 muxing fps is not set. Get fps from stream. Value: 23.976
Processed 9661 video frames (MVC)
Processed 9662 video frames (AVC)

Flushing write buffer
Creating Blu-ray stream info and seek index
Creating Blu-ray playlist
Mux successful complete
Muxing time: 30 sec
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.

Last edited by HWK; 22nd November 2013 at 00:15.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
encoders, mvc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.