Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th December 2008, 21:48   #1  |  Link
Misao
Registered User
 
Misao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
how to encode an HD from raw?

need help, im a newbie in encoding,

what i want to learn is how can i convert/encode a raw video which i recorded using Fraps.. the raw vid from Fraps is really big. i want to re-encode it to HD, altho i dont know much about it, i heard something about H264 and 720p which i also dont know what 720p means.

i have avisynth and MeGUI
please teach me how to encode a raw .avi to a HD .avi using MeGUI

also how much bitrate to make it HD?
Misao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2008, 04:42   #2  |  Link
linyx
Un-Registered User
 
linyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Audio Stream - 0x80
Posts: 341
Try staxrip if you are a newbie, starting with MeGUI is IMO far too advanced to start out on. Try opening your files (StaxRip will merge them for you) then select x264 and a constant quality preset.

Quote:
i also dont know what 720p means.
720p means 720 vertical lines of resolution while "p" means progressive, as opposed to interlaced.

Quote:
also how much bitrate to make it HD?
Entirely subjective, I would advise a CRF value (between 18 and 24, lower being higher quality) rather than bitrate
linyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2008, 06:51   #3  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,731
I think even StaxRip might be more than necessary in this case

I'd suggest using Ripbot264. It's very simple!



Some basics:

H.264 is a video compression standard that is rapidly becoming the new standard for almost all applications. There are numerous implementations of this standard, including x264, Mainconcept, Sony, Apple etc...

Everyone on this board pretty much uses x264, because it's extremely fast compared to the competition and offers superior quality in almost every conceivable case. Also, if's free open source.

A GUI like MeGUI, StaxRip, AutoMKV, or Ripbot264 uses x264 in conjunction with other tools to take an input and convert it to H.264.



~MiSfit
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2008, 20:09   #4  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
There is no such thing as "how much bitrate for HD." HD is anything at a higher resolution than SD: In other words, 1920x1080 (1080p) and 1280x720 (720p) are HD material. You can have a stream that's 1080p with 300 kbps (would be stupid to do that, but it's possible) and it's still legitimate "HD material."
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2008, 11:32   #5  |  Link
Misao
Registered User
 
Misao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
question
can staxrip or ripbot264 add subtitle?
__________________
sou dakke? misao nanda zo~
Misao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 23:22   #6  |  Link
Chevy787
Registered User
 
Chevy787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 15
In Staxrip you can, you can hard sub them by adding it as a filter line. Or you can do softsubs ,subs that you can turn on and off, using mkvtoolnix with the merge gui. Just drag and drop the video that you already encoded,then drop the subtitles. Your output will be .mkv.
I recommend Aegisub for subtitle creation.
Chevy787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 23:34   #7  |  Link
shakey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42
Also, be sure that the resolution you encode to is AT MOST the same as your source material. Encoding to a higher resolution is pretty much pointless. If your source video isn't HD, then neither should the final encoded video be.
shakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.