Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th November 2019, 21:28   #1241  |  Link
Andy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbrahimKh View Post
Did you both got full CPU usage when converting from HDR to SDR?
No, in this case specifically only about 50-70% on average, I do not remember much anymore. The main thing I did was gpu (1080Ti).
I haven't used the DGHable script, only DGIndex, Resize to 1080p and DGHDRtoSDR with avisynth (mode = "pq", white = 1800, fulldepth = true).
The value of "white" increases gamma, at 1800 the video is dark, I gave 2300.
Maybe it does not comply with BT.709 standards, but it is good for my eyes and ips monitor. The color corresponds to reality.
http://forum.doom9.net/showthread.php?t=175686

Last edited by Andy; 28th November 2019 at 21:50.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2019, 16:52   #1242  |  Link
Bahamuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
Hmm my problem with the slow video after encoding does not exist when encoding with Handbrake. Tried now four different deinterlacers, each result is the same. Slow video, normal audio speed.

These separate fields must be terrible...
Bahamuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2019, 18:12   #1243  |  Link
sgfrisbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
StaxRip 2.0.6.0 Hardcoded Subtitles

StaxRip has stopped hardcoding subtitles. I have try versions 2.0 to 2.0.6.0 and they all have stopped hardcoding subtiles.

StaxRip does not error out when encoding video file, it just does
not HC subtitles. It does the same thing with subtitles I use
srt and ass files.

Log file attached.


Thank you for any help on this.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Arifureta - S01E01_staxrip.txt (15.7 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by sgfrisbee; 2nd December 2019 at 18:15.
sgfrisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2019, 18:13   #1244  |  Link
jonrodrigos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Hello everyone, I have many doubts when using staxrip, I would like to ask if anyone can give me a link or explain through the forum how to configure and use staxrip 2.0.6 for movies in 4k hdr in the best quality using nvenc NVIDIA? I have doubts as to the decoder if it is better to use vapourSynth or AviSynth or even nvenc hardware or software .... etc
i have nvidia asus gtx 1070ti
it's hard to find tutorial on the internet
if anyone can explain me, I will be very grateful.
thank you!
jonrodrigos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 20:34   #1245  |  Link
JKyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
NVEnc 4.57 is released today.

Quote:
- Add HLG->SDR support to vpp-colorspace hdr2sdr.
- Fix typo of a parameter. ( arib-srd-b67 -> arib-std-b67)
- Remove "w" option from vpp-colorspace hdr2sdr=hable, now will be calculated by source_peak / ldr_nits.
- Fix sub-copy not working from NVEnc 4.56.
- Fix trueHD decode error in mkv which has certain pattern of timestamps.
- Fix vpp-afs level= 0 getting unexpexted artifacts.
Here.
JKyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 09:14   #1246  |  Link
writersblock29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgfrisbee View Post
StaxRip has stopped hardcoding subtitles. I have try versions 2.0 to 2.0.6.0 and they all have stopped hardcoding subtiles.
Yeah, I ran into this tonight while encoding "Men in Black." After a bit of troubleshooting, I concluded that the problem lays with VSFilterMod, or at the very least it was worth bypassing it. Since I also have Ripbot264 installed on my system, I copied the VSFilter plugin from Ripbot's plugin folder... pasted it into Staxrip's AVS plugins folder... then edited Staxrip's AVS script so that it would point to it. It worked: the subs are burned into the video as expected.

If you try this approach, you can edit the necessary commands from Staxrip's filter editor. After placing VSFilter into your AVS plugins folder, open the editor and you'll see a command like, "TextSubMod (your subtitle file's path and file name.)" In my case, I replaced this text with:

LoadPlugin("C:\Users\write\Documents\StaxRip-x64-2.0.6.0-stable\Apps\Plugins\AVS\VSFilter\VSFilter.dll")
TextSub("F:\Men in Black.srt")

Of course you'll likely have a different file path than mine, but that's the tall and skinny of it. It's clunky, but it works!
__________________
Isn't it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do "practice?"
--George Carlin
writersblock29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 10:41   #1247  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrodrigos View Post
...
i have nvidia asus gtx 1070ti
You should've got a newer Nvidia-card for HEVC/H.265 NVEnc-encoding, since the newest graphicscards gives better picture quality for the bitrate (the new ones handles B-frames!),
I mean the cards in the list with "HEVC B Frame support" here,
https://developer.nvidia.com/video-e...support-matrix
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 17:57   #1248  |  Link
writersblock29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonrodrigos View Post
...I would like to ask if anyone can give me a link or explain through the forum how to configure and use staxrip 2.0.6 for movies in 4k hdr in the best quality using nvenc NVIDIA?
Questions like this tend to be loaded, since quality's subjective. I could post the settings I use, but it'd fall flat on two counts: the first is that I'm using a GTX 1660, which supports the use of b-frames and uses a different architecture than your card. The second is that someone else will inevitably chime in with "Why the heck are you using X setting? You're wasting bits!!!" Because I like my settings, I'll be right. Because he likes HIS settings, he'll be right. That's why this forum frowns on the "What's best?" question.

The most general advice I can offer is to make sure you're using 10-bit instead of 8-bit, use the Main 10 profile in your encoder, and run some tests from there. If you use low CQP values, you'll get better quality which will come at the expense of larger file sizes. If you use high VBR settings, same deal: better quality, bigger file sizes. Only you can determine where your sweet spot is. And once you find it, you'll be just as right as anyone else.
__________________
Isn't it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do "practice?"
--George Carlin
writersblock29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 00:49   #1249  |  Link
Bahamuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
I found the reason for the wrong encoding of my videos.

ffms2.dll with version 2019-08-30 StvG is producing faulty videos for me. If I use the "old" 2.23.1 (latest version) from the website, then my video is encoded just fine.

I noticed, that during the x264 encode, the amount of frames was considerably higher than with the ffms2.dll shipped from StaxRip 2.

I uploaded an example. No additional filters needed.

Old ffms2.dll shows this info in StaxRip:


New ffms2.dll shows this info in StaxRip:

Notice the FPS of the Source Video.
Bahamuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, staxrip, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.