Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th August 2014, 21:00   #801  |  Link
macromizer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post
Yes, because a pause of 5 months (two months if you count the pull from June) is in any way comparable to a 5+ year, prolonged development hell. /sarcasm

Think about it for a second: within a time span of 6 months (September 2013-March 2014), there were enough unique commits to AviSynth+ to outpace the entire development cycle of AviSynth 2.6 up to that point, and even a chunk of 2.5's. It's not unreasonable, especially with the volume of different things that were getting done (64-bit support, intrinsics, MT & caching, etc.), to expect some level of burn-out or slow down. And even granted that, the 'level' that avsplus is currently at is not in any way lagging behind 2.6 - which hasn't had any commits since September 2013 when 2.6a5 was released.
If this was towards me, I would definitely agree that the two are not analogous situations and I wasn't meaning to make it seem that. Avisynth+ with what ultim and others have done has been amazing in kickstarting Avisynth activity again and what they have done is pretty awesome. My point is that I just worry that if everyone else ends up dropping out before ultim comes back that it's just going to suffer the same fate as IanB driving Avisynth alone. It's just so easy to burn out if you're a one-man development band.

Last edited by macromizer; 18th August 2014 at 21:02.
macromizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 01:19   #802  |  Link
innocenat
Registered User
 
innocenat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Regarding Linux/OSX/GCC/LLVM port, qyot27 is very spot on. Even then, because of how ssse3/sse4.1 code are interleaved with sse2, it is even quite more work than other project. I have been thinking about this for quite a while, bur haven't start yet.

Ultim is alive and does reply to questions on IRC. If he has more free time I am quite sure he will continue developing. I also plan to continue developing, I just don't have enoigh free time and experience to handle the project myself.
__________________
AviSynth+
innocenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 02:10   #803  |  Link
Seedmanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 88
Well, at least Avisynth x64 works, the parts that were ported, that is.

Quote:
Hm, but what else are we supposed to use instead of Avisynth if it's dying then?
I second this question. It can only die if it were to be replaced by something more effective at solving same tasks, but I can't imagine doing stuff without Avisynth, neither VDub nor Vegas-like editors fill its niche.
Seedmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 02:27   #804  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by macromizer View Post
If this was towards me, I would definitely agree that the two are not analogous situations and I wasn't meaning to make it seem that. Avisynth+ with what ultim and others have done has been amazing in kickstarting Avisynth activity again and what they have done is pretty awesome. My point is that I just worry that if everyone else ends up dropping out before ultim comes back that it's just going to suffer the same fate as IanB driving Avisynth alone. It's just so easy to burn out if you're a one-man development band.
No, it wasn't directed at you. It was directed at the 'there's not been an update in a month, so is it dead now? I guess I should move back to 2.6' types of responses from general users...because it started happening not *that* long into the slowdown in activity.

Quote:
Originally Posted by innocenat
Even then, because of how ssse3/sse4.1 code are interleaved with sse2, it is even quite more work than other project.
Do you mean there's SSSE3/SSE4.1 stuff in the functions with _sse2 suffixes in their names? Or just that all the different functions are all packed into the same source file? I assume it's the latter.

The thing I was getting confused about were the functions suffixed with _ssex and _xsse. I wasn't sure where to put those when splitting the files in convert/.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 02:34   #805  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octo-puss View Post
Hm, but what else are we supposed to use instead of Avisynth if it's dying then?
imho, avisynth itself might not be the best up till now, but there are so many magic filters and scripts, thats what makes it so irreplaceable
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 02:34   #806  |  Link
innocenat
Registered User
 
innocenat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post

Do you mean there's SSSE3/SSE4.1 stuff in the functions with _sse2 suffixes in their names? Or just that all the different functions are all packed into the same source file? I assume it's the latter.

The thing I was getting confused about were the functions suffixed with _ssex and _xsse. I wasn't sure where to put those when splitting the files in convert/.
The SSE3 lddqu, SSSE3 pshufb etc are injected by templated parameter into sse2 core function, to reduce code duplication.

I think the core and templated function should be put in #ifdef in header file and include into sse2/3/4 file, but I am not sure if this will work or not.
__________________
AviSynth+
innocenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 02:46   #807  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seedmanc View Post
Well, at least Avisynth x64 works, the parts that were ported, that is.


I second this question. It can only die if it were to be replaced by something more effective at solving same tasks, but I can't imagine doing stuff without Avisynth, neither VDub nor Vegas-like editors fill its niche.
ffmpeg's filtering is becoming much more capable, with a lot of ideas taken from Avisynth filters. Meanwhile, real-time filtering with multiple shaders is now easy during playback, even with low-end GPUs. I don't intend to stop using Avisynth anytime soon, but the writing is on the wall.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 10:57   #808  |  Link
TurboPascal7
Registered User
 
TurboPascal7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octo-puss View Post
Hm, but what else are we supposed to use instead of Avisynth if it's dying then?
Nothing. Hth, bye.

No, seriously, you don't have to use anything instead of avisynth. Why would you do this? It works for what it was designed for and won't suddenly break tomorrow.

I'm just saying that the whole idea of extremely complex and powerful frameservers is kinda useless these days, when most video requires light processing, that can be done in real-time on playback, if any at all.
__________________
Me on GitHub | AviSynth+ - the (dead) future of AviSynth

Last edited by TurboPascal7; 19th August 2014 at 11:00.
TurboPascal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 12:52   #809  |  Link
Octo-puss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 552
I thought Avisynth was used for encoding movie rips somehow? Please don't laugh at me, I don't understand this stuff one bit. I just use MeGUI and it depends on the old single threaded Avisynth, which is painfully slow when using QTGMC (waiting 3 days to encode something on i7 is just.... uh).

Last edited by Octo-puss; 19th August 2014 at 12:54.
Octo-puss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 13:03   #810  |  Link
Groucho2004
Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octo-puss View Post
I just use MeGUI and it depends on the old single threaded Avisynth, which is painfully slow when using QTGMC (waiting 3 days to encode something on i7 is just.... uh).
I don't think megui is restricted to one Avisynth version. I'm sure you can use either SEt's MT or AVS+ MT.

3 days with an i7 is insane, even with single threaded processing. I'd like to see that script.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 13:19   #811  |  Link
Octo-puss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
I don't think megui is restricted to one Avisynth version. I'm sure you can use either SEt's MT or AVS+ MT.

3 days with an i7 is insane, even with single threaded processing. I'd like to see that script.
No, it's not, but the multithreaded version is horribly bugged and the whole process crashes after several hours unpredictably.
I haven't tried Avisynth+ as it's unfinished.

Yes, that's the downside of QTGMC. It takes a LONG time with single thread. That's why I was hoping Avisynth+ would replace Avisynth.
Octo-puss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 13:25   #812  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,669
Multithreading QTGMC scripts is tricky, sometimes it seems impossible to make it through the whole video without crashing.

As an alternative, you could try using the MVTools version by cretindesalpes (inside the Dither package). It is internally multithreaded and runs faster.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 16:09   #813  |  Link
macromizer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post
No, it wasn't directed at you. It was directed at the 'there's not been an update in a month, so is it dead now? I guess I should move back to 2.6' types of responses from general users...because it started happening not *that* long into the slowdown in activity.
Okay.

Well after I finish up a couple other projects I've been meaning to finish for more than a year now, I'll look back into possibly doing some more OS X porting work. I'll definitely get in contact if I decide to end up working on it again.
macromizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2014, 16:11   #814  |  Link
Groucho2004
Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
As an alternative, you could try using the MVTools version by cretindesalpes (inside the Dither package). It is internally multithreaded and runs faster.
Never tried this before, very nice speed-up!
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 00:53   #815  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octo-puss View Post
No, it's not, but the multithreaded version is horribly bugged and the whole process crashes after several hours unpredictably.
I haven't tried Avisynth+ as it's unfinished.
It's not set's MT or avs+ that's bugged (well, not entirely), it's actually mvtools itself. It's fairly buggy, but a lot of the bugs are only exposed during parallel processing, so you get most of these crashes on slow mvtools scripts where you need the speed the most of all.

It'd be a bit painful but quite possible to create a version of QTGMC that used avs threading for all filters but mvtools, where only the internally threaded version works correctly right now, if anyone is interested. It's past due for a new plugin pack with the improved avs+ versions of filters, too.

Myrsloik is wrestling with that one in his copious free time.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 09:36   #816  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octo-puss View Post
Yes, that's the downside of QTGMC. It takes a LONG time with single thread.
One trick is to split your file in several parts and process each part in the same time. You'll keep QTGMC single threaded, but take advantage of several CPU. The best would be that each filter used has internal MT, but it seems it's not the case.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2014, 12:30   #817  |  Link
Dion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Is the name of the plugin a secret ?
Nope its called SupTitle. It's for burning sup subtitles into a video.
Dion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2014, 19:09   #818  |  Link
Elegant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 55
Any idea what can cause MeGUI or AvsPMod to hang when using AviSynth+? I'm using Windows 7 x64 and even loading a video using any method (DGDecode, FFMS2) in a script causes both programs to hang (only occurs with AviSynth+). Encoding is fine though but I'd prefer to actually see a preview >.>
Elegant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2014, 23:50   #819  |  Link
Groucho2004
Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elegant View Post
Any idea what can cause MeGUI or AvsPMod to hang when using AviSynth+? I'm using Windows 7 x64 and even loading a video using any method (DGDecode, FFMS2) in a script causes both programs to hang (only occurs with AviSynth+). Encoding is fine though but I'd prefer to actually see a preview >.>
  • Which version of AVS+ are you using? 64 or 32 Bit?
  • Be aware that 64 Bit Avisynth cannot load 32 Bit plugins (like DGDecode) and vice versa.
  • Define "hang". No error message?
  • Post your script.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2014, 01:20   #820  |  Link
Elegant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 55
32 bit version; the 64 bit version shouldn't load with MeGUI nor AvsPMod (this is also version listed on the AviSynth+ website) as far as I know. You are right in assuming there is no error, it simply attempts to open and hangs on both programs. Script examples:

Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\MeGUI\tools\dgindex\DGDecode.dll")
DGDecode_mpeg2source("E:\Output\VTS_01_4.d2v", info=3)
Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\MeGUI\tools\ffms\ffms2.dll")
FFVideoSource("L:\MOVIE\BDMV\STREAM\00508.m2ts", cachefile="E:\Output\Movie.ffindex", fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, threads=1)
Both cause the issue. Both plugins are 32 bit as that's what MeGUI uses.
Elegant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.