Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > HDTV / DVB / TiVo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th August 2009, 06:02   #1  |  Link
Poutnik
Useless idea generator
 
Poutnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Europe, Czech Republic, Brno
Posts: 332
Reproducible outages in EPG in part of DVB-T multiplex

Hello, I have recently switched from analog TV device to DVB-T one, as far analog TV is being turned off gradually in my country.
I have noticed at one of program multiplex, that 2 of multiplex programs have very big holes in EPG program list items.
These holes are totally reproducible, i.e if I delete EPG list and reload it, I got the exactly same result as before.
Software shows at signal level indicator full signal level, with no visible disturbances in signal quality.

Could it be caused by signal errors ? I ask because of I would guess signall errors as random phenomena should cause random EPG list outages.

I use Leadtek DTV DONGLE GOLD - USB2, with Winfast PVR2 software ( both SW and drivers as last versions ).
I live in big city with local DVB-T broadcasting. I use room active antenne with 35-40 dB gain.
__________________
Vista64 Premium SP2 / C2D E4700 2.6GHz/ 6GB RAM/ Intel GMA 3100 / DTV Leadtek DONGLE GOLD USB2 /
focused to DVB-T MPEG2 PS capture -> ProjectX -> M2V/MP2 -> MeGUI/AVS -> MP4[AVC/AAC]

Last edited by Poutnik; 10th August 2009 at 06:16. Reason: rearranging
Poutnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2009, 13:40   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,907
Probably the software's EPG parser is broken. Try something else to parse it.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2009, 17:13   #3  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,765
Are you sure it's YOUR problem and not related to the sender? You may ask your neighbours, friends if they experienced the same issue ...

The infancy of a technology is always problematic ...

Last edited by Ghitulescu; 10th August 2009 at 19:09.
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2009, 19:20   #4  |  Link
Poutnik
Useless idea generator
 
Poutnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Europe, Czech Republic, Brno
Posts: 332
I have tried ProgDVB 6.11.7.0, and even if I have not made it to fully run yet, it provides full EPG program list.

So, neuron2 is probably right about EPG parsing problems with Winfast PVR2.
Note that my native language ( czech ) can make parsing troubles by diacritics.....
__________________
Vista64 Premium SP2 / C2D E4700 2.6GHz/ 6GB RAM/ Intel GMA 3100 / DTV Leadtek DONGLE GOLD USB2 /
focused to DVB-T MPEG2 PS capture -> ProjectX -> M2V/MP2 -> MeGUI/AVS -> MP4[AVC/AAC]
Poutnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 06:57   #5  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,765
I live in Germany and I do not use SW solutions to DVB-T but a Topfield. If I click EPG then the data fills the screen randomly, eg 20:15 Movie 1, 23:45 Movie 3, 22:30 Movie 2 - after completion I'll have them however in the correct order. So if the EPG parser is not capable of rearanging them in order (Movie 1, 2 3) then you'll have these gaps. I tested myself AltDVB, ProgDVB (and another one I don't remember its name) and had no problems, therefore I assumed it must be a problem with your sender.
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 14:15   #6  |  Link
Poutnik
Useless idea generator
 
Poutnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Europe, Czech Republic, Brno
Posts: 332
I may was not clear enough.
My DVB-T device vendor SW - Winfast PVR2 by Leadtek is not parsing EPG correctly, but ProgDVB performs well.
So it seems it is sent OK, but winFast has problems with it.
Unfortunately, ProgDVB does not play TV well for me yet.
__________________
Vista64 Premium SP2 / C2D E4700 2.6GHz/ 6GB RAM/ Intel GMA 3100 / DTV Leadtek DONGLE GOLD USB2 /
focused to DVB-T MPEG2 PS capture -> ProjectX -> M2V/MP2 -> MeGUI/AVS -> MP4[AVC/AAC]

Last edited by Poutnik; 11th August 2009 at 14:22. Reason: correction
Poutnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 15:20   #7  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,765
Try then alternative softwares (drivers) or buy yourself a PVR, I find the latter much convenient than DVB-T on PC.

Or ask LeadTek for updates, you're entitled to if you've legally bought the device.
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 17:11   #8  |  Link
Poutnik
Useless idea generator
 
Poutnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Europe, Czech Republic, Brno
Posts: 332
Interesting point is, that the other Winfast user, living in the same place, has no problem with EPG for given channels....

so, it seems different possible reasons are likely to exclude each other....

Well, I am a fun of PC processing of TV programs.
__________________
Vista64 Premium SP2 / C2D E4700 2.6GHz/ 6GB RAM/ Intel GMA 3100 / DTV Leadtek DONGLE GOLD USB2 /
focused to DVB-T MPEG2 PS capture -> ProjectX -> M2V/MP2 -> MeGUI/AVS -> MP4[AVC/AAC]

Last edited by Poutnik; 12th August 2009 at 16:04. Reason: rephrasing.
Poutnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
digital, dvb-t, epg, errors, signal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.