Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th April 2019, 17:13   #14801  |  Link
Bandits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Request explanation of the following audio output.

Audio_3_English DELAY -17ms.THD+AC3

Does the "DELAY -17ms" mean:

A delay of -17ms on the audio needs to be applied when remuxing?
A delay of -17ms was applied to the audio output and nothing has to be done when remuxing?

If the delay was applied to the audio output, is there a way to turn off the creation of the filename with "DELAY -17ms" in it? Even when I specify a filename for the output eac3to still changes it when it wants a DELAY in the filename.
__________________
Blu-Ray Ripper 0.111
Bandits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2019, 22:59   #14802  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandits View Post
Does the "DELAY -17ms" mean:

A delay of -17ms on the audio needs to be applied when remuxing
eac3to can't apply delay's to thd streams.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2019, 19:12   #14803  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 658
Only know that dont understand nothing ^^

Hi, I am converting audio between NTSC and FILM and I noticed that the final result, in duration, is distinctive to the expected one.

For example, starting with an audio of the following characteristics:

Duration: 24 min 37 sec 684 ms
Origin: NTSC
Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Bitdepth: 32 float

The conversion factor gives me a samplerate change of 95904.096.

When truncating this amount, in audition change the sampling rate to 95904 and the result is an audio with the following duration: 24 min 39 sec 163 ms

If I use the amount 95905, I get: 24 min 39 sec 147 ms which is approximated to that obtained with eac3to being 146 ms.

I can understand that we are using a multiplo of 5, for reasons that I do not understand, since I have made a conversion table, and this is the only conversion along with PAL to FILM, which disagree with the operations made from another editor. In the latter case, the conversion factor is 92067,932, which must be rounded to 92068 to obtain the expected value. This rounding I can understand but the previous one seems to me that rounding to 95905 is too much.

__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 02:26   #14804  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,663
Only can confirm your data:

The FILM -> NTSC conversion, with %_.wav -24.000 -changeTo23.976, over 1477.684 seconds wav output 1479.147 seconds when must be 1479.162
There are a error of 15 ms, all other conversions work fine.

You can use -r8brain parameter to obtain a exact output instead use the default ssrc routines.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 19th April 2019 at 02:29.
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 09:52   #14805  |  Link
rco133
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
Hi.

I have just installed a new PC, and am quite puzzled by how eac3to is reacting.

For some reason eac3to is now 2-3 times slower at demuxing than it is on my old system.

Demuxing a bluray on old system takes for example 9 minutes.

Demuxing the same bluray on the new system takes 20-30 minutes.

I am using the same command line on both systems, and have tried to use both HDD and SSD on both systems. I have not been able to find anything that makes the new system demux as fast as the new one though.

I have simply copied the eac3to folder from the old system to the new one. so there shouldn't be any changes in the installation.

I have also tried to do the demux through MeGUI, but I think it also uses eac3to, and is just as slow.

Old system is an 8 core i7 6900k and new one is 16 core i9 9960x.

Any ideas as to what might cause this slowdown?

Thanks in advance.

rco133
rco133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2019, 09:52   #14806  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 658
Ok, thanks Tebasuna51 for the workaround.
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 12:45   #14807  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 658
Hi again, I am trying use this line command in batch file: "-24.000 -changeTo23.976 -down32 -normalize -resampleTo48000 -r8brain", but process stop (blocked or paused) when *.pass1 file reach 1 GB.

Why this limitation?

Source file:

Origin: NTSC
Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Bitdepth: 32 float
Size: 3GB


Batch file:

Code:
@echo off
Title NTSC to FILM
COLOR A8

set "eac3to=C:\Portables\MeGUI\tools\eac3to\eac3to.exe" rem Put you directory for eac3to

md %~dp0Completed

for %%@ in (*.wav) do (

	"%eac3to%" "%%@" "%%~dpn@_FILM.wav" -24.000 -changeTo23.976 -down32 -normalize -resampleTo48000 -r8brain -log=NUL
	move "%%@" "%~dp0Completed" /Y
)

pause&exit
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite

Last edited by Overdrive80; 20th April 2019 at 12:55.
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 14:01   #14808  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 908
Aside from diagnostics working with blurays,etc.
Is there any advantage to using eac3to over FFMPEG for transcoding BluRay audio (THD/DTSHDMA/etc) to something else?

I notice that FFMPEG won't do stats about gaps like eac3to does.
But, FFMPEG is more friendly for updates.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 16:20   #14809  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdrive80 View Post
Hi again, I am trying use this line command in batch file: "-24.000 -changeTo23.976 -down32 -normalize -resampleTo48000 -r8brain", but process stop (blocked or paused) when *.pass1 file reach 1 GB.
I don't know what is the problem.

The process work without -normalize?

Maybe is not necesary at all or can be do in a second separate pass, now you force to do the resample for -changeTo23.976 and the -resampleTo48000 two times, in pass1 and in pass2.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 16:22   #14810  |  Link
Bandits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rco133 View Post
Hi.

I have just installed a new PC, and am quite puzzled by how eac3to is reacting.

For some reason eac3to is now 2-3 times slower at demuxing than it is on my old system.

Demuxing a bluray on old system takes for example 9 minutes.

Demuxing the same bluray on the new system takes 20-30 minutes.

I am using the same command line on both systems, and have tried to use both HDD and SSD on both systems. I have not been able to find anything that makes the new system demux as fast as the new one though.

I have simply copied the eac3to folder from the old system to the new one. so there shouldn't be any changes in the installation.

I have also tried to do the demux through MeGUI, but I think it also uses eac3to, and is just as slow.

Old system is an 8 core i7 6900k and new one is 16 core i9 9960x.

Any ideas as to what might cause this slowdown?

Thanks in advance.

rco133
Are you demuxing straight from the Blu-Ray? If you are, are you using the same Blu-Ray drive?

Riplock is a drive function that can slow your reading of video files. Ensure your drive does not use Riplock.
__________________
Blu-Ray Ripper 0.111
Bandits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 16:38   #14811  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,663
@Sparktank
- Decode audio from THD/DTSHDMA/etc can be do with ffmpeg, more actualized than eac3to decoder dll's.

- Also ffmpeg have the best free AC3 encoder or the output can be piped to other free encoders like qaac.

- But I don't know how ffmpeg can manage audio from multiple m2ts sources like can be present in BD's.
Like you say eac3to can manage gaps/overlaps in the best know way.
By the moment I extract the audio tracks from BD's with eac3to (gui's UsEac3to or MeGUI) and recode after to desired format with ffmpeg or qaac (gui's UsEac3to, MeGUI or BeHappy).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2019, 19:08   #14812  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I don't know what is the problem.

The process work without -normalize?

Maybe is not necesary at all or can be do in a second separate pass, now you force to do the resample for -changeTo23.976 and the -resampleTo48000 two times, in pass1 and in pass2.
Tested separating process and same result. New script:

Code:
@echo off
Title NTSC to FILM
COLOR A8

IF NOT EXIST "%~dp0Completados" (md "%~dp0Completados")

set "eac3to=C:\Users\Isra-PC\Desktop\eac3to\eac3to.exe" rem Put you directory for eac3to

for %%@ in (*.wav) do (
	::First pass, conversion
	"%eac3to%" "%%@" "%temp%\temp.wav" -24.000 -changeTo23.976 -resampleTo48000 -down32 -r8brain -log=NUL

	::Two pass, normalization
	"%eac3to%" "%temp%\temp.wav" "%%~dpn@_FILM.wav" -normalize -down32 -log=NUL

	::Remove temps files
	del "%temp%\temp.wav"

	::Move originals to completed
	move "%%@" "%~dp0Completados"
)

pause&exit
Will try ffmpeg:

Code:
"%ffmpeg%" -hide_banner -nostdin -y -channel_layout stereo -i "%input%" -filter:a "atempo=0.9990009" -c:a pcm_f32le -ar 48000 -vn -sn "%temp%\temp.wav"
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite

Last edited by Overdrive80; 21st April 2019 at 01:56.
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2019, 14:34   #14813  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
If anyone wants to get SurCode DTS Encoder working on Windows 10 this is how it goes:

1) Get the "SurCode DVD-DTS Professional" Setup, you can buy it at https://www.minnetonkaaudioshop.com/...3001-00106-000
2) Get "UniExtract" from https://www.legroom.net/software/uniextract (you want the "UniExtract Binary Archive" which is the "portable" version)
3) Start UniExtract.exe and select the Data1.cab from the "SurCode DVD-DTS Professional" zip. - It will extract the contents into a directory called "data1".
4) Create a directory called "Minnetonka Audio Software" inside "C:\Program Files (x86)"
5) Copy or Move directory "data1" into "C:\Program Files (x86)\Minnetonka Audio Software"
6) Rename directory "C:\Program Files (x86)\Minnetonka Audio Software\data1" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS"
7) Create a new text document on your Desktop or somewhere else and rename the file "install.reg". Make sure it is not called "install.reg.txt" (show file-extensions). It should have a green-ish icon in front of the filename.
8) Copy&Paste the text from the quote-block below into that "install.reg" file.
9) Double-click the "install.reg" file and let Windows import the Registry settings.
10) run eac3to.exe -test and you should have SurCode support.
11) Activate your copy of "SurCode DVD-DTS Professional".

Quote:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\surcodedvd.exe]
"Path"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Minnetonka Audio Software\\SurCode DVD-DTS"
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Minnetonka Audio Software\\SurCode DVD-DTS\\surcodedvd.exe"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Minnetonka Audio Software]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS]
"Home"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Minnetonka Audio Software\\SurCode DVD-DTS"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS\1.0.10]
Q: Why?
A: Because the Installer used by Minnetonka for the SurCode DVD-DTS Encoder is so old it doesn't run on Windows 10 (even though it just copies files from A to B and writes some Registry values, nothing fancy).

Q: Is this piracy?
A: No. We just eliminate that crappy Installer. Activation of the product is done by the surcodedvd.exe itself.

Q: But I can use the encoder already without activating it. So this is piracy?
A: Congratulations, you have found the trial period :)

Last edited by an3k; 21st April 2019 at 14:41.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2019, 18:07   #14814  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 658
Thanks for you tip, for complete it:

Code:
@echo off
Title Install SurCode
Color E0
	
	goto check_Permissions

:check_Permissions
    echo Administrative permissions required. Detecting permissions...

    net session >nul 2>&1
    if %errorLevel% == 0 (
        goto main
    ) else (
		ECHO.
        ECHO. Failure: Current permissions inadequate. & ECHO.
		ECHO.  Press key for trying again.
		pause>nul&exit
    )
	
	
:main
	ECHO The process has begin...

	::Set paths to your files.
	set "uniExtract=%~dp0uniextract161_noinst\UniExtract.exe" 
	set "dataCab=%~dp0Surcode DVD Pro DTS Encoder v1.0.29\Data1.cab" 

	::Extract the content
	IF EXIST "%~dp0SurCode DVD-DTS" (
		DEL "%~dp0SurCode DVD-DTS" /Q /F 
	)

	"%UniExtract%" "%dataCab%" "%~dp0SurCode DVD-DTS" 
	
	::Create folder system
	IF NOT EXIST "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Minnetonka Audio Software" md "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Minnetonka Audio Software"

	::Move folder extracted to system
	robocopy "%~dp0SurCode DVD-DTS" "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS" /E /njh /njs /ndl /nc /ns >nul
	
	::Install key registry
	reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\surcodedvd.exe" /ve /t REG_SZ /d "C:\Program Files (x86)\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS\surcodedvd.exe" /f >nul
	reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\surcodedvd.exe" /v "Path" /t REG_SZ /d "C:\Program Files (x86)\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS" /f >nul
	reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS" /v "Home" /t REG_SZ /d "C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Minnetonka Audio Software\\SurCode DVD-DTS" /f >nul
	reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Minnetonka Audio Software\SurCode DVD-DTS\1.0.10" /ve /t REG_SZ /f >nul
	
	cls&ECHO The process has ended.
	pause>nul&exit
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2019, 22:13   #14815  |  Link
rco133
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandits View Post
Are you demuxing straight from the Blu-Ray? If you are, are you using the same Blu-Ray drive?

Riplock is a drive function that can slow your reading of video files. Ensure your drive does not use Riplock.
No, I am demuxing from SSD drive.

What I have found is that if I use megui and only select the tracks that I want, instead of using -demux directly with eac3to it goes much faster. Pretty much 4-5 times faster than if I extract all tracks.

If I use tsmuxer to extract all tracks, it takes half the time that it takes with eac3to.

I have no explanation, other then it must be something about how eac3to writes stuff to disk, which gives a big negative impact on Windows 10 compared to Windows 7. Other wise I have no explanation for what I am seing.

Anyway, I will just use megui and select the few tracks that I need, which will make the process much shorter, eventhough it also uses eac3to.

rco133
rco133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2019, 22:21   #14816  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by rco133 View Post
Anyway, I will just use megui and select the few tracks that I need, which will make the process much shorter, eventhough it also uses eac3to.

rco133
When MeGUI is using eac3to to demux the audio tracks you can open the task manager, go to "Processes" (the first tab), right-click onto the column header (Name, Status, CPU, etc.) and enable "command line". Go to the eac3to process launched by MeGUI and check the actual command line eac3to is invoked with. Maybe this gives a hint.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2019, 00:05   #14817  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Perhaps it's just me, but I seem to be unable to find a way to automate converting DTS-HD audio tracks from MKV files (or better said, replacing the DTS-HD tracks with the core DTS tracks).

Currently, I'm using gMKVExtractGUI to extract the DTS-HD audio track from each file, then I extract the core DTS track using eac3to and finally I use MKVToolnix to replace the DTS-HD track with the core DTS track.

For dozens of files, that's a lot of work. Surely there's a way to automate the process, but for the moment I'm at a loss how to automate the process. I'm sure using eac3to and MKVToolnix there must be some way to script the entire process...
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2019, 00:15   #14818  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
mkvmerge has a --reduce-to-core option.
https://mkvtoolnix.download/doc/mkvmerge.html

or ffmpeg dca_core bitstream filter
https://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-bitstream-...l#dca_005fcore

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 27th April 2019 at 00:18.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2019, 23:06   #14819  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
mkvmerge has a --reduce-to-core option.
https://mkvtoolnix.download/doc/mkvmerge.html
Thanks for the tip, now I'll have to figure out how to automate the process. Unfortunately, it's not as easy as "mkvmerge --reduce-to-core *.mkv *-DTS.mkv" or something like that :P
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2019, 20:42   #14820  |  Link
Vicio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Hi Guys, I'm having a question regarding audio conversion 7.1 (DTS MA-HD / TrueHD) to 5.1 AC3.
I was reading this tutorial: https://bodoicuho.ucoz.ru/ and I noticed that the conversion process for AC3 audios is somewhat laborious, needing to convert it to .w64 with eac3to and then using Sound Forge to get the RMS value from the central band and finally convert it for Dolby Digital.

However this method seems to me a bit old and searching here I came across this other method (which seems to me simpler and more current) of @tebasuna51: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=175044

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...ostcount=14689

Where it recommends using the Megui for this purpose, the doubt is even with the Megui still need to convert the audio to .w64 and do the Sound Forge step to get the RMS value?

Below I'll be leaving two samples of two audios 7.1.
https://send.firefox.com/download/bf...I8w70DP2CMUTCA

I hope I have managed to express myself and apologize for my English, I am using a translator.
Vicio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.