Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th February 2019, 02:40   #14761  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,504
Remap? Maybe you need downmix.

Try -downstereo

Put the log to know the input layer and formats.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2019, 00:40   #14762  |  Link
Masutin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Correction: the audio is 3.1 - Front & Side L R. I decoded part of it and found the L voice channel (must be channel 0) silent. I did come across a 2.0 mix of this audio, it had voice in one channel. Downmixing as it is probably won't do. How do I go about mixing or remapping this? Other than decoding to WAVs and replacing the silent channel. Mono? I didn't keep the log and the source AC3 but if you think it can help I'll get it.

Last edited by Masutin; 12th February 2019 at 01:45. Reason: Correction
Masutin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2019, 09:48   #14763  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,504
3.1 with FL channel silent?
Is strange, without a sample I don't know the problem.

BTW eac3to have a way to remap channels, for instance:

eac3to input output -1,2,0,3

that send the input FL channel (0) to FC channel (3) in output
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2019, 11:07   #14764  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
madshi

If I use VLC 228 or lower, then there are no errors in the recorded files.
But if I use VLC 306 or higher, then there are a lot of errors in the recorded files ([v01] Video overlaps for 7 frames at playtime 0:01:30. <WARNING>).

Could you explain the nature of these errors?
Are these realy errors in the records or is this an incorrect work of the eac3to?

Here are two videos recorded in 228 and 306

228 https://yadi.sk/i/TATk2aBmExgHcw

306 https://yadi.sk/i/ELXZ03Jk3hU-vQ
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 21:32   #14765  |  Link
Masutin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Tebasuna, gracias! Do I need anything more to successfully apply -1,2,0,3? I get "Command line parameter "1,2,0,3" is unknown."
Masutin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2019, 11:48   #14766  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,504
@Masutin

Sorry, seems the remap parameter need at least 6 channel even if source have only 4:

eac3to input output -1,2,0,3,4,5

tested over a 3.1 input.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2019, 16:08   #14767  |  Link
Masutin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Hola, Tebasuna! If I can trouble you again. I did what I should have and decoded the original 3.1 into C L R BC. C (ch. 2?) is the only voice channel. To get voice in both fronts, can you suggest how to mix or remap this? Sorry for misleading, the wrong details were from the encode.
Masutin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2019, 19:15   #14768  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,504
If you decode a source like:
Quote:
eac3to v3.34
command line: eac3to 4a310.ac3 4a310.ac3_.wavs
----------------------------------------------
AC3, 3/1 channels, 0:00:20, 224kbps, 48kHz
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
Writing WAVs...
Creating file "D:\tmp\4a310.ac3_.L.wav"...
Creating file "D:\tmp\4a310.ac3_.R.wav"...
Creating file "D:\tmp\4a310.ac3_.C.wav"...
Creating file "D:\tmp\4a310.ac3_.BC.wav"...
eac3to processing took 1 second.
Done.
and the ..._.C.wav is the only voice channel I recommend you use:

eac3to input output.ac3 -downStereo -normalize

Or other output format (AAC recommended for stereo)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2019, 19:32   #14769  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,700
A warning, as people still seem to be posting directly to threads and may not be aware:

It appears that the forum may have been hacked. There is a suspicious "test" announcement, apparently from tebasuna51 (but probably not), parts of the forum are not working, and there appear to be some malicious javascript files.

I'm not speaking in any official capacity here, but I would recommend, at the very least, NOT entering your password anywhere on Doom9 for the time being.

Please refer to this post: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...wpost&t=176128

tebasuna51, as you seem to have posted recently to this thread in particular, can you enlighten us?
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2019, 10:23   #14770  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Just a quick question. When extracting DTS-MA audio from an m2ts stream, giving a file a .dts extension will yield the same result as putting .dtshd, right? Whereas '.dts -core' would just get the old DTS core.

The 2 resultant streams look the same to me in tsMuxer (but you never know).
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2019, 14:47   #14771  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,504
Yes, a .dts can be a standard CBR DTS or a VBR DTS-HD (MasterAudio or HighResolution).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2019, 14:55   #14772  |  Link
Masutin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Tebasuna, thanks again! Converting 3.1 (voice channel C) to 2.0 works! Voice in both channels! One last question on this. When recoding as 3.1, can there be a way to make QAAC preserve the order as L C R BC? A few remapping sequences I've tried produce only FL FR SL SR. Probably remapping won't help here.
Masutin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2019, 16:24   #14773  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Yes, a .dts can be a standard CBR DTS or a VBR DTS-HD (MasterAudio or HighResolution).
Thanks! (Just wanted to make sure it wasn't some header tricking me or something)

P.S. Glad to see you post again! Puts the matter of your allegedly compromised account at rest (see above).
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2019, 21:54   #14774  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masutin View Post
Tebasuna, thanks again! Converting 3.1 (voice channel C) to 2.0 works! Voice in both channels! One last question on this. When recoding as 3.1, can there be a way to make QAAC preserve the order as L C R BC? A few remapping sequences I've tried produce only FL FR SL SR. Probably remapping won't help here.
You dont need remap, all must be automatic.
A 3.1 with WAV order FL,FR,FC,BC can be converted to AAC with qaac to:

LC 48000Hz 4.0 (C L R Cs) -- 128,144,160,192,224,256,288,320,384,448,512,576,640 (bitrates)

qaac -v 128 --adts -o outLC128.aac inFL_FR_FC_BC.wav
work fine

but not to HE than only support:

HE 48000Hz 4.0 (L R Ls Rs) -- 64,80,96,112,128,160

qaac -v 128 --he --adts -o outHE128.aac inFL_FR_FC_BC.wav
ERROR: Channel layout not supported

Run: qaac --formats

to know the formats allowed
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 11:26   #14775  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Hmm, eac3to marks a video at 1080i50. That's not true interlaced, right? (So, no need to give it 'InputType=0' in QTGMC, right?) And when I export it to .mkv, it just says 25fps.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 11:56   #14776  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,687
Why would that not be true interlaced? Its used all over europe in interlaced broadcasts.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:07   #14777  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Why would that not be true interlaced? Its used all over europe in interlaced broadcasts.
Because there are different kinds of 1080i. Pay particular attention to this sentence: "However, when 1080p material is captured at 25 or 30 frames/second, it is converted to 1080i at 50 or 60 fields/second, respectively, for processing or broadcasting." The blu-ray I am talking about appears to be 'pseudo-interlaced' like that (aka, no different top- and bottom field).

And since eac3to also just exports it to a 25fps stream, I am strengthened in my belief it's just 'fake' interlaced.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:10   #14778  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,687
50 fields interlaced makes 25 frames per second, thats how all PAL interlaced streams look. There is no real way to know without visual inspection of the footage. 1080i50 could be interlaced, or it could be fake-interlaced. The number alone tells you nothing.
Also, you gave no context that its even from a Blu-ray. But even then, those can also contain true interlaced streams.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:10   #14779  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Because there are different kinds of 1080i. Pay particular attention to this sentence: "However, when 1080p material is captured at 25 or 30 frames/second, it is converted to 1080i at 50 or 60 fields/second, respectively, for processing or broadcasting." The blu-ray I am talking about appears to be 'pseudo-interlaced' like that (aka, no different top- and bottom field).

And since eac3to also just exports it to a 25fps stream, I am strengthened in my belief it's just 'fake' interlaced.
How would we know when you don't provide any sample.

Also I'm not sure what you expect from running QTGMC "without 'InputType=0'" (which is the same as running it with that parameter as that's the default value) on progressive content.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2019, 12:18   #14780  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Well, here's a sample
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!

Last edited by asarian; 5th March 2019 at 12:27. Reason: Wrong sample
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.