Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th June 2018, 00:10   #51541  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Ah I see, yes the GT740 is a very weak card. Hmm.. you might need to stick to the defaults for 50 fps, maybe try Spline or Lanczos 3 for chroma and image upscaling.
I like Error Diffusion 2 for dithering a lot, but when I moved to Ordered Dithering it seemed to be able to handle both Jinc and super-xbr, but wouldn't go any higher than the latter.
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 00:29   #51542  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 119
Same here. I am using a AMD RX 480 with Ordered Dithering with NGU. Error Diffusion 2 is a bit too heavy for this graphics card. I see no difference between Error Diffusion 2 and Ordered Dithering on my projector screen.

Last edited by HillieSan; 27th June 2018 at 00:49.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 00:43   #51543  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 119
FYI, this week I have bought a 3D transmitter and 3 glasses for my JVC X5000 projector. It was a disaster to get the 3D mode of the projector working with my RX 480. Every time when I started a 3D move, the screen went black or Windows 10 switched to the wrong resolution. All applications (MPC-BE, MPC-HC, PowerDVD) went crazy. I had to reset my PC many times. After some time, I discovered that the dual monitor configuration did not work well. My projector and TV were using two different resolutions. After setting both screens to 1080 (3D recommended), it worked well. The 3D performance is very good.

PS. I am not sure, but I believe this dual screen performance problem is fixed for the RX 580. Can anyone confirm this?

Last edited by HillieSan; 27th June 2018 at 00:51.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 01:15   #51544  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
FYI new nvidia driver 398.36 released.
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 01:21   #51545  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,359
rx 480 and rx 580 are identical cards.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 03:26   #51546  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post
FYI new nvidia driver 398.36 released.
Not surprisingly has the same issues with custom resolutions and bit depth as the previous ones.

Last edited by ryrynz; 27th June 2018 at 03:28.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 07:37   #51547  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Not surprisingly has the same issues with custom resolutions and bit depth as the previous ones.
But yet you read here with people saying I just use custom res and they say they are using the latest drivers.

I don't get this bit tbh. You would think that whatever card you had, it either works or not, why for some I do not know.
madjock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 07:45   #51548  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,026
Had some strange stuff happen today, like a 25Hz mode pop up, just not save, 23 custom res no longer says 23 but 24 in the control panel.
Used DDU and went back to 385.28 which is just the least broken.
Custom res is also finicky with options, I think just changing the power profile made me have to save the custom res again..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 10:38   #51549  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Had some strange stuff happen today, like a 25Hz mode pop up, just not save, 23 custom res no longer says 23 but 24 in the control panel.
Used DDU and went back to 385.28 which is just the least broken.
Custom res is also finicky with options, I think just changing the power profile made me have to save the custom res again..
I don't think I have ever had any luck using 23, well maybe once when I had 23 and 24 at one point, I'm sure if you change a 24 to a 23 it vanishes as well. I just use a 24 one and set it up with that.

I am now having synch problems in Kodi after going back to a fresh install of Windows, I was using the Insider builds and they were just too buggy especially the last one. Unsure whats going on and it s seems random, always seems to be something to annoy me haha.
madjock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 11:05   #51550  |  Link
Crimson Wolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 42
A while back I always had issues with custom res, and stopped using it. Once madshi stated nvidia would be releasing a new driver which would fix the 23.976hz issue, I removed all traces of custom res, used DDU, and just tried the default 23hz 12-bit full-RGB. Now my frame drop is days or never. I never have to touch custom again. I do not get any issues anymore.
Crimson Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 11:10   #51551  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,113
You say that latest nvidia drivers support 23.976 "from box" ??
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 11:10   #51552  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson Wolf View Post
A while back I always had issues with custom res, and stopped using it. Once madshi stated nvidia would be releasing a new driver which would fix the 23.976hz issue, I removed all traces of custom res, used DDU, and just tried the default 23hz 12-bit full-RGB. Now my frame drop is days or never. I never have to touch custom again. I do not get any issues anymore.
I had hoped for the same, but unsure if it is because I bitstream, even though yes the composition rate was now at 23.976, it was not allowing for the HDMI audio clock (I think thats whats happening), so was no better off.
madjock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 12:21   #51553  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
You say that latest nvidia drivers support 23.976 "from box" ??
Well they definitely changed something in last two drivers as the composition rate is sat at 23.976 now.

398.36 Standard

https://postimg.cc/image/lmhzclp5n/

This is the latest 398.36 and as can be seen, no custom created and it runs at 23.976, but personally it is not working for me as the frame repeats can be bettered with older drivers and custom res, I did get lucky and created one. I found I had to create and not modify and save. Then modify, I tried a movie and it was no different from initial install. I then looked at the custom I created and it had went back to Automatic, so its not saving modified settings.


390.77 Standard

https://postimg.cc/image/wnq8hfarx/

As can be seen the defualt is 23.970

390.77 Custom

https://postimg.cc/image/cgcsp75lp/

What I need to use and get a custom res that sticks and a good frame repeat number.

Last edited by madjock; 27th June 2018 at 12:36. Reason: spelling
madjock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 12:25   #51554  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 698
if NVIDA now supports native 23,976 can someone check to see if they've fixed the MVC 3D dropped frames, if they fix this I might switch to my 1050 card as it should be better than my RX 460
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 12:40   #51555  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
if NVIDA now supports native 23,976 can someone check to see if they've fixed the MVC 3D dropped frames, if they fix this I might switch to my 1050 card as it should be better than my RX 460
I think Manni tried the previous drivers that had this fix, he said there was an improvement in the 3D side as well. I assume it is carried across to the latest driver.

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...55#post1843855

- 3D (1080p23FP) timings improved (same as 397.93, around 13-14min for a frame repeat vs every 3min with any of the former drivers)
madjock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 12:54   #51556  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
I think Manni tried the previous drivers that had this fix, he said there was an improvement in the 3D side as well. I assume it is carried across to the latest driver.

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...55#post1843855

- 3D (1080p23FP) timings improved (same as 397.93, around 13-14min for a frame repeat vs every 3min with any of the former drivers)

An improvement but sadly i cant deal with any skips at all, just ruins the immersion for me with 3D, i'll stick with my RX for now then.

Cheers.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 14:43   #51557  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirSwede View Post
Yeah, but 50 fps wouldn't accept those recommendations unfortunately.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Ah I see, yes the GT740 is a very weak card. Hmm.. you might need to stick to the defaults for 50 fps, maybe try Spline or Lanczos 3 for chroma and image upscaling.
I meant that it wouldn't do the previous recommendations you gave me for scaling or running 25 fps. It will do Jinc or super-xbr for 50 fps however, but not NGU or Error Diffusion.

Is the sharpness shown in the green sharpness bar, for super-xbr, the sharpness set to 100?

Last edited by SirSwede; 27th June 2018 at 16:48.
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 17:43   #51558  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirSwede View Post
I meant that it wouldn't do the previous recommendations you gave me for scaling or running 25 fps. It will do Jinc or super-xbr for 50 fps however, but not NGU or Error Diffusion.

Is the sharpness shown in the green sharpness bar, for super-xbr, the sharpness set to 100?
Try super-xbr100 in both cases. It is a little faster than Jinc and sharper. If not, drop down to Lanczos3 + AR. super-xbr150 is a lot sharper, but it will produce quite a bit more ringing.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 19:18   #51559  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
rx 480 and rx 580 are identical cards.
They are not 100% identical. The RX 580 fixed a performance issue with multi-monitor. The RX 580 has some more refinements on 14 nm process enabling better overclocking and better stability at a high clock speed. Overall the RX 580 is 10% faster than the RX 480. The RX 580 is a revision of the RX 480 and AMD applied rebranding.

Last edited by HillieSan; 28th June 2018 at 14:50.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2018, 19:36   #51560  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 3
A few questions

HI, new to Madvr, my usage is 1080p Blu-ray backups and 4k hdr backups

the reason for me using madvr is for the 4k HDR passthrough

my question is, if using madvr for 4k hdr am I right in thinking that a lot of processing is happening to the video ?, surely 4k video don't need any processing as its high resolution and bit rate already, and is it actualy degrading it in any way by using Madvr for 4k ??


or am I getting it wrong and madvr makes 4k even better ??


if madvr don't make 4k any better, would a option to turn of all prossesing and passthrough video and HDR to tv ??


should I be using madvr if I only ever watch 1080p and 4k, but I need HDR passthrough to TV

Thanks
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.