Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th April 2013, 02:55   #1  |  Link
minaust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 185
x264 - 8-bit vs 10-bit?

Howdy everybody...

I've done a bit of homework here as to the pros and cons of 8-bit versus 10-bit encoding, and here are my assumptions:

1. 10-bit encodes will play only on my PC. Nowhere else.
2. 10-bit encodes don't have a banding problem endemic to the 8-bit encoder.

As to my needs, 1 is no problem as I use my PC as a video jukebox, and I haven't encountered 2 (yet). Is there any reason to NOT switch to 10-bit x264? Are my assumptions correct? Any more pros or cons I should know about?

Thanks for any replies.
minaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 03:19   #2  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,360
Those are the basics but also:
Pro: 10-bit is higher quality (not just the improvement in banding) at the same bitrate.
Con: 10-bit encodes a bit slower and takes more CPU power to play.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 06:42   #3  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 638
In my opinion, bigger 10bit encoderīs trouble is compatibility. If this isnt trouble then x264 10bit is your best choice.
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 07:57   #4  |  Link
minaust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Those are the basics but also:
Pro: 10-bit is higher quality (not just the improvement in banding) at the same bitrate.
Con: 10-bit encodes a bit slower and takes more CPU power to play.
I ran a test - I grabbed my nearest DVD and ripped a trailer. Basic processing: Autoceop, resize to 852x364, removegrain, then sharpen a little.

10-bit - 78 fps.
8-bit with same settings - 93 fps.

10-bit is indeed slower, but not unacceptably so. Now on my old 'puter , an old 2.8ghz P4 it would be a big deal.

Playback is with Media Player Classic HC using MADVR as the renderer. Will 10-bit use more CPU, GPU, or both? Not that it really matters - when I'm doing an encode or playing back it's typically the only thing going on. Only my CPU fan will care.
minaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 08:13   #5  |  Link
minaust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdrive80 View Post
In my opinion, bigger 10bit encoderīs trouble is compatibility. If this isnt trouble then x264 10bit is your best choice.
Thank you gentlemen. You've sold me on 10-bit builds of x264 henceforth.



On the other hand, now I gotta re-rip my whole inventory....
minaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 08:30   #6  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by minaust View Post
On the other hand, now I gotta re-rip my whole inventory....
Does your whole inventory suffers from visible deficiencies like banding? Otherwise it's pretty pointless to re-encode dozens of DVD when existing 8-bit quality pleases one's eyes enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by minaust View Post
Will 10-bit use more CPU, GPU, or both?
Mainly CPU because 10-bit decoding is not possible with current GPU. I'm not familiar with MadVR requirements for 10-bit post-processing though...
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 14:04   #7  |  Link
minaust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by kypec View Post
Does your whole inventory suffers from visible deficiencies like banding? Otherwise it's pretty pointless to re-encode dozens of DVD when existing 8-bit quality pleases one's eyes enough.
No, they suffer from a brain fart on my part. I accidentally formatted the external drive storing them. Fortunately my vidcaps were elsewhere.

Since I was already going to re-rip anyway.... Let's straighten out this 8/10-bit thingie...
minaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2013, 07:49   #8  |  Link
ChiDragon
Registered User
 
ChiDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 610
It is possible to "unformat" a drive if you haven't put any new files on it yet. Otherwise things get trickier.
ChiDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2013, 06:15   #9  |  Link
minaust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiDragon View Post
It is possible to "unformat" a drive if you haven't put any new files on it yet. Otherwise things get trickier.
I thought about that about 30 seconds too late... Ah well, nothing irreplaceable was lost. Just a bunch of re-ripping.

If my vidcaps has been on that drive.... I wouldn't be fit company for a while.
minaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
encoders, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.