Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th October 2016, 07:07   #25101  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
I am normally using AvsPmod for this purpose. It's a very handy tool for trying out scripts and see the result immediately.
Yes, thanks, I do have that but I've not tried it out yet.

BTW, I'm glad you mentioned about AVS script running BEFORE the IVTC! I did not know this because sometimes I want to add filters, but I want to do it AFTER the IVTC is done. Hmmm...

So what is with the 'r'? Where exactly do you put it. Say I wanted to use Sharpen(.3), where would I put the 'r'? Would I enter the text in the Avisynth code area of BDRB like this: 'r Sharpen(.3)'...?

Oh, also, would I need to add an 'r' before each line of script?

Last edited by Lathe; 26th October 2016 at 07:09.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 07:36   #25102  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,490
See changes.txt, and a few posts before:
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=25096

r:Sharpen(0.15)

Last edited by Sharc; 26th October 2016 at 07:56.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 08:40   #25103  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
See changes.txt, and a few posts before:
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=25096

r:Sharpen(0.15)
Yeah, I know Bro, but I'm afraid that was to confusing to me. Besides it just said add the 'letter'; it didn't show the exact syntax, or if it did I didn't see it.

So, thanks for not just throwing me the link that I just saw anyway 2 posts ago, but I appreciate you actually including the line of script so I could see how it looks.

I STILL don't know whether I have to add the 'r' to EACH line of code though... So, do I do it like this:

r:Sharpen()
r:deen()
r:Crop()

etc...?

Last edited by Lathe; 26th October 2016 at 08:42.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 12:20   #25104  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,490
How about making few quick tests yourself ???
Use one of your short mkv and see what you get in BD-RBs scripts. It takes you few minutes, often faster than posting back and forth.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 14:45   #25105  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Yeah, I know Bro, but I'm afraid that was to confusing to me. Besides it just said add the 'letter'; it didn't show the exact syntax, or if it did I didn't see it.

So, thanks for not just throwing me the link that I just saw anyway 2 posts ago, but I appreciate you actually including the line of script so I could see how it looks.

I STILL don't know whether I have to add the 'r' to EACH line of code though... So, do I do it like this:

r:Sharpen()
r:deen()
r:Crop()

etc...?
You add the prefix to any line to want to clarify -- so you may have one line with an "r:" prefix, another with a "i:r:" prefix, and another with none. The "r:" would be included with any line to which you want it to apply. "r:" just moves where the filter is placed in the AVS file. The fact that they are called prefixes means they go before the filter. But, of course, English isn't everyone's first language -- so I guess I could have made that clearer.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 26th October 2016 at 14:49.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 17:51   #25106  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
BTW, I'm glad you mentioned about AVS script running BEFORE the IVTC! I did not know this because sometimes I want to add filters, but I want to do it AFTER the IVTC is done.
Technically the IVTC procedure is part of the AVS script.

But, running filters after the IVTC is a good idea, mainly because there will be less frames to work with and, in theory, won't take as long. It is also possible that a filter could screw with IVTC frame detection.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 18:58   #25107  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Technically the IVTC procedure is part of the AVS script.

But, running filters after the IVTC is a good idea, mainly because there will be less frames to work with and, in theory, won't take as long. It is also possible that a filter could screw with IVTC frame detection.
Exactly. Most of the time you want filters to work on the progressive output, not the telecined source.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 01:04   #25108  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You add the prefix to any line to want to clarify -- so you may have one line with an "r:" prefix, another with a "i:r:" prefix, and another with none. The "r:" would be included with any line to which you want it to apply. "r:" just moves where the filter is placed in the AVS file. The fact that they are called prefixes means they go before the filter. But, of course, English isn't everyone's first language -- so I guess I could have made that clearer.
Thanks JD...

Okay, I will go back and read it VERY carefully; granted, I might have just quickly scanned through it. Maybe it DOES say there specifically to start a script line with the letter first and then a ':' immediately after it and then leave a space and then place your code...

But, despite Sharc's snarkiness, I AM glad that he brought this up because I was totally unaware of it...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 01:09   #25109  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Code:
July 8th, 2010
- Added an AVS filter editor to the SETUP dialog.  This
  will allow you to add AVS filters to files.  Note that
  bug reports WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED when filters are in
  use (as errors are almost always caused by the filter
  usage).  You can add "E:", "F:", "I:", or "P:" as a 
  prefix to a line added in the filter editor.  The 
  prefixes represent "Extras", "Feature", "Interlaced", 
  and "Progressive" respectively.  When specified, the 
  prefix will limit that filter to usage only when the 
  source to be encoded matches the prefix.  For example, 
  if specifying "E:filter1()" the filter "filter1()" 
  would only be applied to segments that are determined 
  to be extras.  Setting "e:i:filter2()" limits use of 
  "filter2()" to segments that are extras -- and are 
  also interlaced.
November 28th, 2011
- Added a new prefix for filter editing.  By adding
  the "r:" prefix, BD-RB will add the specified
  filter after the resizing stage (rather than the
  default of before).  Note: If using more than one 
  prefix, the "r:" must be the last in the series.
Also:

"a:" filter applies to the audio AVS
"m:" filter applies only to menus

Notes:

1. You can use either Upper or Lower case in the filter prefixes, it doesn't matter...
2. On a series disc, where there are multiple episodes -- don't use "F:" because it will only apply to the largest episode
Yep, you do indeed state it pretty clearly. My humble apologies for not reading it carefully...

Actually, and I hope I'm not being too impulsive AGAIN, but it appears in your examples above that there is NOT a space between the prefix letter & colon. It looks like it runs together. So, I'm glad you helped me clarify that.

Last edited by Lathe; 27th October 2016 at 01:13.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 02:42   #25110  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Yep, you do indeed state it pretty clearly. My humble apologies for not reading it carefully...

Actually, and I hope I'm not being too impulsive AGAIN, but it appears in your examples above that there is NOT a space between the prefix letter & colon. It looks like it runs together. So, I'm glad you helped me clarify that.
You can't have a space between the letter and the colon. If you do, BD-RB won't recognize it as a prefix, and you'll get an error when you try to encode.

I also think I left one out. You can use "s:" to apply a filter only to secondary video (such as the picture-in-picture commentaries).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 27th October 2016 at 02:44.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 07:13   #25111  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You can't have a space between the letter and the colon. If you do, BD-RB won't recognize it as a prefix, and you'll get an error when you try to encode.

I also think I left one out. You can use "s:" to apply a filter only to secondary video (such as the picture-in-picture commentaries).
I was referring to the space between the colon and the function r: Sharpen() That was my first impression, but according to your examples above, it appears that there is NO space between, so the correct way would be:

r:Sharpen()
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 08:04   #25112  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
....But, despite Sharc's snarkiness, I AM glad that he brought this up because I was totally unaware of it...
As a non-native English speaker I am always keen to add new words to my limited vocabulary.
So I asked Google Translator for translating "snarkiness" but it didn't find anything. Or did you mean "sharciness"? So, curious as I am, I probed further and eventually found the meaning of "snarky". Point taken, thanks! (Of course, I could also have posted asking you for help ).

Last edited by Sharc; 27th October 2016 at 08:12.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 08:46   #25113  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
As a non-native English speaker I am always keen to add new words to my limited vocabulary.
So I asked Google Translator for translating "snarkiness" but it didn't find anything. Or did you mean "sharciness"? So, curious as I am, I probed further and eventually found the meaning of "snarky". Point taken, thanks! (Of course, I could also have posted asking you for help ).
Well, well now... I do believe that there is hope for you yet Sharc...



... Wait a second... it just dawned on me that you are indeed STILL ripping on me you ^@@#*!! B@stard!

Last edited by Lathe; 27th October 2016 at 08:48.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 10:40   #25114  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Well, well now... I do believe that there is hope for you yet Sharc...



... Wait a second... it just dawned on me that you are indeed STILL ripping on me you ^@@#*!! B@stard!
Darn..., lost again in Google translations .... but I assume it's something positive.....

Last edited by Sharc; 27th October 2016 at 10:46.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 15:05   #25115  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,357
Yeah. He maybe he meant "bestard"!

"best" - of the highest quality, excellence, or standing

suffix "ard" - a suffix forming nouns that denote persons who regularly engage in an activity, or who are characterized in a certain way, as indicated by the stem; now usually pejorative

So he was saying you are a person who regularly engages in an activity of the highest quality. Oh... how it fills my heart.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 20:20   #25116  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yeah. He maybe he meant "bestard"!

"best" - of the highest quality, excellence, or standing

suffix "ard" - a suffix forming nouns that denote persons who regularly engage in an activity, or who are characterized in a certain way, as indicated by the stem; now usually pejorative

So he was saying you are a person who regularly engages in an activity of the highest quality. Oh... how it fills my heart.
Oh boy...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 21:28   #25117  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yeah. He maybe he meant "bestard"!

"best" - of the highest quality, excellence, or standing

suffix "ard" - a suffix forming nouns that denote persons who regularly engage in an activity, or who are characterized in a certain way, as indicated by the stem; now usually pejorative

So he was saying you are a person who regularly engages in an activity of the highest quality. Oh... how it fills my heart.
You're good, real good
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 21:45   #25118  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
You're good, real good
I was partially familiar with this one... because of the number of times I've been referred to as a "dullard".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 22:50   #25119  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yeah. He maybe he meant "bestard"!

"best" - of the highest quality, excellence, or standing

suffix "ard" - a suffix forming nouns that denote persons who regularly engage in an activity, or who are characterized in a certain way, as indicated by the stem; now usually pejorative

So he was saying you are a person who regularly engages in an activity of the highest quality. Oh... how it fills my heart.
Ahhh..., Thank you jdobbs for enlightening me.
And thank you Lathe for the flowers
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2016, 02:25   #25120  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Ahhh..., Thank you jdobbs for enlightening me.
And thank you Lathe for the flowers
Geez...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.