Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st August 2010, 20:13   #8981  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
jdobbs, sorry for harping on about this topic but I'd like to go over the "no encoding required" and space calculation method a bit more. Do you happen to have in your arsenal the US version of Astro Boy? It's the perfect title for finetuning this.

Movie-only playlist (00001.MPLS) contains a single file (00001.M2TS) which has a size of 25 403 062 272 bytes. In addition to video, it contains an English DTS-HD MA track and a Spanish Dolby Digital 640kbps track, as well as English and Spanish subs.

Using BD-RB 0.34.05, I set custom output to 24100MB (which actually wouldn't fit on a BD25 which is 25 025 314 816 bytes, i.e. 23866MB - if I calculated correctly) and told BD-RB to do a movie-only backup while keeping HD audio, but dropping Spanish audio and subs. Here's what the .INF says:

SOURCE_SIZE=25403062272
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=25403062272
TARGET_SIZE=25270681600
REDUCTION=.994788790792915

Since REDUCTION is less than 1, BD-RB would actually re-encode the video, correct? So, for s**** and giggles I aborted processing and entered a custom output size of 25550MB. INF reported a value higher than 1, and no re-encoding was done. Total output (directories etc. included) came to 24 859 136 164 bytes, i.e. 23707.52MB which fits on a BD25.

Now, I'm aware that BD-RB has to estimate certain things and there are overheads etc. to factor in, and the whole shebang is much more complicated than I can fathom. I just wanted to show by this example that there's still some room for improvement, that's all.

Last edited by colinhunt; 1st August 2010 at 20:20.
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2010, 21:40   #8982  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
@stonej01
I see inspect says OK for all, but I was curious why - FFDSHOW AVC set to "ffmpeg-mt": Ok ?
My inspect says - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
I have not had any problems decoding VC1, AVC or mpeg2. ( I realise this is VC1)
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2010, 22:36   #8983  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
@stonej01
I see inspect says OK for all, but I was curious why - FFDSHOW AVC set to "ffmpeg-mt": Ok ?
My inspect says - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
I have not had any problems decoding VC1, AVC or mpeg2. ( I realise this is VC1)
The ffmpeg-mt seems to work fine for AVC, so I made it "Ok".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2010, 22:50   #8984  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The ffmpeg-mt seems to work fine for AVC, so I made it "Ok".
OK thanks, but I think I will leave mine as is!
(You know the old saying, if it aint broke...)
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2010, 22:52   #8985  |  Link
videoadvocate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
I am having the exact same problem with using full backup of Star Trek (The Original Series). Been stuck on this ever since my last version of BDR expired.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MB2 View Post
@jdobbs

Ive rebooted twice. And its not been able to create avs twice...

Hmm....
videoadvocate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2010, 22:58   #8986  |  Link
colinhunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 998
OK, now this is pretty weird. Source movie length 92 minutes. Movie-only backup length 138 min. Backup plays fine, but has 46 minutes of black screen after the ending credits. KEEP_LPCM was set to 0; the source has one DTS-HD MA track (24bit) and three PCM tracks, all of which are stereo but one of them is 24bit at a bitrate of 2304kbps. Could that have some bearing on this?
colinhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 04:44   #8987  |  Link
stonej01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
@stonej01
I see inspect says OK for all, but I was curious why - FFDSHOW AVC set to "ffmpeg-mt": Ok ?
My inspect says - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
I have not had any problems decoding VC1, AVC or mpeg2. ( I realise this is VC1)
I changed mine to see of that helped anything and i got nothing...I have no idea what happened or why my encodes keep failing. i even reimaged my computer back to a time where everything worked and nothing changed


@Jdobbs
I didnt change any frames or anything, not an advanced user at all on this program just been keeping up with the latest releases and doing everything at defaults.
I downloaded an new copy and ran as admin and everything again said ok, but the encode still failed.


Anybody else out there having this issue?
stonej01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 04:52   #8988  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonej01 View Post
I changed mine to see of that helped anything and i got nothing...I have no idea what happened or why my encodes keep failing. i even reimaged my computer back to a time where everything worked and nothing changed


@Jdobbs
I didnt change any frames or anything, not an advanced user at all on this program just been keeping up with the latest releases and doing everything at defaults.
I downloaded an new copy and ran as admin and everything again said ok, but the encode still failed.


Anybody else out there having this issue?
Can you post your BD-REBUILDER.INI?

You need to also uninstall and reinstall all the helper apps (AVISYNTH, FFDSHOW, and HAALI) using the links in the first post of this thread. Something may have overwritten previous settings and one of those programs is the issue.

Can you also post LASTCMD.TXT from the BD Rebuilder folder?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 05:56   #8989  |  Link
stonej01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Can you post your BD-REBUILDER.INI?

You need to also uninstall and reinstall all the helper apps (AVISYNTH, FFDSHOW, and HAALI) using the links in the first post of this thread. Something may have overwritten previous settings and one of those programs is the issue.

Can you also post LASTCMD.TXT from the BD Rebuilder folder?
As i was returning to the forum to post an update i see your post. didnt mean to waste your time man. But i just did all that. i uninstalled haali, ffdshow, avi synth and rebooted. reinstalled and ran BD as admin and... magic, things started working. I was just popping into the thread to post this when i saw your response.
stonej01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 07:17   #8990  |  Link
Racem22
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Hey guys, just thought I'd post about the "Overall Progress" bar being off for me. It's not really a big deal, I can estimate how long it will take anyway, but wasn't sure if this was something that was specific to my computer or not. I know Rebuilder is still in Beta technically so it's all good.
For example, I shrunk the Sapphire Series of "Gladiator" tonight, with main movie, HD english track, and english subtitles it came to about 35 gb. Its a seamless branching title with maybe 15 m2ts files or so. At the end of re-encoding then remuxing the last m2ts file(which was approx. 4.2 gb) the overall completion was at 53% or around there, then it just jumped to 100%. Like I said, not a big deal, just thought I would report it. Thanks for the great program and when(or if) you decide to charge for it I will be happy to pay. Regards.

Edit: I forgot to say I shrunk to BD25. If you need any logs let me know.

Last edited by Racem22; 2nd August 2010 at 08:25. Reason: More Info
Racem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 14:51   #8991  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonej01 View Post
As i was returning to the forum to post an update i see your post. didnt mean to waste your time man. But i just did all that. i uninstalled haali, ffdshow, avi synth and rebooted. reinstalled and ran BD as admin and... magic, things started working. I was just popping into the thread to post this when i saw your response.
Good to know, thanks.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 16:20   #8992  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
BD Rebuilder v0.34.06 (beta)

I've updated the first post of this thread with a link to a new release of BD-RB (v0.34.06). Changes for this version:
Code:
- Removed "PROCESS_SECONDARY" as a hidden option. This
  option was the source of several seemingly unrelated
  issues.
- Added code to always check TSMUXER's M2TS length value
  in the CLPI file and correct when necessary.  It seems
  the value can be wrong and may cause player confusion.
- Modified the MPLS update routine so it checks original
  OUT times against those created by TSMUXER and correct
  where they differ. This could correct a slight stutter
  at M2TS change point on some software players playing 
  a multi-part feature on a full backup.
- Changed the default for open GOPs to "off".  It seems
  some software players and the PS3 may have rewind and
  fast-forward issues (pixelation).  Those who want to
  use it anyway can still choose it from the SETUP menu.
- Updated the included version of X264.EXE to the
  latest release (r1688).
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 17:02   #8993  |  Link
MB2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 36
@videoadvocate

i tried it again with 34.06... still cant create avs...

its a branching disc unfortunately (old effects or remastered versions of the episodes)... may have to make a custom menu version with multiavc, but will be just remastered eps and run it through BDRB again, see what happens.
MB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 17:50   #8994  |  Link
Aratar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Removed "PROCESS_SECONDARY" as a hidden option. This
option was the source of several seemingly unrelated
issues.
How does Process Secondary work now? I used to enable it for discs that have DD or regular non-express DTS audio tracks and disable it for discs that had non-remux-able audio tracks. Can I still do this in some way with the new version?
Aratar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 18:02   #8995  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aratar View Post
How does Process Secondary work now? I used to enable it for discs that have DD or regular non-express DTS audio tracks and disable it for discs that had non-remux-able audio tracks. Can I still do this in some way with the new version?
That's just the point -- it didn't work correctly when you set it to "0" -- so now secondary audio/video will always be kept for a full backup (except, of course, DTS Express -- which I'm working on now).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 2nd August 2010 at 18:05.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 18:56   #8996  |  Link
Aratar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That's just the point -- it didn't work correctly when you set it to "0" -- so now secondary audio/video will always be kept for a full backup (except, of course, DTS Express -- which I'm working on now).
Yeah, I used to remove 2nd video/audio track information from the corresponding mpls file with bdedit (bd rebuilder somehow left this information in place) because otherwise some players, including software solutions like PowerDVD, would freeze on playback. Anyway, I was just curious on how it is working now. thanks for the info.

However, does this mean that if a movie contains secondary video and a dts express track, bd rebuilder will keep just the video? That's some waste of bandwidth because in 90% of all cases it's a video commentary which is somehow.... useless without the audio. So it'd be better to strip it.

Last edited by Aratar; 2nd August 2010 at 19:00.
Aratar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 19:09   #8997  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aratar View Post
Yeah, I used to remove 2nd video/audio track information from the corresponding mpls file with bdedit (bd rebuilder somehow left this information in place) because otherwise some players, including software solutions like PowerDVD, would freeze on playback. Anyway, I was just curious on how it is working now. thanks for the info.

However, does this mean that if a movie contains secondary video and a dts express track, bd rebuilder will keep just the video? That's some waste of bandwidth because in 90% of all cases it's a video commentary which is somehow.... useless without the audio. So it'd be better to strip it.
Still, it's supposed to be a "full backup" -- so I want to keep everything I can get, and hopefully I can soon also include the DTS Express. I'm aiming for the next release.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 19:19   #8998  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Still, it's supposed to be a "full backup" -- so I want to keep everything I can get, and hopefully I can soon also include the DTS Express. I'm aiming for the next release.
The DTS Express will be a welcome addition.
Any update regarding IGS menu's?
Also, there was a recent update to TMT3 that has corrected the pixelation issue with playback FF or chapter advance, suspected from Open GOP. I have never experienced this with my standalone or PowerDVD 7.3, only TMT3. Now I do not experience it with TMT3 anymore either.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 21:53   #8999  |  Link
chompy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Code:
- Added code to always check TSMUXER's M2TS length value
  in the CLPI file and correct when necessary.  It seems
  the value can be wrong and may cause player confusion.
- Modified the MPLS update routine so it checks original
  OUT times against those created by TSMUXER and correct
  where they differ. This could correct a slight stutter
  at M2TS change point on some software players playing 
  a multi-part feature on a full backup.
Lots of thanks, tested with Up and Toy Story 2 and now backups play perfectly on both standalone player and TMT3.

chompy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 22:39   #9000  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
The DTS Express will be a welcome addition.
Any update regarding IGS menu's?
Also, there was a recent update to TMT3 that has corrected the pixelation issue with playback FF or chapter advance, suspected from Open GOP. I have never experienced this with my standalone or PowerDVD 7.3, only TMT3. Now I do not experience it with TMT3 anymore either.
Cool. I'm hoping to correct IGS too in the same fix. The problem is figuring out a way to do it without add a whole lot of processing time (because I have to pull it out and reinsert it myself -- duplicating TSMUXER's action). Right now it looks like it will add at least an hour.. we'll see.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.