Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th October 2015, 14:36   #33541  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 252
Madvr has issues with DPC using in Potplayer x32 newest not beta , has terrible high DPC and slow motion high cpu after seeking couple of time. didn't happen with madvr 89.6

MPDN x64 2.42.4.3407 doesn't have the issue.



EDIT : on version 89.8 and 89.9 Very high DPC and high cpu with stuttering randomly and slow motion if seeking more than 5-6 times till it's back to normal after 7 seconds and still continue with high randomly high DPC jumps


EDIT : The slow motion and high jumps happens when Subtitles are shown.

Last edited by x7007; 13th October 2015 at 15:32.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2015, 15:16   #33542  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
Madvr has issues with DPC using in Potplayer x32 newest not beta , has terrible high DPC and slow motion high cpu after seeking couple of time. didn't happen with madvr 89.6

MPDN x64 2.42.4.3407 doesn't have the issue.



EDIT : Using Madvr 89.8 still doesn't happen and working properly, only on version 89.9 Very high DPC and high cpu with stuttering randomly and slow motion if seeking more than 5-6 times till it's back to normal after 7 seconds and still continue with high randomly high DPC jumps

The DPC latencies here seems ok with 0.89.9 + mpc-be 1.4.5 stable.

Last edited by Siso; 13th October 2015 at 15:28.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2015, 15:59   #33543  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
The DPC latencies here seems ok with 0.89.9 + mpc-be 1.4.5 stable.

Something with the subtitles, with a movie which I have the issue, on very same spots where I have subtitles enabled it slows down.

When subtitles disable it doesn't freeze.

The upload , render , present Queues are going to low number 1-3,1-2,1-2, 0-3 .

Why there is always issue with subtitles.

I am using the built in Potplayer subtitles.


EDIT : Kinda fix for this specific movie . Using Subtitles Output : Disaply on Overlay / VMR/ EVR Surface fix the Queues drops when subtitles enabled.

Using Display on Video / TV OUT makes specific sections in the movie dropped Queues. But using EVR in 3D movies with potplayer get the render time to 115 ms when using 3D subtitles , even with Super-xbr .
Can't figure why subtitles output so important.

Last edited by x7007; 13th October 2015 at 16:03.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2015, 17:14   #33544  |  Link
JohnLai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 448
Anyone noticed the weird flickering with Intel HD4600 IGPU with every madvr version when DirectX 11 being used to render the video?

The flickering occurs when fast forward or even changing full screen exclusive to windowed while video is playing.
JohnLai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2015, 21:03   #33545  |  Link
har3inger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybkma View Post
I have limited experience with subs, never paid too much attention to them before. But since you are asking for feedback, here is mine (Using mVR 89.9 & Subfilter 3.1.0.744):

2) If the sub is one line then it is completely inside the bottom black bar which am sure is the intended effect. But if the sub contains two lines then the top line is still up in the video picture and bottom line is now in the black bar. Not sure if this is intended or if both sub lines are supposed to be inside in the black bar. Only Subfilter default setting I changed is the font size as stated above.
This.

It's possible to adjust the margin/gutters for subs such that double-line subs are entirely within the black space, but then single line subs are way at the bottom and look sorta weird. Right now I have this compromise using gutters and spacing where single subs look fine, and double subs half overlap into the video area.

Is there any possible way to adjust subs to snap to the top of the bottom black bar? However, I'm not sure how >2 line subs would then be handled.
har3inger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2015, 21:31   #33546  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
??? Other players offer options to move subs too. What are you referring to?
default settings
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2015, 21:36   #33547  |  Link
jmartinr
Registered User
 
jmartinr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Enschede, NL
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by har3inger View Post
Is there any possible way to adjust subs to snap to the top of the bottom black bar? However, I'm not sure how >2 line subs would then be handled.
Position the subtitles relatively to the top.
__________________
Roelofs Coaching
jmartinr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 00:18   #33548  |  Link
hannes69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 72
Quote:
Posted by madshi:
I think the software solution should be much more reliable. I've added the "command line to execute" feature to profiles for the exact reason that people might want to automate anamorphic lenses or screen masking or lens memories or stuff. So the plan was that every time a profile is switched, madVR calls some command line, maybe passing some parameters. However, I'm not sure if that's what you need? It would allow you to e.g. switch between CinemaScope and 1.85:1 movies. But maybe you want a "perfect" solution which tells you exactly (with 1 pixel precision) where the black bars are? That's somewhat more complicated because currently I've no feature in madVR that would transport that kind of information to you. Shouldn't be hard to add, but the big question is how to do it in a useful and intuitive way, so that other users could reuse the same feature...
In my opinion the software based solution should be better too.
The screen masking should be very exact: uncovered areas would appear as grey edges, covered image areas would appear as light areas on top of the masking boards. Maybe corrupted image boarders would need the new cropping feature. And there are different cinemascope ARs like 2.40:1, 2.39:1, 2.35:1 and so on. So 1 pixel precision is welcome (and needed ).
Now the question how to transport the information out of madvr. I think for several purposes some kind of interface between madvr and an end-user is needed / useful:

- controlling of projector related stuff like masking, external calibration boxes, ...
- leaner "trade quality for performance"-list (main items for the "normal" user in the list, special commands for the "pro" user by interface; no more excuses "the list is already too long"
- probably no more need of filenaming-tricks
- user wishes like 538 different adjusting options in the image refinement section
- customizable OSD with 50+ displayable parameters for control freaks

There are many reasons for such an interface.
Of course it makes no sense to give an end-user too much control, but on the other side there are many "pros" (and I think madvr is developed for enthusiasts) who know to make use of more controlling possibilities in a right way.
I think an interface would be the right way out of blowing up the GUI with too many options for a beginner but preserve much more freedom for the advanced user.
Iīm not a "real" programmer so I canīt say what would be the best solution for such an interface.
For my application case the following would be nice (donīt know if that is easy to do):
To control the motors of my masking system I plan to make a simple GUI application with Visual Studio (GUI to have some knobs, sliders and so on for real time adjustments for the system and a manual override possibility in case of automatic failures). The system is controlled through a serial connection (RS232).
The needed information from madvr (in my case target rectangle) can be gathered like that: there exists a madvr_communication_to_end_user.dll which I can simply import to my project (add reference) and then I can directly make use of the many well-prepared and well-documented methods of the dll (using madvr = madvr_communication_to_end_user; int w = madvr.target.width(); )
That would be really nice for programming purposes.
For me it doesnīt matter HOW to gather the needed information from madvr, it matters THAT I can gather it ...
You are a real programmer madshi, itīs up to you to decide about the right interface
Hannes.
hannes69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 01:24   #33549  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Off-topic, but I never thought Subtitles can be THAT important to some people... They are just Subtitles...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 04:27   #33550  |  Link
har3inger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmartinr View Post
Position the subtitles relatively to the top.
Looking around, haven't figured out how to do this. Where is the setting? Madvr? xysubfilter?
har3inger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 04:30   #33551  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Off-topic, but I never thought Subtitles can be THAT important to some people... They are just Subtitles...
Hollywood releases everything in English. English is not the first language of millions of movie fans.

Some of us English-speakers also like to watch movies made in other countries.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 06:45   #33552  |  Link
agustin9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 85
And don't forget about anime fansubs, with styled subtitles...
agustin9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 08:36   #33553  |  Link
rafi.hamid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 9
What are the appropriately settings for nividia control panel? is there anything I should to change it? because I have now all settings by default.

software
windows 10 64bit
mpc-hc + madvr

hardware
intel core i5 4690
gtx 980ti
4k tv Panasonic 55ax630
hdmi cable 2.0v 18gbps



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rafi.hamid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 09:31   #33554  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
defaults are fine.

output dynamic range depends on your TV settings.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 09:47   #33555  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
@madshi

Vobsub from bluray, rendered on cinemascope cropped encode is cut (about halfway) and stretched along its horizontal axis. They also don't render on black bars when fullscreen on 16:9 display. I can take a screenshot if required.

Last edited by dansrfe; 14th October 2015 at 11:09.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 11:14   #33556  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBonk View Post
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Are you have Platform Update https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2670838 installed?
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 12:12   #33557  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLai View Post
Anyone noticed the weird flickering with Intel HD4600 IGPU with every madvr version when DirectX 11 being used to render the video?

The flickering occurs when fast forward or even changing full screen exclusive to windowed while video is playing.
Yes (intel hd4000). But this is not madVR bug, AFAIK.
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 13:11   #33558  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannes69 View Post
The needed information from madvr (in my case target rectangle) can be gathered like that: there exists a madvr_communication_to_end_user.dll which I can simply import to my project (add reference) and then I can directly make use of the many well-prepared and well-documented methods of the dll (using madvr = madvr_communication_to_end_user; int w = madvr.target.width(); )
That would be really nice for programming purposes.
I think a more generalized interface to get (and maybe set them as well ) those variables would be even better. E.g. like it was implemented in MPC-HC by gabest at the ancient days (through a small built-in web server), and it could give back a json string or any other standard strings.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 13:20   #33559  |  Link
JohnLai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post
Yes (intel hd4000). But this is not madVR bug, AFAIK.
Ugh.......then it is Intel fault?

If this is the case.....then I propose madshi to disable the directx 11 option for intel IGPU.
JohnLai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2015, 14:53   #33560  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLai View Post
Ugh.......then it is Intel fault?

If this is the case.....then I propose madshi to disable the directx 11 option for intel IGPU.
Short flickering and disable mode completely? Are you sure?
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.