Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th September 2019, 23:13   #901  |  Link
albino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 5
I've never seen an actual camera that records dupe frames, other than maybe the 23.976 -> 29.97 thing I mentioned before, but there you go! Learn something new every day I guess
albino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 00:51   #902  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by nji View Post
If anything else fails ... try ffmpeg.
And indeed:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...plicate-frames

And it works!
But if the criterion to remove is content based:
How to distinguish dupes from non-motion?
My genius idea for that:
Having a close look at the audio stream (if present).
But: the audio is quite unimpressed at times with dupes.

The only possible solution seems for me a filter (like Remove Frames),
that combines both - contents comparison and frame number pattern, like:
"Remove duplicate frames that appear in most times (= "fuzzy logic") regulary."
This should do the job.
Quick idea: 2 or more consecutive dupes are non-motion
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 09:27   #903  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 50
Hi shekh.

Yes, a very quick idea indeed

I agree:
2 or more consecutive dupes will probably be non-motion.
Probably.
But most (?) non-motion will be only 1 dupe.
Probably.
==> That's no reliable criterion to distinguish non-motion from
"generated" dupes.

To distinguish them one probably has to have a look WHY these
dupes are generated.
As I'm the opposite of a prof, I don't know much about all that matter.
But as there is a "nearly" kind of regular pattern, I do assume
it has to do with the cameras' firmware, or with some strange intermediate
frame rate conversion.
Maybe the cameras' "natural" framerate doesn't match with the wanted
or the audio resolution. So they insert (more or less) regulary frames
to match it? Or something like that.

If you assume that kind of cause, the algorithm I proposed above
(combination of content comparision and "fuzzy" pattern)
should do the trick. Kind of "adaptive pattern" mode in jpsdr's filter.
It doesn't remove the non-motion dupes (as ffmpeg does).
And it doesn't "de-sync", when the inserted-frame-pattern shifts (as jpsdr's
Remove Frame does).

But maybe someone should look, if he has this effect in his (older)
movies too... (Surprise-surprise).
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 18:28   #904  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 50
Having had a closer look on the matter, I'm suspicious
if the duplicate frames actually are simple added,
or if they stand for a kind of "dropped frame" the
camera hardware wasn't quick enough for, and so inserted
a duplicate to stay in sync.
(Maybe there is someone here who knows if that was done sometimes?)
I tried to estimate it by the motion (and a possible "jump" next
frame of a dupe), but I'm not sure.
If that should be the case then removing the dupes would be wrong
(Except at the simple pattern of a dupe every other frame).
An improvement in that case would still be possible
by replacing the duplicates by a "temporal mean" of it's neighbours.

In both cases (true dupe or compensation for dropped frame)
there remains the problem of identifying the dupe positions.

It can't be possible that the positions are arbitrarily.
So I had a closer look to that too.
And indeed, not for all duping movies, but for the majority I found
that the period p (dupe at last pos) of dupes is not constant but more complex.
It is n times p, then (p+1), then n times p again, then... etc.
I.e. the "real period" is n*p + (p+1).
Starting at an offset.

If (!) the task is to remove the frames this can't be removed by jpsdr's Remove Frame.
In ONE go.
But in (n+1) goes!
First go: offset, period: n*p + (p+1), frame at pos. p
Second go: offset, period: p - 1 + (n-1)*p + (p+1), frame at pos. (p-1)+p
(n+1) go: ...
Not very cool I admit.
And one has to find out the pattern, and if it holds until to the movie's end
by having a close look at the frames.
(I really hope not be completely wrong with all that ;-)

Last edited by nji; 16th September 2019 at 18:32.
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 20:31   #905  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 702
nji

Maybe it won't hurt to post a sample in videohelp restoration subforum. Some people there do exactly that for decades, remove artifacts from old videos. You will likely get a great description how your video was made and plenty of ideas )
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 20:50   #906  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 50
Yes, I will do that.
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...ns#post2560347

Actually I already thought to myself that my question is too specific for this VD2 subforum.
Thanks for the ideas everyone!

Last edited by nji; 16th September 2019 at 21:30.
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 21:48   #907  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 50
Devoloping Filters: SDK and tutorials

Is there an up-to-date reference for writing filters.

http://www.virtualdub.org/filtersdk.html

seems to be out-dated.

Thanks - Greetings.
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 21:58   #908  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 924
That page does not seem outdated. SDK 1.1 is the latest as far as I know. The .chm help file in the ZIP does appear outdated, but still useful. Fortunately, the ZIP file includes a src directory with sample filters written for SDK 1.1.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 22:33   #909  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 50
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 22:34   #910  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by nji View Post
Is there an up-to-date reference for writing filters.

http://www.virtualdub.org/filtersdk.html

seems to be out-dated.

Thanks - Greetings.
You can find sdk 1.2 and some comments about my new added stuff here: https://sourceforge.net/p/vdfiltermod/wiki/sdk/

By most part the old sdk still works unless you need support for something very specific.

(sdk 1.2 is also old, just a bit newer than 1.1)
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 22:45   #911  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 924
Cool, Shekh, thanks. I was not aware you had done all that work. Bravo!
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2019, 08:21   #912  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,212
Hi Shekh,
qyot27 posted AviSynth+ 3.4.0, https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...02#post1888102
breaks VD2, bring up script editor, bang! [access violation]
VD2 will not be the only affected software, I expect there will be more probs.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 21st October 2019 at 08:50.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2019, 10:22   #913  |  Link
Groucho2004
►◄
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Hi Shekh,
qyot27 posted AviSynth+ 3.4.0, https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...02#post1888102
breaks VD2, bring up script editor, bang! [access violation]
VD2 will not be the only affected software, I expect there will be more probs.
It works fine when you install the non-GCC version.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2019, 10:31   #914  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,212
Thanks for that, I just downed the first on the list, did not even notice the other version.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 21st October 2019 at 12:17.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 07:27   #915  |  Link
TlatoSMD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
How do I get third-party VDub processing plugins to work in VirtualDub2?

I'm on Windows 10 Professional Home 64-bit. I've been using old VDub 32-bit up until a few weeks ago, because none of the plugins ever worked in old VDub 64-bit. But now, some recent Microsoft update has made it so the 32-bit version of old VDub doesn't load up anymore, so I've decided to give VirtualDub2 a try.

But the same problem persists in VirtualDub2: Not a single one of my many third-party plugins (mainly MSU plugins, Logoaway, and Tacosalad's Dotcrawl, but overall they add up to 34 different plugins) are successfully loaded in VirtualDub2. When I try to add any of those plugins manually inside of the VirtualDub plugin list, I'm getting the error message, "This is not a Win32 application". Plus, also VirtulDub2 only appears on my screen in the 64-bit version, not in the 32-bit version which, just like old VDub does now, only loads in the background but never shows up on screen and which I then have to manually kill by means of Windows taskmanager.

I've consulted the official Wiki on Sourceforge, but the only bit on plugins there looks like I'd have to learn programming first to fix this issue.

So, how to actually make third-party plugins load in VirtualDub2? Note that this is not a question on how to make any of those plugins work in an AVIsynth script, it's simply about how to use them in VirtualDub2 itself like within old VDub. And it's still the same old 8-bit color per channel, 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 video files that I'm trying to use those filters on.

Without those third-party processing plugins, VirtualDub2 will be pretty much useless for me. I'd really hate to abandon Avery Lee's cool tool after it's been more than 15 years, just because it's suddenly borked now. VirtualDub2 without those third-party plugins would be pretty much nothing but a fancy converter such as XMedia Recode and would lack any right to exist next to those for me.

Last edited by TlatoSMD; 31st October 2019 at 07:54.
TlatoSMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 07:41   #916  |  Link
TlatoSMD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Okay, so I've found a solution to at least *PART* of my problem. After rebooting Windows, old 32-bit VDub loads just fine again.

But the issues with old VDub 64-bit and VirtualDub2 still persist: No third-party plugins.

EDIT: Wow, now even the 32-bit version of VirtualDub2 works, properly loading all plugins! Great, finally a working version for me. Still, kinda strange how none of this seems to work with the 64-bit versions of both old VDub and VirtualDub2, even though I'm on a 64-bit OS.

Last edited by TlatoSMD; 31st October 2019 at 07:43.
TlatoSMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 07:53   #917  |  Link
TlatoSMD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
So here's the next issue: While I'm using VDub mainly for its processing plug-ins, I can't seem to make Direct stream copy work in VirtualDub2 now. The video file has x264 (aka h264) for video (8-bit color per channel) and mp3 for audio, and the error msg I keep getting is "Select different input driver". So how do I do that? It was never an issue to use Direct stream copy in order to export this kind of footage into an AVI with old VDub.

Last edited by TlatoSMD; 31st October 2019 at 08:05.
TlatoSMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 08:17   #918  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,212
64 bit VD2 (or any 64 bit executable) will require 64 bit plugins, 32 bit will not work. (same issue in Avisynth+ 64 bit, and 32 bit plugins).
Also, 32 bit plugins in VD2 64 bit plugins directories may cause problems, dont do it.

x264, dont really know much about this, but, you can only do Direct Stream Copy where source stream is compatible with output file,
although you can (I've never done it) create x264 in AVI, there are some things that need be omitted [at a guess I might think CABAC may be one of them],
if source does have some unsupported x264 features, then will not be able to Direct Stream Copy.

Dont think "Select different input driver" will make any difference, unless it decodes to uncompressed video, which you could then copy to
output AVI as uncompressed video (perhaps YUV or maybe only RGB, dont know).

I would use Fast Recompress, to some output codec, but that stuff has changed in Vdub2 (cant remember in what way it changed).

You will probably get a better answer soon, a wrong answer often prompts someone else to correct it in double time,
people like to tell others just how wrong they are

EDIT: Having looked at VD2 Decode Format, AutoSelect would seem to be the only likely one to choose.

EDIT: The VirtualDub x264 compression thingy docs will likely tell what features of x264 are unsupported in AVI files.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 31st October 2019 at 08:22.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 09:13   #919  |  Link
TlatoSMD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
x264, dont really know much about this, but, you can only do Direct Stream Copy where source stream is compatible with output file,
although you can (I've never done it) create x264 in AVI, there are some things that need be omitted [at a guess I might think CABAC may be one of them],
if source does have some unsupported x264 features, then will not be able to Direct Stream Copy.

Dont think "Select different input driver" will make any difference, unless it decodes to uncompressed video, which you could then copy to
output AVI as uncompressed video (perhaps YUV or maybe only RGB, dont know).

I would use Fast Recompress, to some output codec, but that stuff has changed in Vdub2 (cant remember in what way it changed).

[...]

EDIT: The VirtualDub x264 compression thingy docs will likely tell what features of x264 are unsupported in AVI files.
I've just tried the very same thing, on the very same file, with old VDub 32-bit without a problem. But VirtualDub2 only keeps telling me "Select different input driver" on the very same file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
EDIT: Having looked at VD2 Decode Format, AutoSelect would seem to be the only likely one to choose.
I've checked that before mentioning the issue here. It's what VirtualDub2 is set to by default, but still that error msg where old VDub has no problem at all.
TlatoSMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2019, 10:12   #920  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,212
Arh, (I remembered something), check out the File Open Selector box,
"Select different input driver" is there.

EDIT: Although I dont know what the trick is to un-disable it.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.