Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th August 2016, 00:28   #24701  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Thanks kindly, but I don't understand how that helps me utilize that function in any way. Those are the settings that have been giving me trouble to re-encode anyway (as I've mentioned exhaustively already, using a 1-pass CRF encode with DirectShow ALWAYS gives me an AnyDVD error regardless of source. Or, if I set it for FRIM frame server I THINK that will run)

But, that doesn't tell me how to use this new function though. HOW, do I use it or use it to tell me what the CRF will be at a certain size, etc...?
You can't use FRIM with CRF when prediction is needed because FRIM doesn't support frame-accurate seeking.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 06:04   #24702  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You can import half or full SBS -- and it will create a 3DBD (after reencoding). You can also use ALTERNATE output to convert it to half SBS. Right now BD-RB only supports SBS, but I guess over-under wouldn't be that hard to add.

3840x4320?
I doubt it would be important enough to add if it doesn't already exist.

Yup, that resolution is insane. I don't know what they think anyone would play it on. It's not like there is such thing as 4k 3D as any sort of standard. Let alone at 60fps.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 20:25   #24703  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You can't use FRIM with CRF when prediction is needed because FRIM doesn't support frame-accurate seeking.
Okidoke, thanks...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 21:13   #24704  |  Link
KaraokeAmerica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Right now BD-RB only supports SBS, but I guess over-under wouldn't be that hard to add.
For us folks with passive 3D where TAB is potentially better, that would be great!
KaraokeAmerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 21:58   #24705  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraokeAmerica View Post
For us folks with passive 3D where TAB is potentially better, that would be great!
I can't imagine how it could be better or worse. It's pretty much exactly the same (at least for full resolution).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 22:05   #24706  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I can't imagine how it could be better or worse. It's pretty much exactly the same (at least for full resolution).
To paraphrase someone
Opinions are like ... Everybody has one
Better/worse is opinion

No offense meant to anyone
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 22:11   #24707  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
To paraphrase someone
Opinions are like ... Everybody has one
Better/worse is opinion

No offense meant to anyone
You miss the point. There is no "opinion" involved. A 3840x1080 SBS picture will give you exactly the same quality as a 1920x2160 over-under picture.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 22:43   #24708  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
I realize that, but some will feel that one is better than the other based on what light goes on their receiver
Much like which sounds better, DTS-HD, True HD or AC3 at 640
Like I said, no offense meant
Sorry for the OT
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 00:07   #24709  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 550
Maybe he is referring to half-SBS and half-OU? I don't see how that makes a difference though.

Some claim SBS is better, but you're still halving the total pixels either way. It just determines the direction of the artifacts.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 13:24   #24710  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Maybe he is referring to half-SBS and half-OU? I don't see how that makes a difference though.

Some claim SBS is better, but you're still halving the total pixels either way. It just determines the direction of the artifacts.
Could be. For those who are encoding to a passive system that displays alternate lines (for each view), cutting the horizontal resolution via half-SBS might make it look worse (since it's also halving the vertical resolution in playback). I'm not positive that's what happens exactly, but that's what it looked like when I tested passive 3D in a store.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 10th August 2016 at 13:27.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 13:47   #24711  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 753
jdobbs, the import mode should not accept files with higher resolution than standard bluray?



Edit: I think it's hard because BDRebuilder depends on the creation of pseudo structure, which is also non-standard.

Last edited by soneca; 10th August 2016 at 14:31.
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 14:26   #24712  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by soneca View Post
jdobbs, the import mode should not accept files with higher resolution than standard bluray?

No. It currently doesn't. Is this a UHD source? That's something I need to update.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 14:37   #24713  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
No. It currently doesn't. Is this a UHD source? That's something I need to update.
That's right, UHD source.

Code:
Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames                : 1 frame
Format settings, GOP                     : M=1, N=8
Codec ID                                 : avc1
Codec ID/Info                            : Advanced Video Coding
Duration                                 : 8mn 46s
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 60.0 Mbps
Width                                    : 3 840 pixels
Height                                   : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 29.970 fps
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.241
Stream size                              : 3.68 GiB (100%)
Title                                    : DJI.AVC
Language                                 : English
Encoded date                             : UTC 2015-11-29 18:35:26
Tagged date                              : UTC 2015-11-29 18:35:26
Color range                              : Limited
Color primaries                          : BT.709
Transfer characteristics                 : BT.709
Matrix coefficients                      : BT.709
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2016, 01:18   #24714  |  Link
KaraokeAmerica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Could be. For those who are encoding to a passive system that displays alternate lines (for each view), cutting the horizontal resolution via half-SBS might make it look worse (since it's also halving the vertical resolution in playback). I'm not positive that's what happens exactly, but that's what it looked like when I tested passive 3D in a store.
This is along the lines of what I have heard, although I admit I am not an engineer.

The format exists for a reason though. I don't think there was a coder out there sitting around thinking "what can I do to make my life more difficult while gaining nothing...."

.....
KaraokeAmerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2016, 16:02   #24715  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraokeAmerica View Post
This is along the lines of what I have heard, although I admit I am not an engineer.

The format exists for a reason though. I don't think there was a coder out there sitting around thinking "what can I do to make my life more difficult while gaining nothing...."

.....
But SBS is much more common, and as long as you stay with full-SBS there would be no loss. The only time you would use half-SBS for playback on a standalone player would be if you had created and were using an MKV or MP4 file and was forcing 3D during playback.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 13:17   #24716  |  Link
gg72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 37
I have a question about the different decoding/frame serving options in the setup menu: With the option "FRIMSource" is for me (Intel i7-3770) the decoding is more quickly/powerful, than with the option "X264/LAVF" (70 FPS vs. 45 FPS; CPU usage 100% vs. 40%), but I'm not sure, is the Intel Quick Sync in my system enabled?

BD-Rebuilder v0.50.17
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 866,32GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: 1.9.42.1, Ok
- FFDSHOW: 4504, Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok

Which decoding/frame serving option should I use?
gg72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 15:15   #24717  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,929
If one is faster than the other -- use the faster one. It only effects decoding, and two properly decoded frames should be identical.

Something you can also try is DirectshowSource with LAV installed. Then go into the LAV Filters Video Configuration properties dialog and try each of the "Hardware Acceleration" options. You'll see that "Intel Quick-Sync" is one of the choices.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 16:32   #24718  |  Link
gg72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Something you can also try is DirectshowSource with LAV installed. Then go into the LAV Filters Video Configuration properties dialog and try each of the "Hardware Acceleration" options. You'll see that "Intel Quick-Sync" is one of the choices.
Thanks.
I tried, but somehow it did not work with DirectshowSource with LAV... I decode only 2D sources, so I think this is not a problem, when I stay with these 2 options:
- X264's internal LAVF
or
- FRIMSource
gg72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 20:08   #24719  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
CRF results...

Just a quick comment about how WILDLY different the file sizes are coming out for me in compressing Blu-rays at a CRF of 18. I was just REALLY surprised at the differences.

For example, I did 'LEPRECHAUN 3' (of all films) and the original movie file size was about 17 Gigs and only compressed to about 9 Gigs, which was larger than most of the ones I've done. Then, I did a newer Blu-ray with the movie file size about about 19 Gigs and it came out to 2.3 Gigs! WOW, what a difference. Granted the Leprechaun film has a lot of visuals and action and the other film is more sedate visually, but still...

So, if all my settings are the same and I am re-encoding using a CRF of 18, the 'perceived' quality should still be roughly about the same, right? Even with the extreme disparity in file sizes?
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 21:11   #24720  |  Link
ascottj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Subtitle sync

I have made numerous encoding attempts on IP Man 3 Blu-ray, but the subtitles simply will not sync ... first time I have come across this issue. The subtitles are in sync when playing the AnyDVD HD rip. What elements should I address in BD-RD to attempt to correct the subtitle syncing?
ascottj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.