Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th March 2013, 15:36   #1021  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Yes, that was my conclusion too. The x264 code itself is not the culprit. But it is a fact that it's a very big difference, although both versions have the same build number.
Anyway, you can't help. Sorry for having polluted your thread!
While these builds were mode form the very same version (revision number) of x264, they include different versions of the (optional) third-party extra libraries...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 10th March 2013 at 19:24.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2013, 16:19   #1022  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Looks like they both use the same FFMS version (2.17.3.0), but the Komisar build was made using as lightly never Libav version (54.63.100 -vs- 54.21.2).
Other than the fact that the ffms2 version actually tells rather little (as it gets so rarely updated at times), there is one rather big difference here. And both library versions were most probably built from the HEAD of their repositories at the point of compilation.

Basically, the .100 at the end of the version is a sign that the project this library came from is ffmpeg, while a version number that doesn't have that is from libav. So one is not older than the other, but those two projects have completely different versioning schemes.
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2013, 17:05   #1023  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,474
Thanks for the precision. Anyway, I have learned one important thing. You cannot trust the frame rate when the h264 stream has been encoded with some x264 builds. Detecting what builds or library versions can be trusted seems not easy, but I don't need that. I have added a test to be sure that the version used with my plugin uses the correct frame rate, and that should be sufficient to avoid the problem with MkvMerge. The test consists in encoding a very small black NTSC video and detecting if ffms2 reports the wrong 25fps frame rate. If it is sufficient to check the .100 to be sure that it's a "good" version, I'll remove that test later, as it's easier and quicker to test. But I have to verify that too. Thanks JEEB for the pointer.

I have also tried to contact the author of the x264.nl builds, but he seems to have disappeared! Someone knows who he is, and how to contact him?
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 10th March 2013 at 17:09.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 13:31   #1024  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
Quote:
I have also tried to contact the author of the x264.nl builds, but he seems to have disappeared! Someone knows who he is, and how to contact him?
Should be bob0r. And, as far as I know, the builds hosted there are those made by JEEB...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 13:45   #1025  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,474
Thanks. Yes, it's probably bob0r, but I see on his profile: Last Activity: 6th February 2011 14:01
I've sent him a PM anyway, but I doubt he will reply.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2013, 20:49   #1026  |  Link
MonoS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 203
Yesterday i installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
When i try to launch Simple x264 Launcher the application freeze at startup
Windows give me this information about the problem
Code:
  Nome evento problema:	AppHangB1
  Nome applicazione:	x264_launcher.exe
  Versione applicazione:	2.0.9.408
  Timestamp applicazione:	5137c307
  Firma di blocco:	d0b7
  Tipo interruzione:	0
  Versione SO:	6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
  ID impostazioni locali:	1040
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 1:	d0b73af4b3ad63005339879e458276fa
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 2:	c490
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 3:	c49016d5f73eec146d68c2682233ee1c
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 4:	d0b7
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 5:	d0b73af4b3ad63005339879e458276fa
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 6:	c490
  Firma blocco aggiuntiva 7:	c49016d5f73eec146d68c2682233ee1c
It's mine first time using x64 OS, so i hope it's not mine configuration's fault to cause this error

What could be the problem??
MonoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2013, 21:23   #1027  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
All my software is developed on Windows 7 (64-Bit), so the OS is not the problem.

Please try running the application with "--console" parameter to get more verbose output and then see at which point it hangs!

My bet would be that it's an Avisynth issue, so maybe you try "--skip-avisynth-check" as well...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 1st April 2013 at 21:28.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2013, 22:00   #1028  |  Link
MonoS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 203
It blocks here
Code:
avs_create_script_enviroment_ptr(AVS_INTERFACE_25)
I imagined that was a avisynth problem so i tried to reinstall it [avisynth 2.5.8 x86 ST official build], but even not worked

Using --skip-avisynth-check the program start, but when i try to start a job but it blocks creating avisynth process

I'm sorry for have posted such a question here, but I thought that wasn't an avisynth problem

I'll try to find a solution, thanks for help LoRd_MulderR
MonoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2013, 22:08   #1029  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
First thing to try: Uninstall whatever Avisynth you have installed and then install the latest stable release of Avisynth (v2.5.8):
http://sourceforge.net/projects/avis...Synth%202.5.8/

(Please do not use the "x64" or the "MT" forks of Avisynth for now, as they are known to be anything but stable)

Second thing to try: Remove everything from your Avisynth plug-in's directory. Load individual plug-in's explicitly from your script, if you need to.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 2nd April 2013 at 00:03.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2013, 22:21   #1030  |  Link
MonoS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 203
Uninstalled and renamed plugins directory, now it works

Thanks again for the help LoRd
MonoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2013, 22:54   #1031  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
I have moved the Avisynth initialization code into separate thread, so if Avisynth should deadlock for whatever reason it now won't hang the whole app
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 5th May 2013 at 13:54.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2013, 09:31   #1032  |  Link
superhil
Registered User
 
superhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
it's very awesome and simple tools
dear LoRd_MuldeR, any plan to add batch support?

i mean, if i had 100 files in a folder, i can simply open folder
and then the launcher will process it automatically with same configuration
rather than open file one by one

it's the same feature as "open folder" in MeGUI one click interface

thank you :-)

Last edited by superhil; 24th April 2013 at 09:35.
superhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2013, 10:49   #1033  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
Hello.

Well, there already is batch support. It's just not yet possible to add a large number files at once with the same settings.

I will look into that...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2013, 14:00   #1034  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
I have uploaded a new build.

(Please note the remarks about OpenCL support in the Readme file!)
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2013, 08:58   #1035  |  Link
superhil
Registered User
 
superhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Hello.

Well, there already is batch support. It's just not yet possible to add a large number files at once with the same settings.

I will look into that...
I'm sorry,,so the correct name is "add folder" feature
BTW, thank you for new update
superhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2013, 09:16   #1036  |  Link
VideoFanatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 241
Deblocking?

If I don't have a deblocker Avisynth script, will Simple x264 Launcher do any deblocking if my source is MPEG2 or h264?
VideoFanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2013, 13:34   #1037  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
Nope, it doesn't apply any "post processing" filters. Especially not out of its own violation

Remember that Simple x264 Launcher is just a GUI for x264, so anything that doesn't happen either in your input script (if using Avisynth input) or in x264 itself, doesn't happen at all. Therse is no secret "magic" going on behind the screnes.

I would suggest you use DGIndex/DGDecode in your Avisynth script to load the MPEG-2 source. It provides various deblock options:
http://neuron2.net/dgmpgdec/DGDecode...ml#MPEG2Source

(Also note that the "In-Loop Deblocking" feature of H.264 does NOT deblock your input, it only tries to prevent blocking artifacts introduced by the H.264 encoding. Thus, the "--filter" option of x264 will not help with blocks in the source)
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 7th May 2013 at 23:22.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 00:34   #1038  |  Link
bjoker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 50
Thank you Mulder for your great tools and all the help being provided by you.

I just wanted to try your "Simple X264" as an alternative to handbrake. But am not able to open DVD folder/VOB file directly.

My requirements:

1. ability to create an MP4 (x264) from a DVD folder (I have decrypted DVD folders on my HDD)

2. ability to set custom bitrates of both audio and video. (I tried ripbot but it doesn't offer custom bit-rate)

3. 2-pass encoding a must.

4. Option to add thrid-party encoders like NeroAAC (So I don't need use it separately and remux it with video file again)

5. Ability to preserve same resolution of source (DVDFab fails here)

6. ability to see output MP4 file size (optional)

Could you please suggest me if I should go with your "Simple x264" (if yes, please guide me towards some kind of documentation to start with) OR any other?

TIA
bjoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 06:50   #1039  |  Link
superhil
Registered User
 
superhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjoker View Post
Thank you Mulder for your great tools and all the help being provided by you.

I just wanted to try your "Simple X264" as an alternative to handbrake. But am not able to open DVD folder/VOB file directly.

My requirements:

1. ability to create an MP4 (x264) from a DVD folder (I have decrypted DVD folders on my HDD)

2. ability to set custom bitrates of both audio and video. (I tried ripbot but it doesn't offer custom bit-rate)

3. 2-pass encoding a must.

4. Option to add thrid-party encoders like NeroAAC (So I don't need use it separately and remux it with video file again)

5. Ability to preserve same resolution of source (DVDFab fails here)

6. ability to see output MP4 file size (optional)

Could you please suggest me if I should go with your "Simple x264" (if yes, please guide me towards some kind of documentation to start with) OR any other?

TIA
Then MeGUI will work for you
superhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 12:29   #1040  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjoker View Post
Could you please suggest me if I should go with your "Simple x264" (if yes, please guide me towards some kind of documentation to start with) OR any other?
Nope. This program is a rather simple GUI for x264, but nothing more. It only does the video encoding and that's it.

It's not an "egg-laying wool-milk-sow" like, e.g. MeGUI, that does pre-processing, video encoding, audio encoding, muxing, etc., all in one. My goal never was to create yet another MeGUI clone.

Doesn't mean all this can not be done with Simple x264 Launcher, but it will definitely require some extra work...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.