Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2021, 16:20   #30401  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
BD Rebuilder v0.61.21

I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest version of BD Rebuilder (v0.61.21). Changes for this release:
Code:
- Corrected an error in which BD-RB assumed
  that all imported HEVC video files were UHD
  regardless of resolution or attributes. Now
  UHD will only be assumed for 2160p sources.
- Added a new hidden option NVENC_DECIMATE.
  If set to 1, HW decimation is accomplished
  for IVTC when using NVENC (rather that 
  forcing use of [slower] AVS for input).
  Works well and fast for repeated frame type
  telecine but not-so-much for other types.
- Corrected a sizing error that can occur when
  importing and reencoding with NVENCC.
- Modified the parameters by which decision is
  made to use original imported file as input
  during encoding of PSEUDO structure.
- Fixed an issue in which including a filter
  that only affects audio was still forcing 
  --avs encoding mode when using NVENCC.
- Fixed an issue in which the GOP keyint might
  be set incorrectly in some circumstances.
- Added a safeguard that gathers the total #
  of frames encoded and compares it to that
  expected -- meant to catch premature NVENCC
  termination that doesn't return an error.
- Corrected an issue in which imported files
  with non-compliant framerates, or certain 
  types of conversion actions, might encode
  at an incorrect framerate when using
  NVENCCC.  It might also cause TSMUXER to 
  error during rebuild due to a frame rate 
  mismatch.
- Added code to use UHD clips for blanking
  when working with a UHD source.
- Added code enabling NVENCC to be used for
  non-compliant source conversion during
  import. This method is experimental and
  can be enabled by adding a hidden option
  NVENC_CONVERT=1 to BDREBUILDER.INI.
- Updated TSMUXER4K to the 2021-02-08 build.
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2021, 17:23   #30402  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
Okay. As a part of the update I posted today, I've also included a new function that I'm keeping hidden so that only those users (this forum) who do true beta testing can try it out and (hopefully) help me get it fully functioning. The function is conversion of non-UHD discs to UHD format (v3 with HEVC encoding).

Here's what works now when it is enabled:

1. Performing a Movie-Only backup from a non-UHD disc to UHD format.
2. Converting an imported pseudo-disc structure to UHD format (full or movie-only).
3. Converting a disc that has been Quick-Play authored to UHD format (full or movie-only).

Here's where I'm having trouble:

- Converting off-the-shelf commercial blu-ray discs to UHD format via full-backup mode.

Obviously something is not being updated correctly when I create the UHD output from a commercial disc -- something that doesn't exist in the simple menuing system associated with BD-RB internal authoring. But I haven't been able to put my finger on it. I'm hoping some of the folks who are familiar with UHD and (maybe) those who might have a copy of the BDEdit program that supports UHD can look at the output and help point me to where the issue is.

To enable the UHD conversion/output mode, add the following hidden option to your INI file:

UHD_CONVERT_ENABLE=1

When you have added this option, a new menu item will appear on the SETTINGS/OUTPUT OPTION menu called:

"Convert BD to UHD-BD (HEVC) Format"

As long as it is checked, all output from BD-RB will be in UHD-BD format.

Please note that the UHD standard only supports 2160p and 1080p formats for HEVC encoding. So only 1080p formats are converted to HEVC by default. In testing, however, I have found that (at least on my UHD-BD player) other formats (like 720p and 480p/576p) will play just fine if I convert them. I've been very pleased with the quality I've seen using HEVC on imported DVDs in 480p format (you can fit A LOT on a BD-25!) So, for those who want to live on the wild-side, I've added another hidden option that enables conversion of non-1080p sources into a UHD formatted disc as well. To enable that mode, just add the following to your INI file:

UHD_ALL_MODE=1

I hope testing will reveal where I'm missing the boat on standard commercial BDs and I can get that working for the next release.

Thanks.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 22nd February 2021 at 17:35.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 19:04   #30403  |  Link
CraigWally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 32
I don't know if this is a bug or just me doing something wrong, but here goes.
I've just done UHD backup (BD25, Movie and Menus (Auto blanking)) of The Greatest Showman (Nvenc), all seemed to go well, until I played the burned disc in my standalone player (Sony UBP X500).
The movie itself plays flawlessly, excellent PQ,
however the menu stutters.
Upon investigation it seems that the two m2ts files that make up the menu video were not processed by BDRB but just copied across intact.
MediaInfo reports that these files are 85Mb/s (Max 109Mb/s)!
I tried to investigate why these files were not presented in the BDRB stream list and it seems they only appear if I select DVD 5 or 9, but BD25 or over and it ignores them.
Am I right in thinking that these files have too high a bitrate for BD25?, or did I dream that?
Any help is appreciated
CraigWally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 19:22   #30404  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Okay. As a part of the update I posted today, I've also included a new function that I'm keeping hidden so that only those users (this forum) who do true beta testing can try it out and (hopefully) help me get it fully functioning. The function is conversion of non-UHD discs to UHD format (v3 with HEVC encoding).
Does this mean you are getting closer to having the ability to make UHD discs from scratch with 1080p/2160p H264/H265 TS/MKV files?
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2021, 17:13   #30405  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Does this mean you are getting closer to having the ability to make UHD discs from scratch with 1080p/2160p H264/H265 TS/MKV files?
It can do that now. You have to set the hidden setting to do 1080p. 2160p works either way. You just import them first -- and then reencode.

If you want 1080p output to UHD/HEVC you have to set UHD_CONVERT_ENABLE=1 and then select the UHD-BD option under SETTINGS/OUTPUT OPTIONS.

Note that any created menus will still be AVC and 1080p -- but that's compatible with UHD-BD. I may add UHD menus as a future option as well.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 24th February 2021 at 17:31.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2021, 17:26   #30406  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigWally View Post
I don't know if this is a bug or just me doing something wrong, but here goes.
I've just done UHD backup (BD25, Movie and Menus (Auto blanking)) of The Greatest Showman (Nvenc), all seemed to go well, until I played the burned disc in my standalone player (Sony UBP X500).
The movie itself plays flawlessly, excellent PQ,
however the menu stutters.
Upon investigation it seems that the two m2ts files that make up the menu video were not processed by BDRB but just copied across intact.
MediaInfo reports that these files are 85Mb/s (Max 109Mb/s)!
I tried to investigate why these files were not presented in the BDRB stream list and it seems they only appear if I select DVD 5 or 9, but BD25 or over and it ignores them.
Am I right in thinking that these files have too high a bitrate for BD25?, or did I dream that?
Any help is appreciated
Try adding the following to your INI file and see if it reencodes the menu:

MIN_M2TS_SIZE=0
MIN_PLAYLIST_MINS=0

There is definitely a difference in allowable speed between a BD-25 and a BD-66 or BD-100. But I've never actually had an issue because of it. But, hopefully adding those two hidden options will reencode the menus so you can see if that is the issue.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 05:48   #30407  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It can do that now. You have to set the hidden setting to do 1080p. 2160p works either way. You just import them first -- and then reencode.
Thanks, Somehow I must have missed the announcement that it was working.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 11:19   #30408  |  Link
CraigWally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Try adding the following to your INI file and see if it reencodes the menu:

MIN_M2TS_SIZE=0
MIN_PLAYLIST_MINS=0

There is definitely a difference in allowable speed between a BD-25 and a BD-66 or BD-100. But I've never actually had an issue because of it. But, hopefully adding those two hidden options will reencode the menus so you can see if that is the issue.
I already have those two items in my INI files.
There's something else going on here - I'll investigate further
CraigWally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 15:00   #30409  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigWally View Post
I already have those two items in my INI files.
There's something else going on here - I'll investigate further
Here's a "testing" option I'd forgotten about:

REENCODE_MENUS=1

Try that. But, be warned, I don't think I've ever tried it with UHD..
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 25th February 2021 at 15:04.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2021, 18:51   #30410  |  Link
CraigWally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Here's a "testing" option I'd forgotten about:

REENCODE_MENUS=1

Try that. But, be warned, I don't think I've ever tried it with UHD..
That did the trick, perfect
Thanks
CraigWally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2021, 21:01   #30411  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigWally View Post
That did the trick, perfect
Thanks
Did it play back correctly without issues? I so, I may want to consider making a complete reencode the default when outputting UHD to BD-25/50.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2021, 23:37   #30412  |  Link
CraigWally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 32
absolutely correctly, no issues whatsoever
CraigWally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2021, 06:24   #30413  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest version of BD Rebuilder (v0.61.21). Changes for this release:
Code:
- Corrected an error in which BD-RB assumed
  that all imported HEVC video files were UHD
  regardless of resolution or attributes. Now
  UHD will only be assumed for 2160p sources.
- Added a new hidden option NVENC_DECIMATE.
  If set to 1, HW decimation is accomplished
  for IVTC when using NVENC (rather that 
  forcing use of [slower] AVS for input).
  Works well and fast for repeated frame type
  telecine but not-so-much for other types.
- Corrected a sizing error that can occur when
  importing and reencoding with NVENCC.
- Modified the parameters by which decision is
  made to use original imported file as input
  during encoding of PSEUDO structure.
- Fixed an issue in which including a filter
  that only affects audio was still forcing 
  --avs encoding mode when using NVENCC.
- Fixed an issue in which the GOP keyint might
  be set incorrectly in some circumstances.
- Added a safeguard that gathers the total #
  of frames encoded and compares it to that
  expected -- meant to catch premature NVENCC
  termination that doesn't return an error.
- Corrected an issue in which imported files
  with non-compliant framerates, or certain 
  types of conversion actions, might encode
  at an incorrect framerate when using
  NVENCCC.  It might also cause TSMUXER to 
  error during rebuild due to a frame rate 
  mismatch.
- Added code to use UHD clips for blanking
  when working with a UHD source.
- Added code enabling NVENCC to be used for
  non-compliant source conversion during
  import. This method is experimental and
  can be enabled by adding a hidden option
  NVENC_CONVERT=1 to BDREBUILDER.INI.
- Updated TSMUXER4K to the 2021-02-08 build.
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
Thanks kindly Boss, that is awesome!

It's definitely past time for a contribution, I would assume still by way of Amazon card, right? (although I believe MrVideo said something about you like us to send Strippers directly to your house now...? Did I get that right?)

BTW, I'm really glad you addressed this following issue because I know that gonca has been suffering from it for many years:

"Added a safeguard that gathers the total #
of frames encoded and compares it to that
expected -- meant to prevent premature termination"
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2021, 13:48   #30414  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,043
You came back after all this time just to make a juvenile joke.
Put the mask on a little tighter
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2021, 07:02   #30415  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
You came back after all this time just to make a juvenile joke.
Put the mask on a little tighter


Now, now... I think 'Juvenile' is a bit harsh... 'Clever', 'Inventive', 'Insightful' possibly...

BTW... I don't really think this is a 'bug', but I'm pretty sure it's because of my 10 year old OPPO (BDP-83 Pre-Cinavia) I did the first encode I've done in a while and I noticed that after I burned it to Blu-ray (BD25) the OPPO would see it and immediately stop. I tried burning a 2nd one just in case something was wrong with the disc, but no go...

So, I got to thinking that maybe the 'new & improved' slick version of TSMuxer was somehow creating some kind of structure that my old OPPO won't recognize. So, I found an earlier version, probably the one that was around forever, and used it with the files that were encoded already by BDRB. Sure enough, that one played fine (thankfully... I was ready to pull out the tiny bit of hair that I have left)

So, I'm sure that probably won't impact anyone else, really, so please don't waste any time on it. But, I thought since that happened I'd mention it.

Also, do we still send donations only by way of Amazon...?

Cheers!

***EDIT


BTW, I finally created a Speed Dial just for this page, so that it will hopefully remind me to bloody check this damn thread before 6 months go by so I can see what all you Jamokes and Huckleberries are doing!

Last edited by Lathe; 1st March 2021 at 08:48.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2021, 16:54   #30416  |  Link
worknstiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 313
Hi Lathe, I read your post and was apprehensive when I took my newly burned BD25 that was processed using v0.61.21 and put it in my OPPO BDP-93. It plays perfectly, I wonder if the disk you did was from a Blu-ray or were you rebuilding something from a 4K?
worknstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2021, 17:10   #30417  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe
Also, do we still send donations only by way of Amazon...?
Yes. I appreciate the thought.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe
So, I got to thinking that maybe the 'new & improved' slick version of TSMuxer was somehow creating some kind of structure that my old OPPO won't recognize. So, I found an earlier version, probably the one that was around forever, and used it with the files that were encoded already by BDRB. Sure enough, that one played fine (thankfully... I was ready to pull out the tiny bit of hair that I have left)
Any chance you may have had "Convert BD to UHD-BD (HEVC) Format" selected? That would have created a disc that would do exactly what you describe.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st March 2021 at 17:13.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 18:29   #30418  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 127
error mkv to bluray

[03/05/21] BD Rebuilder v0.61.21
[13:01:13] Source: TENET_(2020)2160P_UHD_DTS-HD_AC3_ITA_ENG_HDR_HEVC
- Input BD size: 64,60 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:26:33.282]
- Target BD size: 24,22 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Better (Faster), Two Pass
- UHD-BD source detected.
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[13:01:13] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [13:01:13] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [13:01:13] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [13:19:59] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: HEVC, 3840x2160
- Rate/Length: 23,976fps, 210.828 frames
- Bitrate: 19.377 Kbs
- [13:19:59] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 2
[13:20:01] - Failed video encode, aborted


inspect ok
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 19:00   #30419  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 166
I don't want to raise the topic of the STRANGE filename (again) ... but did you try any other encoding settings?
I do all my 4K encodes with 1pass CQM...

EDIT: OK, I realized, I only do NVENC lately

Last edited by cartman0208; 5th March 2021 at 19:06.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2021, 19:22   #30420  |  Link
Bilbo1238
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 1
Hi... Not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if this is a bug. I keep having issues with audio not syncing up with video.
I have a bunch of videos in MKV format that I'm trying to import into BD Rebuilder, convert over to BD format, and compress to BD25. For most of the videos, this is working fine. But I keep running into videos where the audio doesn't sync up with the video. The MKV video/audio sync is fine before importing into BD Rebuilder, but after import (and even before Backup/compression), I play the M2TS file in the imports folder and already the audio is out of sync. At the beginning of the video, it's not out by much; half-way through its out of sync by about 2 seconds; and by the end it's out by around 5 seconds. So it gets worse throughout the video.
All of the videos are in MKV format, and the video streams are encoded with MPEG4/AVC/H264. All of the audio streams are either AC3 or EAC3. All of the video files have been run through VidCoder on the same preset, so it's strange to me that some import correctly and others do not.
I noticed in another thread (where someone had similar issues) that someone suggested using different decoding/frame serving options in the setup options. I tried Directshow, internal LAVF, and FRIMSource, but they all produce the same issue for me.
Here are my results of Help > Inspect:

[02-27-21] Checking System Settings
- BD-Rebuilder v0.61.21
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 160.88GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- LAVFILTERS: Ok
- X264: Ok
- X265: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok
[02-27-21] Systems Settings Check complete

Hope someone can help... Thanks.
Bilbo1238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.