Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st March 2021, 09:40   #1  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
AviSynth not working on Linux

Hi, people.

Just a short history before my question. I have been using AviSynth/AviSynth+ on Windows quite heavily with Audacity being my sound editor and VirtualDub - a renderer. At some point I fully switched to Linux (currently it's ArchLinux).

Then I discovered there is AviSynth+ fork for Linux! But it does not work for me apart from a basic test... Among piles of stuff on the web I found, for example, this guide: https://github.com/AviSynth/AviSynth...ting/posix.rst.

I use ArchLinux, so I got all the packages (didn't need to compile anything manually). My ffmpeg configuration includes --enable-avisynth flag. Version() works when I do "ffplay script.avs"

As for FFMS2, trying "FFVideoSource('file')" produced only -- Script error: There is no function named 'FFVideoSource'. And with with the recent install of avisynthplus I get: Cannot load file '/usr/lib/avisynth/libimageseq.so' when I run "ffplay -i test.avs". The .so file actually exists...

Thanks for any help in advance.
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2021, 13:50   #2  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,394
Quote:
Script error: There is no function named 'FFVideoSource'
Never used Avisynth+s Linux port, but looks like auto-loading doesn't work, so you would need to load the plugin manually. (http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Plugins#LoadPlugin)
This assumes you have a FFVideoSource plugin compiled.

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2021, 08:23   #3  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
Perhaps, I need a different AVISYNTH+ package...

I tried various combinations of:
AddAutoloadDir("...")
LoadPlugin(".../libimageseq.so")

It tries the right file (judging by the path -- I actually tried copying the .so file around), but the output is always the same (except for the path on the "Cannot load file" line):

[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7f001c000bc0] [debug] Opening 'film-test-linux.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7f001c0017c0] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avisynth @ 0x7f001c000bc0] [debug] Format avisynth probed with size=2048 and score=50
[avisynth @ 0x7f001c000bc0] [error] Cannot load file '/usr/lib/avisynth/libimageseq.so'.
(film-test-linux.avs, line 4)
[AVIOContext @ 0x7f001c009b80] [verbose] Statistics: 1596 bytes read, 0 seeks
[error] film-test-linux.avs: Unknown error occurred

Last edited by forgetfool; 23rd March 2021 at 08:28.
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2021, 13:42   #4  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,296
ImageSeq requires DevIL, which apparently is only listed as an optional dependency.
Code:
pacman -S community/devil
Not sure what the issue with FFMS2 is, aside from not having installed it, unless that's just the recursive shared library problem cropping up. If you install DJATOM/avs2yuv, you can pipe an FFMS2-using script to FFmpeg or mpv without the shared library issue causing a deadlock (alternatively, build FFMS2 against a minimal, static build of FFmpeg that you don't install to the system; then there won't be a conflict with the system's shared version of FFmpeg and anything that links to that).
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2021, 18:29   #5  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
THANKS! DevIL moved me further. Now I get

[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7ff65c000bc0] [debug] Opening 'film-test-linux.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7ff65c0017c0] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avisynth @ 0x7ff65c000bc0] [debug] Format avisynth probed with size=2048 and score=50
[info] nan : 0.000 fd= 0 aq= 0KB vq= 0KB sq= 0B f=0/0

...and it hangs forever. Is this the deadlock you've mentioned?

Btw, before your message I gave up and tried AUR avisynthplus-git and fmms2-git. That got me the same result as now (i.e. with latest + DevIL)
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 04:07   #6  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,296
Yup.

https://github.com/FFMS/ffms2/issues/369

You can test that you really get video by invoking ImageSource (since DevIL is installed now, so ImageSeq will work) to open a JPG or PNG.

Essentially, FFmpeg is built as shared. FFMS2 links to it, so it's going to use FFmpeg's shared libraries. FFmpeg loads AviSynth+, which (when using FFMS2) loads FFMS2. So FFmpeg is confronted with both itself linked to its own libraries and dlopened FFMS2 linking to those same libraries, and the process stalls (sometimes; see my response there and in the issue on AviSynth+'s issues tracker that I reference).

The most direct way to avoid that conflict is to make sure the FFmpeg libraries FFMS2 uses don't overlap with the system libraries, which is both good and (kind of) bad. Good, because in reality FFMS2 doesn't *need* a lot of those things enabled in FFmpeg, so using a build of FFmpeg for FFMS2 that only enables what it needs results in a much faster build process and a smaller FFMS2. Bad, because static linking is usually viewed as a huge no-no due to the maintenance burden of having to rebuild the entire thing when the underlying libraries need to update (although you'd still have to build FFmpeg again anyway, and FFMS2 is very small). Further, if you don't want that static version of FFMS2 conflicting with the version from the repo, you can build it but not install it to the system. AviSynth+ accepts both ~/.avisynth and ~/.local/lib/avisynth as directories to stash user-specific plugins in, although I haven't really tested to see whether those take absolute precedence over the presence of a symlink to the system FFMS2 in /usr/lib/avisynth.

As I mentioned, though, avs2yuv can work fine with the Community packages of all of these; the only downside is that you have to pipe rather than opening in FFmpeg or mpv directly (it wouldn't be such a problem if we had a NUT-producing pipe tool in the AviSynth+ tree).
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 14:55   #7  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post
(alternatively, build FFMS2 against a minimal, static build of FFmpeg that you don't install to the system; then there won't be a conflict with the system's shared version of FFmpeg and anything that links to that).
That seems to be the way that ffms2 is built in the guide...

Code:
#Ubuntu

    PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$HOME/ffmpeg_build/lib/pkgconfig \
    CPPFLAGS="-I/usr/local/include/avisynth" \
    ./autogen.sh --enable-shared --enable-avisynth && \
make -j$(nproc) && \
    sudo checkinstall --pkgname=ffms2 --pkgversion="1:$(./version.sh)-git" \
    --backup=no --deldoc=yes --delspec=yes --deldesc=yes --strip=yes --stripso=yes \
    --addso=yes --fstrans=no --default
...judging by the fact that PKG_CONFIG_PATH points to the ffmpeg created in $HOME when not installing to the system...

Code:
#Ubuntu

    ./configure --prefix=$HOME/ffmpeg_build --enable-gpl --enable-version3 \
    --disable-doc --disable-debug --enable-pic --enable-avisynth && \
make -j$(nproc) && \
make install
Presumably, the OP could follow the same instructions, leaving out checkinstall, which is for Debian/Slackware.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 16:02   #8  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,296
It's not entirely the way I wrote the guide. The guide assumes you're building FFmpeg for a distro that doesn't actually use --enable-avisynth, so it's a fully functional build of FFmpeg (albeit lacking many of the external libraries it can use). But because the FFmpeg is built static, that's the more important part as far as FFMS2 is concerned. The 'minimal' FFmpeg I'm referring to in the case of something specifically for FFMS2 (or L-SMASH-Works, same deal) is this:

Code:
cd ffmpeg && \
mkdir ffmpeg-build-for-ffms2 && \
cd ffmpeg-build-for-ffms2 && \
    ../../configure \
    --prefix=$HOME/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2 \
    --enable-gpl \
    --enable-version3 \
    --disable-encoders \
    --disable-muxers \
    --disable-doc \
    --disable-debug \
    --disable-devices \
    --disable-avdevice \
    --enable-libdav1d \
    --extra-cflags="-march=native" && \
make -j$(nproc) && \
make install
Aside from the zlib/bzip2/lzma/iconv stuff that FFmpeg automatically pulls in from the system if present, the only external library is libdav1d, and all the outputs are disabled, it's built as static, and installed to a spot in $HOME rather than the system.

At which point you'd simply change the PKG_CONFIG_PATH given to FFMS2 to $HOME/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2/lib/pkgconfig.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 17:55   #9  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 435
Apologies! I was focusing on the "building ffms2 against an ffmpeg that is not installed to the system" part and overlooked that you had specified a minimal, static build. My bad.

EDIT: In addition to the above, I cleared the "Unknown error occurred" message by copying the .so files (symlinking would probably have done) from /use/lib/local/ to $HOME/.local/lib/avisynth ( $HOME/.avisynth did not work, probably because of needing root permissions), pointing AddAutoloadDir() to that, and specifying an absolute file-path: FFVideoSource("/home/user/file.mkv").

Last edited by Richard1485; 26th March 2021 at 11:43.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2021, 18:16   #10  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
So I've built FFmpeg as mentioned by qyot27. Then I've built ffms2 (just did make install, as I don't have checkinstall). Even did all the stuff mentioned in the last message by Richard1485 (I only copied one file libfmms2.so, as nothing else I have is applicable I think).

On ffplay my avs script all I get is

[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7f4600000bc0] [debug] Opening 'film-test-linux.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7f46000017c0] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avisynth @ 0x7f4600000bc0] [debug] Format avisynth probed with size=2048 and score=50
[AVIOContext @ 0x7f4600009b80] [verbose] Statistics: 1680 bytes read, 0 seeks
[error] film-test-linux.avs: Unknown error occurred

- and exit (not a hang this time).

I get this even if I comment every single line of my avs script!!!

Btw, I am having vapoursynth trouble with libffms2.so in this thread: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...93#post1939093

Last edited by forgetfool; 26th March 2021 at 18:25.
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2021, 19:14   #11  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
Ok, I was using the wrong ffplay. The one in /usr/bin, not the one just build in /usr/local/bin...

Now with restart of the shell I get the following output (my script is only running Version()):

[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7f5e6c000c80] [debug] Opening 'film-test-linux.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7f5e6c001980] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avs2 @ 0x7f5e6c000c80] [warning] Format avs2 detected only with low score of 1, misdetection possible!
[avs2 @ 0x7f5e6c000c80] [debug] Before avformat_find_stream_info() pos: 0 bytes read:1693 seeks:0 nb_streams:1
[avs2 @ 0x7f5e6c000c80] [warning] Could not find codec parameters for stream 0 (Video: avs2, 1 reference frame, none): unspecified size
Consider increasing the value for the 'analyzeduration' (0) and 'probesize' (5000000) options
[avs2 @ 0x7f5e6c000c80] [debug] After avformat_find_stream_info() pos: 1693 bytes read:1693 seeks:0 frames:1
[info] Input #0, avs2, from 'film-test-linux.avs':
[info] Duration: N/A, bitrate: N/A
[info] Stream #0:0, 1, 1/1200000: Video: avs2, 1 reference frame, none, 1200k tbr, 1200k tbn, 1200k tbc
[warning] No decoder could be found for codec avs2
[fatal] Failed to open file 'film-test-linux.avs' or configure filtergraph
[AVIOContext @ 0x7f5e6c009dc0] [verbose] Statistics: 1693 bytes read, 0 seeks
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2021, 20:41   #12  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by forgetfool View Post
Now with restart of the shell I get the following output (my script is only running Version()):

...

[avs2 @ 0x7f5e6c000c80] [warning] Format avs2 detected only with low score of 1, misdetection possible!
That's weird. AVS2 is the Chinese equivalent of HEVC. Obviously, the message reads "misdetection possible", but you say that the script contains only Version()? Check that you really have commented everything else out and that you cloned the right repo.

EDIT: ffplay might be mistaking the extension for a format, but that shouldn't happen if it is built with --enable-avisynth. I didn't know that mainstream ffmpeg even knew to look for avs2, but I guess it's been added.

Last edited by Richard1485; 26th March 2021 at 21:58.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2021, 06:40   #13  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
Ok, I started all over. (Deleted all the old stuff.)



AviSynth+
---------

git clone git://github.com/AviSynth/AviSynthPlus.git
cd AviSynthPlus
mkdir avisynth-build
cd avisynth-build
cmake ../ -G Ninja
ninja

su
ninja install



FFmpeg
------

git clone git://git.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.git
cd ffmpeg
mkdir ffmpeg-build-for-ffms2
cd ffmpeg-build-for-ffms2
../configure \
--prefix=$HOME/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2 \
--enable-gpl \
--enable-version3 \
--disable-encoders \
--disable-muxers \
--disable-doc \
--disable-debug \
--disable-devices \
--disable-avdevice \
--enable-libdav1d \
--extra-cflags="-march=native"
make -j$(nproc)

su
make install


Test 1
-------

nano test.avs
Version()

./ffplay -i test.avs

[info] ffplay version N-101739-gcad3a5d715 Copyright (c) 2003-2021 the FFmpeg developers
[info] built with gcc 10.2.0 (GCC)
[info] configuration: --prefix=/home/user1/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2 --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-encoders --disable-muxers --disable-doc --disable-debug --disable-devices --disable-avdevice --enable-libdav1d --extra-cflags='-march=native'
[info] libavutil 56. 72.100 / 56. 72.100
[info] libavcodec 58.135.100 / 58.135.100
[info] libavformat 58. 77.100 / 58. 77.100
[info] libavfilter 7.111.100 / 7.111.100
[info] libswscale 5. 10.100 / 5. 10.100
[info] libswresample 3. 10.100 / 3. 10.100
[info] libpostproc 55. 10.100 / 55. 10.100
[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [debug] Opening 'test.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7ff1a8001980] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [warning] Format avs2 detected only with low score of 1, misdetection possible!
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [debug] Before avformat_find_stream_info() pos: 0 bytes read:11 seeks:0 nb_streams:1
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [warning] Could not find codec parameters for stream 0 (Video: avs2, 1 reference frame, none): unspecified size
Consider increasing the value for the 'analyzeduration' (0) and 'probesize' (5000000) options
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [debug] After avformat_find_stream_info() pos: 11 bytes read:11 seeks:0 frames:1
[info] Input #0, avs2, from 'test.avs':
[info] Duration: N/A, bitrate: N/A
[info] Stream #0:0, 1, 1/1200000: Video: avs2, 1 reference frame, none, 1200k tbr, 1200k tbn, 1200k tbc
[warning] No decoder could be found for codec avs2
[fatal] Failed to open file 'test.avs' or configure filtergraph
[AVIOContext @ 0x7ff1a8009dc0] [verbose] Statistics: 11 bytes read, 0 seeks


Any suggestion what to try?
THANKS
!
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2021, 07:14   #14  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
And if I follow this guide: https://github.com/AviSynth/AviSynth...ting/posix.rst, up to test installation with Version(), I get just this:

[info] ffplay version N-101739-gcad3a5d715 Copyright (c) 2003-2021 the FFmpeg developers
[info] built with gcc 10.2.0 (GCC)
[info] configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-doc --disable-debug --enable-pic --enable-avisynth --cc=cc
[info] libavutil 56. 72.100 / 56. 72.100
[info] libavcodec 58.135.100 / 58.135.100
[info] libavformat 58. 77.100 / 58. 77.100
[info] libavdevice 58. 14.100 / 58. 14.100
[info] libavfilter 7.111.100 / 7.111.100
[info] libswscale 5. 10.100 / 5. 10.100
[info] libswresample 3. 10.100 / 3. 10.100
[info] libpostproc 55. 10.100 / 55. 10.100
[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7f9b14000c80] [debug] Opening 'test.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7f9b14001980] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avisynth @ 0x7f9b14000c80] [debug] Format avisynth probed with size=2048 and score=50
[AVIOContext @ 0x7f9b14009dc0] [verbose] Statistics: 11 bytes read, 0 seeks
[error] test.avs: Unknown error occurred

I don't think any AddAutoLoadDir() is needed for just Version(), right?

So I went back to previous ../configure options. I think we didn't get something right in ffmpeg configure...

Last edited by forgetfool; 27th March 2021 at 08:04.
forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2021, 12:18   #15  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by forgetfool View Post
Ok, I started all over. (Deleted all the old stuff.)



AviSynth+
---------

git clone git://github.com/AviSynth/AviSynthPlus.git
cd AviSynthPlus
mkdir avisynth-build
cd avisynth-build
cmake ../ -G Ninja
ninja

su
ninja install



FFmpeg
------

git clone git://git.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.git
cd ffmpeg
mkdir ffmpeg-build-for-ffms2
cd ffmpeg-build-for-ffms2
../configure \
--prefix=$HOME/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2 \
--enable-gpl \
--enable-version3 \
--disable-encoders \
--disable-muxers \
--disable-doc \
--disable-debug \
--disable-devices \
--disable-avdevice \
--enable-libdav1d \
--extra-cflags="-march=native"
make -j$(nproc)

su
make install


Test 1
-------

nano test.avs
Version()

./ffplay -i test.avs

[info] ffplay version N-101739-gcad3a5d715 Copyright (c) 2003-2021 the FFmpeg developers
[info] built with gcc 10.2.0 (GCC)
[info] configuration: --prefix=/home/user1/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2 --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-encoders --disable-muxers --disable-doc --disable-debug --disable-devices --disable-avdevice --enable-libdav1d --extra-cflags='-march=native'
[info] libavutil 56. 72.100 / 56. 72.100
[info] libavcodec 58.135.100 / 58.135.100
[info] libavformat 58. 77.100 / 58. 77.100
[info] libavfilter 7.111.100 / 7.111.100
[info] libswscale 5. 10.100 / 5. 10.100
[info] libswresample 3. 10.100 / 3. 10.100
[info] libpostproc 55. 10.100 / 55. 10.100
[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [debug] Opening 'test.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7ff1a8001980] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [warning] Format avs2 detected only with low score of 1, misdetection possible!
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [debug] Before avformat_find_stream_info() pos: 0 bytes read:11 seeks:0 nb_streams:1
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [warning] Could not find codec parameters for stream 0 (Video: avs2, 1 reference frame, none): unspecified size
Consider increasing the value for the 'analyzeduration' (0) and 'probesize' (5000000) options
[avs2 @ 0x7ff1a8000c80] [debug] After avformat_find_stream_info() pos: 11 bytes read:11 seeks:0 frames:1
[info] Input #0, avs2, from 'test.avs':
[info] Duration: N/A, bitrate: N/A
[info] Stream #0:0, 1, 1/1200000: Video: avs2, 1 reference frame, none, 1200k tbr, 1200k tbn, 1200k tbc
[warning] No decoder could be found for codec avs2
[fatal] Failed to open file 'test.avs' or configure filtergraph
[AVIOContext @ 0x7ff1a8009dc0] [verbose] Statistics: 11 bytes read, 0 seeks


Any suggestion what to try?
THANKS
!
Of course it didn't work. Those were the minimal FFmpeg instructions intended only to build FFMS2, and AviSynth wasn't enabled. Even if it was, you wouldn't be able to do anything with it.

Quote:
And if I follow this guide: https://github.com/AviSynth/AviSynth...ting/posix.rst, up to test installation with Version(), I get just this:

[info] ffplay version N-101739-gcad3a5d715 Copyright (c) 2003-2021 the FFmpeg developers
[info] built with gcc 10.2.0 (GCC)
[info] configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --disable-doc --disable-debug --enable-pic --enable-avisynth --cc=cc
[info] libavutil 56. 72.100 / 56. 72.100
[info] libavcodec 58.135.100 / 58.135.100
[info] libavformat 58. 77.100 / 58. 77.100
[info] libavdevice 58. 14.100 / 58. 14.100
[info] libavfilter 7.111.100 / 7.111.100
[info] libswscale 5. 10.100 / 5. 10.100
[info] libswresample 3. 10.100 / 3. 10.100
[info] libpostproc 55. 10.100 / 55. 10.100
[verbose] Initialized opengl renderer.
[NULL @ 0x7f9b14000c80] [debug] Opening 'test.avs' for reading
[file @ 0x7f9b14001980] [debug] Setting default whitelist 'file,crypto,data'
[avisynth @ 0x7f9b14000c80] [debug] Format avisynth probed with size=2048 and score=50
[AVIOContext @ 0x7f9b14009dc0] [verbose] Statistics: 11 bytes read, 0 seeks
[error] test.avs: Unknown error occurred

I don't think any AddAutoLoadDir() is needed for just Version(), right?

So I went back to previous ../configure options. I think we didn't get something right in ffmpeg configure...
Code:
ls -l /usr/local/lib/libavisynth*
There should be three files it lists: libavisynth.so.3.7.0, libavisynth.so.8, and libavisynth.so. For whatever reason, the libavisynth.so symlink doesn't always get installed.



Or much more easily:
1) Install AviSynth+ and FFmpeg from the Community repo.
2) Build/install minimal FFmpeg as listed above
3) Build/install FFMS2, directing PKG_CONFIG_PATH to the minimal FFmpeg and installing it to $HOME/.local:
Code:
    PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$HOME/ffmpeg_build_for_ffms2/lib/pkgconfig \
    CPPFLAGS="-I/usr/include/avisynth" \
    ./autogen.sh --prefix=$HOME/.local --libdir=$HOME/.local/lib/avisynth --enable-shared --enable-avisynth && \
make -j$(nproc)
make install
And then whenever you feel the need to update FFMS2 (every few months or something), repeat steps 2 & 3.

You may or may not need to add $HOME/.local/bin to the $PATH in your user profile so you can use ffmsindex.

Do not use root permissions when installing things to your $HOME directory. That is asking for trouble.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2021, 16:27   #16  |  Link
forgetfool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 20
Ok, thank you so much, qyo27! I did what you said, and it all works now. FFVideoSource + FFAudioSource -- all good.

forgetfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.