Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th July 2018, 20:28   #8581  |  Link
Danette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 79
I just updated to 2836 and, now, all of my attempts to encode, using One-Click, result in instant failure after the indexing process, i.e.: when encoding starts. The progress window never appears. The avs error reported is: "Error occurred while writing frame 0" followed by another error message: "process exits with error: 0xFFFFFFFF (-1)". This happens with many different m2v files. Before updating, there were no problems.
Danette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2018, 13:37   #8582  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danette View Post
I just updated to 2836 and, now, all of my attempts to encode, using One-Click, result in instant failure after the indexing process, i.e.: when encoding starts. The progress window never appears. The avs error reported is: "Error occurred while writing frame 0" followed by another error message: "process exits with error: 0xFFFFFFFF (-1)". This happens with many different m2v files. Before updating, there were no problems.
Please provide a log and if possible update to the latest development version.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2018, 13:08   #8583  |  Link
Pulp Catalyst
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 264
Is there any chance that someone can share simple profiles that can take care of most generic jobs.

like DVD's, and & Bluray conversions.

also a couple of QTGMC - Medium pre-sets for dealing with interlaced stuff.

i only ask, because there are hundreds of threads, and i hoped by asking, perhaps some f you more veteran users could share just some simple generic profiles that can get me started?

thanks.
Pulp Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2018, 14:18   #8584  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,486
Profiles for ... what? AviSynth filter sets, or encoder parameter sets?
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2018, 18:39   #8585  |  Link
Pulp Catalyst
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 264
forgive me,

i was referring to the all in one profiles used for one click encode, that the all in one click will take it que from (if you will)?

I'm aware that the script will need to be adjust for my system setup, but i was hoping for those that have already got there foot firmly in the door, to kindly share some simple yet effective generic profiles.

if at all possible?

Thanks,

note: i have a i7 3770k cpu (which is quad core, with 8 threads total).

i would like to have profiles that will be relatively efficient?

Last edited by Pulp Catalyst; 31st July 2018 at 18:41.
Pulp Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 00:37   #8586  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,634
Zathor,

I'm working on a new version of my cropping/resizing script, and it occurred to me it could play nice with MeGUI.

I discovered if a function creates the same global variables as MeGUI, the new values replace the original ones and MeGUI uses them when loading the script (I'd not thought about it before and assumed MeGUI read the actual text somehow).

Anyway, is there any limitation for the aspect ratio variables? Float seems to be a showstopper, but would particularly large integers cause problems?

global MeGUI_darx = 4
global MeGUI_dary = 3

And because you don't know unless you ask..... is that the only way to supply MeGUI with an aspect ratio via a script? Specifying a display or sample aspect ratio as float would be nice.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 08:11   #8587  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,486
The MeGUI_dar* variables won't be interesting for AviSynth in any way, they are just variables which will be ignored because they are never used in calculations (at least not in the AviSynth script). MeGUI will recognize them as remarks, to calculate SAR values to pass them along for encoder command line options, e.g. x264/x265: "--sar <width:height|int>". I guess MeGUI is able to calculate brief SAR values either way...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 8th August 2018 at 08:28.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 10:40   #8588  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 5,777
HH, here prototype script functions for setting dar prior to implementation in RT_Stats,
I regularly use scripts that set Display Aspect Ratio in MeGUI.

Code:
Function GetCropDAR(clip c,float DAR,float "X",float "Y",float "W",float "H") {
# Call prior to Crop/Resize with (possibly fractional) cropping to calc resultant DAR, X,Y,W,H are cropping coords
#   DAR = FAR * SAR   :::   FAR = DAR / SAR   :::   SAR = DAR / FAR
#
    X=Float(Default(X,0.0)) Y=Float(Default(Y,0.0)) W=Float(Default(W,0.0)) H=Float(Default(H,0.0))
    W=W<=0.0?c.width+W-X:W  H=H<=0.0?c.height+H-Y:H
    # we dont allow eg -ve X
    Assert(X>=0.0&&X  < c.width, "GetCropDAR: Invalid X("+String(X)+")")
    Assert(Y>=0.0&&Y  < c.height,"GetCropDAR: Invalid Y("+String(Y)+")")
    Assert(W> 0.0&&X+W<=c.width, "GetCropDAR: Invalid W("+String(W)+")")
    Assert(H> 0.0&&Y+H<=c.height,"GetCropDAR: Invalid H("+String(H)+")")
    Return c.GetSAR(DAR) * W / H
}

#--------------

# From MeGUI Wiki:
Function GetDAR(clip c, float SAR) { return Float(c.width) * SAR / Float(c.height)}     # Gets the DAR from the SAR
Function GetSAR(clip c, float DAR) { return DAR * Float(c.height) / Float(c.width) }    # Gets the SAR from the DAR
Function SignalDAR(float DAR){ # Signal DAR for MEGUI (Name change from SetDar)
    Assert(DAR>0.0, "SignalDAR: Error, DAR must be greater than zero")
    Global MeGUI_darx=Round(1000*DAR) Global MeGUI_dary=1000
}
Function SignalDAR2(int DARX,int DARY){
    Assert(DARX>0 && DARY>0, "SignalDAR2: Error, DARX and DARY must be greater than zero")
    Global MeGUI_darx=DARX Global MeGUI_dary=DARY
}
EDIT: GetDAR and GetSAR return results as Float, not integer pairs.
EDIT: Might also be of interest:- http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Interna...2C_Denominator
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 8th August 2018 at 10:53.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 15:42   #8589  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
The MeGUI_dar* variables won't be interesting for AviSynth in any way, they are just variables which will be ignored because they are never used in calculations (at least not in the AviSynth script). MeGUI will recognize them as remarks, to calculate SAR values to pass them along for encoder command line options, e.g. x264/x265: "--sar <width:height|int>". I guess MeGUI is able to calculate brief SAR values either way...
Not of an interest to Avisynth itself, but they can still be used by scripts.
MeGUI doesn't seem to recognize them as remarks as such, but as global variables just as Avisynth does. I don't know how it works, but that's what happens.

For instance if I create a simple function such as this one:

Code:
function MeGUIAspect(clip c)     {
global MeGUI_darx = 16
global MeGUI_dary = 9
Return c     }
And add it to a script after MeGUI has added it's own aspect ratio variables:

Code:
# Set DAR in encoder to 4 : 3. The following line is for automatic signalling
global MeGUI_darx = 4
global MeGUI_dary = 3

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\dgindex\DGDecode.dll")
DGDecode_mpeg2source("D:\video.d2v")

MeGUIAspect()
When the script is saved and loaded, MeGUI will see the display aspect ratio as 16:9, not 4:3.

The only "gotcha" is MeGUI decides on the aspect ratio when it loads the script, so you can't change it later. If you change the resolution after loading a script and there's no aspect info (it's not anamorphic), MeGUI will still adjust the SAR to give you the original DAR, so you have to delete the script from the job queue and load it again.
I'm not sure why it works that way as the log file informs you the aspect ratio has changed, although I think it should be a warning message, but MeGUI uses the original DAR even though it's aware it's changed.

Changing my function above to a 2:1 aspect ratio after adding the script to the job queue:

Code:
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:21 AM] AviSynth input script
--[NoImage] # Set DAR in encoder to 4 : 3. The following line is for automatic signalling
--[NoImage] global MeGUI_darx = 4
--[NoImage] global MeGUI_dary = 3
--[NoImage] LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\dgindex\DGDecode.dll")
--[NoImage] DGDecode_mpeg2source("D:\video.d2v")
--[NoImage] MeGUIAspect()
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:22 AM] resolution: 720x480
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:22 AM] frame rate: 30000/1001
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:22 AM] frames: 44477
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:22 AM] length: 00:24:44.049
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:22 AM] aspect ratio (avs): 2:1 (2.000)
-[Information] [09/08/18 12:36:22 AM] aspect ratio (job): 16:9 (1.778)

Last edited by hello_hello; 8th August 2018 at 15:51.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 15:43   #8590  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
HH, here prototype script functions for setting dar prior to implementation in RT_Stats,
I regularly use scripts that set Display Aspect Ratio in MeGUI.
Thanks for that, it should help once I get my head around it.

I think I understand what you quoted from the wiki, but to confirm, there's no other way to give MeGUI an aspect ratio via a script other than using global MeGUI_darx & global MeGUI_dary?

Cheers.

Last edited by hello_hello; 8th August 2018 at 16:10.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2018, 17:58   #8591  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
Not of an interest to Avisynth itself, but they can still be used by scripts.
True. MeGUI may not generate scripts relying on them (yet), but you may do that manually.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2018, 02:12   #8592  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,634
I've added anamorphic resizing to the script but no doubt it'll take me a while to refine it so I'm happy. I'll play with it when I have time to kill.....

The script's picking up MeGUI's global aspect variables (4:3 NTSC ITU in the screenshot), and after fixing my usual abundance of stupids, it's now getting the maths right. For the moment, the new aspect variables created by the script are displaying as a yellow subtitle so I can keep an eye on them.

The way I intended to support anamorphic resizing isn't as initiative as it was in my head, so I'm rethinking some of that, and several of the script's options need to become "anamorphic aware" in order to work correctly, but the plan's slowly coming together.....


Last edited by hello_hello; 9th August 2018 at 02:43.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2018, 12:06   #8593  |  Link
greatfinders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 19
i have an issue from sometimes with megui , i don't remember since when as megui allways auto-update but megui can't detect interlacing anymore, i tried with any vob, i allways have the same issue no matter the vob, d2v i use, i even deleted megui and redownload the last version it's the same things

i am the only one?
greatfinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.