Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th May 2020, 18:18   #14961  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
Many TrueHD are only 16 bitdepth.

I think ripbot uses AviSynth decoders, maybe are more permissives for errors and skip some bad frames, check if the length is correct.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2020, 23:56   #14962  |  Link
cypher007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Many TrueHD are only 16 bitdepth.

I think ripbot uses AviSynth decoders, maybe are more permissives for errors and skip some bad frames, check if the length is correct.
will do. thanks very much for the help.
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2020, 18:37   #14963  |  Link
StormMeows
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Hi guys, hopefully someone can help. I'm trying to do something that I thought would be relatively easy but cannot figure it out.

Here is my goal first of all: I am trying to figure out what subtitles are "forced" and also which title is the main title of the movie on blu-ray files, folders, and ISOs so that I can use MKVtoolnix to convert the movie to .MKV and then I can check the box for "default track" when there is a forced track. A movie example would be something like "Avatar" where there is foreign language spoken but only in certain parts of the movies. If I use something like MakeMKV and do the backup blu-ray disc to .MKV then I can select all of the sub title tracks and save it, but when I play the file in something like Kodi or Plex, then I will have to manually select a subtitle track and know which movies have forced subtitles. There are movies like 10 Things I Hate About You that have a French forced subtitle track that I would have no clue it existed unless I knew the movie.

I was advised that I could use eac3to and figure out which title on the disc is the "main title" and if it has a forced subtitle track within 30 seconds or so. Then I could use something like BDSupforsub and get the correct subtitle, then remux the movie using the MKVtoolnix.

So here's my problem. I downloaded the eac3to and have it in a folder on my desktop (it has the .exe file in here and some .dll files) then I went into the System C drive to locate CMD.exe . I copy and pasted the CMD.exe into the folder for eac3to.

Then I am trying to type in this: C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to>D:\Pulp Fiction.1994\ and I get "DNS server not authoritative for zone."

What am I doing wrong? I just want to figure out which movies have forced subtitles so I can select the subtitle track in MKVtoolnix as the "default" track to blu-rays and 4K .MKV files so when I play them in Plex and Kodi I won't have to worry about finding out which sub track is the correct one, etc.

Thanks for any help from a newb.
StormMeows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 03:02   #14964  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormMeows View Post
I copy and pasted the CMD.exe into the folder for eac3to.
For what? It's not needed.

Quote:
Then I am trying to type in this: C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to>D:\Pulp Fiction.1994\
For what the >?

C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to "D:\Pulp Fiction.1994"

[Edited because r0lZ next post]
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 23rd May 2020 at 11:49.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 08:08   #14965  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
For what the >?

C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to D:\Pulp Fiction.1994\
Or:
C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to "D:\Pulp Fiction.1994"
The quotes are necessary due to the space between pulp and fiction.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 11:48   #14966  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,810
Yep, I don't see the space.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 00:16   #14967  |  Link
StormMeows
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
For what? It's not needed.



For what the >?

C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to "D:\Pulp Fiction.1994"

[Edited because r0lZ next post]
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Or:
C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to "D:\Pulp Fiction.1994"
The quotes are necessary due to the space between pulp and fiction.
Hey guys I have tried both of these and it just gives me this error: Desktop\Remux\eac3to is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. Any thoughts? Thanks for the help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
For what? It's not needed.



For what the >?

C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to "D:\Pulp Fiction.1994"

[Edited because r0lZ next post]
I put them in the same folder so I do not have to type out the first part every time. I can just start with the "D:" portion, but as mentioned in my last post, I cannot get the eac3to to even work. I really want to figure out what blu-rays have forced subtitles and this is the only way I know that I can do this. Hope you can help. thanks

Last edited by StormMeows; 24th May 2020 at 00:21.
StormMeows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 00:20   #14968  |  Link
StormMeows
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
edited my other post.
StormMeows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 08:32   #14969  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormMeows View Post
Hey guys I have tried both of these and it just gives me this error: Desktop\Remux\eac3to is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. Any thoughts? Thanks for the help!
Desktop\Remux\eac3to is not the complete path. You have to type:
C:\Users\robma\Desktop\Remux\eac3to
Or, easier, just open the command prompt window and the folder containing eac3to. Then, drag eac3to.exe to the command prompt window. The full path of the command will be inserted automatically. Then, all you have to do is to type the path of the folder to process, like "D:\Pulp Fiction.1994". You can also type just the beginning of the path (like D:\p) and then use the TAB key to complete automatically the path name.

cmd.exe must NOT be copied, and it is not necessary to type its full path. It's a system command, available from everywhere. If you really want to open it from a specific folder, right-click the background of the folder and select New -> Shortcut. In the dialog, type cmd and hit OK twice. Now, right-click the new shortcut and select Properties. Remove whatever path is in the "Start in:" field. Hit OK. Now, when you will double-click that shortcut, the command prompt window will be opened, with the current directory already defined.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 16:43   #14970  |  Link
dade49
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Seamless MLP Atmos

Any chance Madshi would be willing to look at the following to properly fix seamless branching of MLP/Atmos tracks? Been using eac3to forever, but there does appear to be issues with TrueHD seamless branching. Thanks.

https://github.com/domyd/mlp
dade49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.