Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th February 2009, 21:32   #721  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
I'm glad to hear that you did it.

Welcome to the advanced world of video editing



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 23:20   #722  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post

Welcome to the of video editing
Thanks. If it wasn't for the help I got I could have never come up with those scripts.

Now I have a hard way uphill to learn what filters to use and how.

For instance, which would be a nice filter to "cheat" resolution a bit when converting from a 720p MKV file to an MPEG2 file to author a DVD?

LimitedSharpenFaster perhaps?

How can I select small pieces of the file to use as tests for possible combinations?
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 00:33   #723  |  Link
leoliver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 57
The latest build works great !

So far I've used the latest AVStoDVD build to encode two different .avi video clips into DVD ready movies. And both times
AVStoDVD worked well without a problem.
Keep up the good work.
__________________
Your Friend,
Larry
leoliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 10:02   #724  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart@centroin.com.br View Post
For instance, which would be a nice filter to "cheat" resolution a bit when converting from a 720p MKV file to an MPEG2 file to author a DVD?

LimitedSharpenFaster perhaps?
That's a good question for AviSynth forum section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart@centroin.com.br View Post
How can I select small pieces of the file to use as tests for possible combinations?
Go to 'Title Edit'/'AviSynth', toggle off 'Auto AviSynth Script' and use 'Trim' filter. I.e. insert 0 - 1000 frames.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 13:26   #725  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
That's a good question for AviSynth forum section.
Great. I'll go there put my questions.


Quote:
Go to 'Title Edit'/'AviSynth', toggle off 'Auto AviSynth Script' and use 'Trim' filter. I.e. insert 0 - 1000 frames.
Great. I will use that for my tests.

Is there a way to use AVStoDVd just to output the AC3 track? How?
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 14:54   #726  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart@centroin.com.br View Post
Is there a way to use AVStoDVd just to output the AC3 track? How?
Well, there is not a proper function, but you can use a workaround:

- from the taskbar select 'Output'/'Elementary MPEG2 streams'
- load your file to demux audio
- select 'Title Edit'/'Video', toggle off 'Auto Video Setup'
- select 'QuEnc CBR 1-pass' from 'Video Encoding Profile'
- press OK and press START
- after few video encoding seconds, stop QuEnc
- let audio encoding finish off

you will get a small unuseless m2v file and a full AC3 file.

Or, more simply, use eac3to.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 22:05   #727  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
Or, more simply, use eac3to.
Yes, I ended up using eac3 to GUI to make the conversion. Now I am looking for a way to increase levels in the AC3 file.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 12:40   #728  |  Link
Flux
Registered User
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 109
How I can preserve my custom menu, if I want to replace the video source from a title with another one? For now, I have edited the project file and changed video paths manually, but is there easier way?

BTW, thanks for creating AVStoDVD. Everything is so easy to understand because there is not useless crap to confuse and still encoded quality is very good. And it is free! =)
__________________
Interlaced, 50 Hz and 60 Hz, 24 fps film. These are evil artifacts from the past which still possess modern video technology.

Last edited by Flux; 23rd February 2009 at 12:46.
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 14:06   #729  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
@Flux

you went on the only (now available) way to change one title without resetting the DVD Menu setup.

In my neverending ToDo list, there is a "Save custom DVD menu template" item...



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 14:52   #730  |  Link
Wishbringer
Silent Reader
 
Wishbringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 292
I have some problems with a few BluRay discs I want to convert to DVD.
They contain DTS-HD streams.
AVStoDVD converts them to wav (with some warnings that wav will be over 4GB). Shown playtime seems not ok, over 6000 Hours?!
Then Aften starts AC3 encoding and ends up with an buffer overflow error at 0% (in console window).
Wishbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 16:55   #731  |  Link
gizzin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
I have some problems with a few BluRay discs I want to convert to DVD.
They contain DTS-HD streams.
AVStoDVD converts them to wav (with some warnings that wav will be over 4GB). Shown playtime seems not ok, over 6000 Hours?!
Then Aften starts AC3 encoding and ends up with an buffer overflow error at 0% (in console window).
I think thats cause it doesn't support it yet. But if you really want to make a dvd out of a blueray. Just extract the streams using tsmuxer. Than use eac3to. encode the audio to ac3. Then use tsmuxer again to mux it back together. Run it through AvsToDVD again and click keep dvd compliant audio.
gizzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 21:43   #732  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
@Wishbringer

I must admit that I have never tried to use AVStoDVD as BD "downgrader"... mainly because I do not have any BDs...

But, if you can provide a short sample of your BD or, at least, the AVStoDVD project log file, it could be a good start.

Gizzin's method () should work well, even if it is not a "one-click" solution.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 12:12   #733  |  Link
Wishbringer
Silent Reader
 
Wishbringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
@Wishbringer
But, if you can provide a short sample of your BD or, at least, the AVStoDVD project log file, it could be a good start.
Tomorrow, am not at home atm. Will try to upload at MediaFire m2ts sample and log.
Wishbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 15:07   #734  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
Is it possible to join one or several avi files with AVStoDVD?

How?
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 18:45   #735  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
Is it possible to join one or several avi files with AVStoDVD?

How?
Please explain better because your question is not clear. Literally it means "input: more avi files / output: one avi file".



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 23:39   #736  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
Please explain better because your question is not clear. Literally it means "input: more avi files / output: one avi file".
When I capture something from my camera or Canopus converter, it splits the files in shots or shorter multiple avi files.

Until now I joined the files in Procoder or in VirtualDub, making just one file instead of many of them.

In VirtualDub this is called "Append", in Procoder is called "Stitch".
How is it called in AVStoDVD?
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2009, 00:25   #737  |  Link
gizzin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 324
Quote:
When I capture something from my camera or Canopus converter, it splits the files in shots or shorter multiple avi files.

Until now I joined the files in Procoder or in VirtualDub, making just one file instead of many of them.

In VirtualDub this is called "Append", in Procoder is called "Stitch".
How is it called in AVStoDVD?
You can't do this in avstodvd. Its probably on the todo list I'd imagine. Just keep using virtualdub its not that much extra work is it?
gizzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2009, 00:08   #738  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
OK. I will keep using VD for that.

Here's another one: how can you set exactly the size of the m2v file you are going to get from AVStoDVD?

In Procoder I do that by setting the output bitrate. In TMPGEnc 4.0 Express by going to DVD9, to free the maximum bitrate, and filling in the size you wish to.

I still can't see how you do that with AVStoDVD. Is it possible?

Correction: can I do that simply by setting the minimum bitrate the program should use. Perhaps using the value BitrateCalc suggests?

Last edited by carlmart; 27th February 2009 at 14:00.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2009, 15:14   #739  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
how can you set exactly the size of the m2v file you are going to get from AVStoDVD?
Size targeting (m2v+ac3):
- press 'DVD Size'/'Custom' in the toolbar
- enter your custom DVD size

Bitrate targeting:
- load you input files
- press 'Title Edit'/'Video'
- toggle off 'Auto Video Setup'
- toggle off 'Auto BitRate Calculation'
- edit 'Video Avg BitRate'



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2009, 15:23   #740  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
Size targeting (m2v+ac3):
- press 'DVD Size'/'Custom' in the toolbar
- enter your custom DVD size
Is it possible to toggle-off AC3? To convert just m2v?

Quote:
Bitrate targeting:
- load you input files
- press 'Title Edit'/'Video'
- toggle off 'Auto Video Setup'
- toggle off 'Auto BitRate Calculation'
- edit 'Video Avg BitRate'
Thanks.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.