Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st July 2020, 07:27   #1161  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Usually I save single letter words "i", "a", etc to Names because they can't be found in Italian dictionary and stops the OCR processing.

Any idea to solve this issue?
Why don't you add them to the dictionary? Then they won't stop the process.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2020, 08:40   #1162  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Why don't you add them to the dictionary? Then they won't stop the process.

You read the first two lines?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2020, 19:14   #1163  |  Link
loninapleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 30
A simple question on Subtitle Edit. I appreciate the previous help give to me as a new user.

The current problem I have is I am in OCR Hell. I used a quick link
to explain why OCR opens on a demuxed (using Inviska from Toolnix) SUB/idix from a Handbrak DVD rip.

All I need (I think) is to convert the SUB/idx pair into SRT so
I can add some translations to the work. But I got lost in the OCR screen activities.

Are there a few simple steps to do this?
loninapleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2020, 22:18   #1164  |  Link
nekrovski
Registered User
 
nekrovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 50
Too bad there's no Subtitle Edit for games



nekrovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2020, 07:39   #1165  |  Link
loninapleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by loninapleton View Post
A simple question on Subtitle Edit. I appreciate the previous help give to me as a new user.

The current problem I have is I am in OCR Hell. I used a quick link
to explain why OCR opens on a demuxed (using Inviska from Toolnix) SUB/idix from a Handbrak DVD rip.

All I need (I think) is to convert the SUB/idx pair into SRT so
I can add some translations to the work. But I got lost in the OCR screen activities.

Are there a few simple steps to do this?
Progress. I downloaded Tesseract 5 and started the OCR operation which will run for a while.

Press Ok, Return to Main Screen File > Save As >Subrip.

Success.

A fine program I will have to explore again.
loninapleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 01:32   #1166  |  Link
loninapleton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 30
An additional problem I'm working on.

Can Subtitle edit join a first and second part of an edited MKV?

The recode was made from DVD originally and then I added an act break--
like being at the theatre. I've had a request for subs for that piece.

I can redo from the DVD from scratch or begin a join of the parts one and two.

Subtitles extracted from my MKV are SUB Idx like the initial item I asked about.

Can either the OCR version or an SRT made with Subtitle Edit's features
combine into one SRT?
loninapleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2020, 18:18   #1167  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 95
Hi guys,

I need your help urgently because I must deliver an EBU N19 (STL) file to a channel. Their software reported the following error: "MISSING STARTBOX!"

Do you know what am I missing in the EBU properties during the export?

Thank you very much.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2020, 18:54   #1168  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
Hi guys,

I need your help urgently because I must deliver an EBU N19 (STL) file to a channel. Their software reported the following error: "MISSING STARTBOX!"

Do you know what am I missing in the EBU properties during the export?

Thank you very much.
Could you try: Display standard code = 1 Level-1 teletext ?
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2020, 19:00   #1169  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Could you try: Display standard code = 1 Level-1 teletext ?
That's the one I already use.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2020, 19:04   #1170  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 315
OK, in "Text and timing information" - do you have "Use box around text" checked?
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2020, 19:45   #1171  |  Link
Lucius Snow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
OK, in "Text and timing information" - do you have "Use box around text" checked?
Nope. By the way, I downloaded a softwared called EBUSTLViewer which reported the attached file with 5 errors. They appear with or without "Use box around text" checked.

I tried to re-export the EBU STL from another software and these 5 errors disappear. I don't know if they're linked to this "start box" issue reported by the TV channel.
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: zip Subtitles_DieuNestPlusMedecin_EBU_Latin_fr-FR_SME_25fps.zip

Last edited by Lucius Snow; 7th August 2020 at 14:36.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2020, 18:06   #1172  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
Nope. By the way, I downloaded a softwared called EBUSTLViewer which reported the attached file with 5 errors. They appear with or without "Use box around text" checked.

I tried to re-export the EBU STL from another software and these 5 errors disappear. I don't know if they're linked to this "start box" issue reported by the TV channel.
Could you perhaps upload to some file share site?
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.