Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st July 2020, 21:14   #29781  |  Link
meadrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Beach, Ca USA
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Did you try Subtitle Edit to check out the Subtitles?

I can confirm that x265 only results in MKVs, even if MP4 is requested as container.
x264 seems to output the correct container.
I'll check it out Sunday, as Im out of town.
meadrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 04:57   #29782  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
You got that right, just ask @gonca...
Just ask at-gonca?? That's like saying "I want to use the ATM machine." since ATM is an acronym for Automatic Teller Machine.

"Ur funny."

More fun poking.."But, it's been a while since I used BDRB..." "It is been a while..", are you sure it IS been a while? Though MrVideo and I aren't related, it's fun to catch stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Well, at least I am procreating within my species...
Yet, you speak...and type. Are you "Possessed"??

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
FOUND IT!

There is a similar problem here which put me to the right direction.
The commandline states "--threads auto" ... that might do for 99% of the systems. But I build that machine mainly for encoding, with 2 Xeon 2699v3, that sum up (with hyperthreading) to 72 threads total.
Every thread of x264 uses a certain amount of RAM, which breaks the memory limitation of 32bit apps

I guess disabling hyperthreading ("--threads 36" is working with 2.8 GB RAM used) will solve the problem for me, but if someone builds a similar system or uses one of the mean AMD Threadrippers, they will also run into that Problem.
[edit] Read a little more: "--threads auto" creates 1.5 times CPU cores threads for encoding... So even with Hyperthreading switched off the encode would fail on my machine
Thhhhhhat is interesting!! I'll check that with my new budget Ryzen build. Still using Windows 7, ahhhhhhhhh...it's sweet.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 1st August 2020 at 05:27.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 06:52   #29783  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFuture View Post
Just ask at-gonca?? That's like saying "I want to use the ATM machine." since ATM is an acronym for Automatic Teller Machine.

"Ur funny."

More fun poking.."But, it's been a while since I used BDRB..." "It is been a while..", are you sure it IS been a while? Though MrVideo and I aren't related, it's fun to catch stuff.



Yet, you speak...and type. Are you "Possessed"??
I think BOTH you and Mr. Video should be severely beaten...

And, BTW... "it's" is also a proper contraction for "it has" Mr. WeeWeeHead...



Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 13:41   #29784  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
I set it to 16, but the CPU utilization is now around 20% at the most.
Changing values of MULTIPROCESS doesn't make it faster.
Even 36 threads don't use more CPU

Guess I'll have to go with that
I've changed the limits on THREADS=n for the next release. It can be set up to 128 (the limit for X264).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2020 at 17:14.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 13:45   #29785  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
I can confirm that x265 only results in MKVs, even if MP4 is requested as container.
x264 seems to output the correct container.
Actually I'd forgotten about that. Earlier versions of MP4BOX (like the 2012 one included with BD-RB) didn't support HEVC -- so BD-RB only allowed MKV for writing an HEVC stream.

I'm testing a version with HEVC support that is a good balance of size/capability to include with BD-RB in the next release.

[Edit] Completed. You will be able to output HEVC to an MP4 in the next release.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2020 at 14:28.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 17:27   #29786  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Thanks kindly for the answer JD, but I must not be understanding you correctly because I THOUGHT that is exactly what I just did. I used the non-compliant BDMV folder (containing the TSMuxer muxed MKV file still at 1920x800) and BDRB did re-encode it, but the resulting BDMV folder and thus the m2ts file inside it STILL was the non-compliant AR of 1920x800, nothing changed.

What am I missing here...?
One thing that might cause that: Did you import the file before NVENCC was implemented in BD-RB and then use NVENCC for the encode? If so, the NVENCC adjustments wouldn't be found in the PSEUDO.INF file (created during import) and the resizing and/or padding wouldn't occur.

Just throwing out possibilities.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 20:52   #29787  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've changed the limits on THREADS=n for the next release. It can be set up to 128 (the limit for X264).


and

Quote:
Completed. You will be able to output HEVC to an MP4 in the next release.


Was anyone able to do a successful Autocrop with HEVC (UHD) content?
The AVS file is running, there is just no cropping done.
cartman0208 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 21:33   #29788  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Was anyone able to do a successful Autocrop with HEVC (UHD) content?
The AVS file is running, there is just no cropping done.
I'll do some testing.

Were you using NVENCC or X265 for your output?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 21:43   #29789  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Was anyone able to do a successful Autocrop with HEVC (UHD) content?
The AVS file is running, there is just no cropping done.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'll do some testing.

Were you using NVENCC or X265 for your output?
I just tried it with an HEVC 2160p source... and it didn't work. The AVS file looks okay, but when I play it back (even directly with no reencoding) it isn't cropping. It's almost as if the AutoCrop() call isn't even there -- but it is.


[Edit] Just tried it with RoboCrop (another auto cropping plugin) as suggested by BuddTX and got the same results.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 1st August 2020 at 22:13.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2020, 23:08   #29790  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 1,009
Quick question
Do AutoCrop or RoboCrop work with 10 bit video?
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 02:15   #29791  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Quick question
Do AutoCrop or RoboCrop work with 10 bit video?
That could be an issue, yes. AVISYNTH only works in 8 bit. But I would have assumed that the conversion takes place during decoding, otherwise AVISYNTH shouldn't work at all with the source.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 13:03   #29792  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I just tried it with an HEVC 2160p source... and it didn't work. The AVS file looks okay, but when I play it back (even directly with no reencoding) it isn't cropping. It's almost as if the AutoCrop() call isn't even there -- but it is.
Can confirm that ... I did a conversion with x265, but also just played the AVS file in MPC-HC.
I'm afraid, in 2005, when AutoCrop was last updated, 10bit and 4K was far away
cartman0208 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 15:18   #29793  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 128
@jdobbs are you using multipass ??

Multi pass frame encoding
When determining the QP to use for encoding a frame, it is beneficial if NVENC knows the overall complexity of the frame to distribute the available bit budget in the most optimal manner. In some situations, multi-pass encoding may also help catch larger motion between frames. For this purpose, NVENC supports the following types of multi-pass frame encoding modes:

1-pass per frame encoding (NV_ENC_MULTI_PASS_DISABLED)
2-passes per frame, with first pass in quarter resolution and second pass in full resolution (NV_ENC_TWO_PASS_QUARTER_RESOLUTION)
2-passes per frame, with both passes in full resolution (NV_ENC_TWO_PASS_FULL_RESOLUION).
In 1-pass rate control modes, NVENC estimates the required QP for the macroblock and immediately encodes the macroblock. In 2-pass rate control modes, NVENC estimates the complexity of the frame to be encoded and determines bit distribution across the frame in the first pass. In the second pass, NVENC encodes macroblocks in the frame using the distribution determined in the first pass. As a result, with 2-pass rate control modes, NVENC can distribute the bits more optimally within the frame and can reach closer to the target bitrate, especially for CBR encoding. Note, however, that everything else being the same, performance of 2-pass rate control mode is lower than that of 1-pass rate control mode. The client application should choose an appropriate multi-pass rate control mode after evaluating various modes, as each of the modes has its own advantages and disadvantages. NV_ENC_TWO_PASS_FULL_RESOLUION generates better statistics for the second pass, whereas NV_ENC_TWO_PASS_QUARTER_RESOLUTION results in larger motion vectors being caught and fed as hints to second pass.

and from nvencc

--multipass <string>
Multi pass mode. Available only for --vbr and --cbr. [API v10.0]

none
2pass-quarter
2pass-full
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 17:27   #29794  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,706
History repeats .....

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...ostcount=29626

From rigaya's release notes of Release 5.10:
Quote:
Options below will be mapped to each other depending on the NVENC API version used.

SDK API 9.0, 9.1: --vbrhq
SDK API 10.0: --vbr --multipass 2pass-full
The 2 are currently equivalent.
He also wrote that in future the --vbrhq of API 9.0, 9.1 may be dropped and and only the syntax of API 10.0 will be supported.

Last edited by Sharc; 2nd August 2020 at 17:50.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 20:11   #29795  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
lol didnt see your post :P
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 20:21   #29796  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,706
No problem. Double-stitching has its benefits
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 21:11   #29797  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 286
CRF Prediction is broken for x265.

Quote:
----------------------
[08/02/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.09
[14:41:06] Source: THE_FAST_AND_THE_FURIOUS_2001
- Input BD size: 57.81 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:36:40.348]
- Target BD size: 24.41 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: High Quality (Default), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[14:41:08] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [14:41:08] Processing: VID_00165 (1 of 4)
- [14:41:08] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00165]
- [14:41:14] Reencoding video [VID_00165]
- Source Video: HEVC, 3840x2160
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 576 frames
- [14:41:14] Performing CRF Prediction...
- Analyzing 16.00 14.40 15.45 14.70 15.25 14.85 15.15 [15.15]
- [14:42:22] Encoding using constant rate factor.
- Performing size-correcting second pass...
- [14:45:07] Video Encode complete
- [14:45:07] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
- [14:45:07] Multiplexing M2TS
- [14:45:11] Blanking: VID_00252 (2 of 4)
- [14:45:11] Blanking: VID_00253 (3 of 4)
- [14:45:11] Processing: VID_00294 (4 of 4)
- [14:45:11] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00294]
- [14:54:27] Reencoding video [VID_00294]
- Source Video: HEVC, 3840x2160
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 153,721 frames
- [14:54:27] Performing CRF Prediction...
- Analyzing 16.30 2.00 [2.00]
- [14:55:03] Encoding using constant rate factor.
[14:56:53] - Aborted by user request
CRF 2 is insanely low, I loaded the prediction AVS script / M2TS on VDub, seems to be broken at I frames, so its mainly static frames, which explains the low CRF value.

This is the sample file:
https://mega.nz/file/ATpg3Q6J#XK09Bq...KhTTZVPpz4w9Es
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2020, 22:31   #29798  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquallMX View Post
CRF Prediction is broken for x265.



CRF 2 is insanely low, I loaded the prediction AVS script / M2TS on VDub, seems to be broken at I frames, so its mainly static frames, which explains the low CRF value.

This is the sample file:
https://mega.nz/file/ATpg3Q6J#XK09Bq...KhTTZVPpz4w9Es
Did you try a complete encode?
I had CRF Values of 1.00 but the output was not oversized ...
cartman0208 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2020, 01:49   #29799  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Did you try a complete encode?
I had CRF Values of 1.00 but the output was not oversized ...
It's almost impossible for a 35mm live action film to get those CRF values for a 4K BD-25, for reference when using nVidia HW Accelerated encoding I got a value of 22.15.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2020, 03:35   #29800  |  Link
meadrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Beach, Ca USA
Posts: 89
Howls Moving Castle

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Actually I'd forgotten about that. Earlier versions of MP4BOX (like the 2012 one included with BD-RB) didn't support HEVC -- so BD-RB only allowed MKV for writing an HEVC stream.

I'm testing a version with HEVC support that is a good balance of size/capability to include with BD-RB in the next release.

[Edit] Completed. You will be able to output HEVC to an MP4 in the next release.
I'll wait for the next release & try both container types.
meadrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.