Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th July 2018, 03:02   #51661  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
You might want to wait for the next build and try HDR -> SDR. It should be available soon and there is still room to improve.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 06:01   #51662  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
@Asmodian: Neither 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 appear when displaying chromares.png (nvidia set to 1080p, RGB at any bitdepth). There is some slight horizontal lines where 4:2:2 would appear.

@Warner306: I presume you are refering to the discussion over at AVS with madshi on the Madvr HDR to SDR mapping thread?
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 07:08   #51663  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
@Asmodian: Neither 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 appear when displaying chromares.png (nvidia set to 1080p, RGB at any bitdepth). There is some slight horizontal lines where 4:2:2 would appear.
Is that your native resolution? You need everything at its native resolution, the image in a window if necessary.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 07:19   #51664  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
try to set sharpness to 50% or zero and try the image again.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 08:23   #51665  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Any, advice on MadVR / nvidia settings and versions for JVC X7500? After trying different combos of versions and settings I can't seem to find a combo that:
- Minimises Repeated Frames (eg custom modes or a nvidia version that is close)
- NVidia Settings that stick for RGB 12-Bit for both UHD@23.796 / YCbCr422 for UHD@50/60p (or just RGB 8-Bit as I only have the one UHD HDR BD @ 60p)
- Windows HDR that does not keep turning ON when the video finishes playing and you are back to the desktop

If the above can not be done, should I try HDR to SDR conversion in madVR, or... just use YCbCr422 for all resolutions, or.... ?

Currently I'm also "stuck" on madVR V92.4 (that comes bundled with JRiver) as the most recent madVR versions have a bug where Menu Item Text can be drawn off screen.... I've a 1070 on this HTPC.
  • Use 385.28 (that's the last driver that works well with the JVCs for HTPC use)
  • Use 2160p23 RGB 4:4:4 12bits at 23p for playback. The driver will automatically switch to RGB 4:4:4 8bits for 50/60p if you use 385.28 and it will stick.
  • While in another refresh rate (I use 30p), create a custom resolution with MadVR for 2160p23 using the EDID/CTA settings, that's the only thing that works with the JVC, it should give you around one hour without a frame drop/repeat at 4K23p
  • Do not use your projector at 1080p, these are NOT 1080p projectors unlike what has been suggested and you will lose a lot of MadVR's goodness if you do this. Send 2160p to the JVC (if your GPU is powerful enough to upscale in good quality to that resolution, which a 1070 should be able to do) and you'll get something like 3K (in between 2K and 4K, but significantly better than 2K thanks to eshift), especially when fed a well upscaled MadVR picture.
  • If you have a good custom curve for HDR (see the JVC Calibration thread for the RS500 etc models on AVS), you can use HDR passthrough in MadVR. Make sure you always leave HDR OFF in the OS, MadVR will switch HDR on and off automatically.
  • Or you can wait until MadVR's next build and use HDR to SDR conversion with pixel shader. It's still a work in progress but it's starting to be a viable alternative to passthrough with the JVCs. Wait until it arrives on jRiver, there is no rush to leave passthrough if you have good custom curves on your JVC.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 7th July 2018 at 08:30.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 09:00   #51666  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
@Asmodian Sorry - thought you meant the native res of the PNG. The JVC x7500 takes a native 4K signal but it uses e-shift to display a 4K image (native 3xDILA 1080p Panels). Anyway with UHD RGB I can see both 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 but 4:4:4 is darker. The tint also changes between 8 and 12 bit with 12 Bit looking Pinker and 8 Bit looking Red.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 09:03   #51667  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
Thanks Manni. Will take try this advice now and report back.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 09:31   #51668  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Thanks Manni. Will take try this advice now and report back.
Make sure you use DDU in safe mode and select clean installation before installing 385.28. You want every trace of the newer driver to be removed.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 09:41   #51669  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
Yup done that (DDU in safe mode) and it is looking good using what you just posted (just running a UHD BD now to check the frame repeats). The only stuff that I guess will not work is titles like Billy Lynn (UHD @ 60p with HRD). I've read the JVC Calibration thread and got the Spyder5 Ultra ready to go now that the basic config seems to be working well - Thanks for the clear post all in one place

Edit - and resetup and test BD - 3D

Last edited by jmone; 7th July 2018 at 09:48.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 09:51   #51670  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
@Asmodian Sorry - thought you meant the native res of the PNG. The JVC x7500 takes a native 4K signal but it uses e-shift to display a 4K image (native 3xDILA 1080p Panels). Anyway with UHD RGB I can see both 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 but 4:4:4 is darker. The tint also changes between 8 and 12 bit with 12 Bit looking Pinker and 8 Bit looking Red.
you have to use the image at it's native resolution and the projector too.

try the sharpness settings out like said before. seeing both is a clear indicator of subsampling and most likely sharpening


looks like newer ones use 1080p native not 1960x2160 native so they have to shift more to get to the same result but if done correctly it is the same as a native UHD image just less bright.
the sub sampling test should work at 1080p too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 10:11   #51671  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 613
Thanks Huhn but I think Manni's setup has me sorted!

Last edited by jmone; 7th July 2018 at 14:27.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 14:43   #51672  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 43
If i have a rec709 lut in the rec709 slot along with pass HDR through to display checked (full HDR compatible video chain) will madVR ignore the lut when playing 4k HDR? I only want the lut active when I am actually watching rec709 content and not when watching 4K HDR.
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 15:41   #51673  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
The OSD will indicate if and which 3DLUT is being used, easy enough for you to confirm.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 16:07   #51674  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
The OSD will indicate if and which 3DLUT is being used, easy enough for you to confirm.
Yea i noticed it does show the rec709 LUT in the OSD when playing HDR so i guess i need to change the config when i watch HDR.
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 18:17   #51675  |  Link
Slysoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Hey guys. I've noticed a problem with my madvr setup and I was hoping someone had some insight for me.

I have a 144hz monitor and while using madvr and xysubfilter I was getting dropped frames the first time subtitles were displayed. It always happened at the exact moment the first subtitle was shown and never happened afterwards, nor did it happen if I rewound to the beginning and watched the same scene again.

I changed my refresh rate to 60hz and the problem went away, so I assume this has something to do with that. I also tested at 120hz and I did not notice a problem. Now I'm not sure if this is actually a madvr problem or an xysubfilter problem seeing as it only occurs with subtitles and also doesn't happen if I switch to the internal subtitle renderer in mpc-hc.

I also don't get this problem if I playback with mpv, but obviously that doesn't support madvr.

Thanks for the help.
Slysoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 19:08   #51676  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
showing subtitle the first times add the hole process and it looks like all buffered frames have to be re rendered. dropping frames in this case it pretty "normal".

thsi should only affact aasfilter mod and xy subfilter.

i can't remember it but i'm pretty sure i brought this up a couple of years ago.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 19:32   #51677  |  Link
Slysoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
showing subtitle the first times add the hole process and it looks like all buffered frames have to be re rendered. dropping frames in this case it pretty "normal".

thsi should only affact aasfilter mod and xy subfilter.

i can't remember it but i'm pretty sure i brought this up a couple of years ago.
Yeah that makes sense, but it is weird to me that I don't drop frames at all unless I'm running at 144hz.
Slysoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 19:39   #51678  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
at 60 you have about 16 ms to fix it at 144 hz you have less than 8 ms.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 20:01   #51679  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post
Yea i noticed it does show the rec709 LUT in the OSD when playing HDR so i guess i need to change the config when i watch HDR.
There is an OSD bug that shows the SDR 3DLUT being used even with using HDR passthrough, but the 3DLUT is not actually being used (a test 3DLUT that should change the image a lot does not show any effect). The SDR 3DLUTs are only active for HDR content when madVR first converts HDR to SDR by either method.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 7th July 2018 at 20:03.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 20:19   #51680  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
just use control+shift+alt+3 to test it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.