Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st December 2016, 16:52   #41661  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 275
Now that you mentioned dxva(native) I get black screen when playing P010(<--is this correct way to say it?) movies but cb also sometimes gives me slowdown/jerky playback.I guess hardware decoder set to none will work for me.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 17:07   #41662  |  Link
BluesFanUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Think I asked this before, but can't find the answer. What's the point in using LAV filters with MadVR? Is it only beneficial to slow PC'/GPU's or does it improve performance regardless of hardware?
BluesFanUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 17:14   #41663  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,883
lavfilter is giving madVR as many file information as possible.
it is using FFmpeg and is as fast as most other ffmpeg based decoder.

internal filters of player is the only alternative i can think of for lavfilter.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 18:25   #41664  |  Link
BluesFanUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
lavfilter is giving madVR as many file information as possible.
it is using FFmpeg and is as fast as most other ffmpeg based decoder.

internal filters of player is the only alternative i can think of for lavfilter.
So do I need to use it if i'm using Potplayer or MPC-HC?
BluesFanUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 18:37   #41665  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 603
Hi guys,

I'd really appreciate some help in figuring out why I don't get a seek bar with windowed/fullscreen overlay. If I switch to exclusive mode, the seek bar is there. Switch back to overlay, no seek bar. Does anyone have any ideas?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 19:30   #41666  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,883
which seek bar are you talking about?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 20:06   #41667  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 603
The seek bar which allows navigating through the film - move mouse to bottom of screen, seek bar should appear

Last edited by iSeries; 21st December 2016 at 20:12.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 20:29   #41668  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Hi guys,

I'd really appreciate some help in figuring out why I don't get a seek bar with windowed/fullscreen overlay. If I switch to exclusive mode, the seek bar is there. Switch back to overlay, no seek bar. Does anyone have any ideas?
I think the player needs to use madVR's API to draw the seek bar, I know Zoom Player draws its UI through madVR so the bars (edit: and all its UI elements) work with overlay and without kicking you out of FSE.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 21st December 2016 at 20:52.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 20:38   #41669  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I think the player needs to use madVR's API to draw the seek bar, I know Zoom Player draws it's UI through madVR so the bars work with overlay and without kicking you out of FSE.
So MadVR's own seekbar won't show with overlay? I'm using MPC-HC.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 20:47   #41670  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,883
madVR has a fullscreen exclusive seek bar the rest is the work of the player.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 21:03   #41671  |  Link
Neo-XP
Registered User
 
Neo-XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
So MadVR's own seekbar won't show with overlay? I'm using MPC-HC.
I think you just need to tick "Show controls in fullscreen for" in MPC-HC, as in this screenshot :



And put "0" below, so the seekbar will only appear if you move the mouse at the bottom of the screen.

madVR's own seekbar only shows in exclusive mode.

Last edited by Neo-XP; 21st December 2016 at 21:05.
Neo-XP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 21:37   #41672  |  Link
har3inger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
There isn't HW decoding for 10 bit stuff yet. When you choose DXVA decoding, it should fall back to regular software decoding.

In general for madvr, if you're struggling with scaling algorithms being too slow, your best bet is to use software decoding only to move load from GPU to CPU. Additionally, many GPUs get locked to a lower clock when doing video decoding by the driver.

If you care about power consumption/noise, you probably shouldn't be using the fancier madvr algorithms anyway.
har3inger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2016, 22:03   #41673  |  Link
StinDaWg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by BluesFanUK View Post
So do I need to use it if i'm using Potplayer or MPC-HC?
LAV is already built into MPC-HC...

It's already used by default when you play a video.
StinDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 07:27   #41674  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
What you notice is simply low frame rate video but there is another issue caused by frame time mismatch.

With a 75 Hz display and 23.976 fps video each frame wants to be displayed for 41.71 ms but Vsync is every 13.3 ms. This means that most frames are displayed for 40 ms but every ~8 frames one frame is displayed for 53.3 ms. This isn't too bad, only 33% longer, you might not notice it but it isn't ideal.

The effect is worse at 60 Hz, with half the frames displayed for 33.3 ms and the other half displayed for 50 ms, 50% longer. This is quite visible (to me at least) as uneven choppiness or judder, even worse than normal low frame rate video.

Smooth motion allows madVR to display every frame for exactly 41.71ms.

edit: with 29.970 fps video on your 75 Hz display you get a similar effect to 23.976 fps video on a 60 Hz display. Half the frames are displayed for 26.67 ms and the other half for 40 ms, 50% longer.
Thank you very much for the detailed explanation!

One reason or another I don't seem to notice it much, the low frame rate is much more noticeable to me, for example large objects moving fast across the screen make much more of a problem than frame rate, though I will give it a try and see if I can notice smooth motion effects.

For best quality when watching, using Edge thinning with upscaling refinement and using 200% scaling will yield much better and cleaner results than using edge thinning from image enhancements. Seems that it works on a finer level of detail and distorts considerably less when edge thinning comes from upscaling refinement, at least in my tests so far.

Also, seems that lately I prefer using edge thinning at a bit less agressive numbers than in my first tests, right now I'm still looking for the best balance between the sharpness or effect and the amount of distortion added.

Sometimes the distortion either isn't there or it's really okay, while other times it's noticeable, for example on really low resolution videos.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
DXVA 2 Native should NEVER be used with madvr.
This should be held on sticky somewhere, and MPC should stop defaulting it to DXVA native when installing.
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 17:50   #41675  |  Link
mandarynek82
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 16
madVR has a lot of options. I don't know which parameters are best for gtx 1070. I would like to get a smooth image without macroblocks and artifacts. As close as possible to the original.
mandarynek82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 18:11   #41676  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandarynek82 View Post
madVR has a lot of options. I don't know which parameters are best for gtx 1070. I would like to get a smooth image without macroblocks and artifacts. As close as possible to the original.
madVR doesn't have any options meant to remove macroblocks but you can enable reduce banding artifacts and/or reduce ringing artifacts if those are an issue in your source.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 20:11   #41677  |  Link
Neo-XP
Registered User
 
Neo-XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 140
Strangely, NGU-High (former NGU-Med) is a lot sharper in v0.91.1 VS v0.91.4 :



Zoomed :



All the other settings were exactly the same.
Is that normal @madshi ? Did you tone down NGU because some users found it too sharp ?

Last edited by Neo-XP; 22nd December 2016 at 20:14.
Neo-XP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 20:43   #41678  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo-XP View Post
Strangely...
Probably related to this change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi
v0.91.2:
* small quality improvement for NGU-Med/High (former NGU-Low/Med)
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 20:49   #41679  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Im using the 1080 card with madvr...
In the 1080 settings under "Adjust Desktop Color Settings" there is a dropdown box "content type reported to display" If I set it to (Auto-select (recommended) the image has terrible banding, if I set it to "Full screen videos" the image as NO banding and the blacks are more enhanced. The only problem is sometimes when i turn on the PC it has reverted back to Auto-select and Im back to the banding. Even though I save the setting why would it revert back? I only use this card and PC in my HT.

What do others have this setting selected to?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2016, 20:53   #41680  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Another setting Im not sure about...
On the 1080 card there is a setting for PhysX and in the dropdown box it states "Processor" - Auto - Geforce GTX 1080 or CPU, what should I set it to?
I dont even know what the setting is for????
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.