Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Old 3rd October 2018, 20:17   #1  |  Link
Adam Cole

How to perform a PAL speedup on an NTSC DVD with pitch correction?

Not sure if this is the right forum. I’m a newbie to this stuff.

I have a couple of japanese NTSC DVDs of an anime series and a german PAL audio track that I want to dub the DVD episodes with. The german anime series originally was dubbed at 25 fps, so slowing down the audio to 23,976 fps will sound weird. So I figured I would do a PAL speedup on the video and sync the german dub to it. Plus do a pitch correction for the japanese dub. Problem is I have no idea how to do it. Are there any tools that can speed up a video and perform pitch correction AND let me save that to an mkv file?
Adam Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2018, 20:28   #2  |  Link
Cary Knoop
Cary Knoop

Use SoX for the audio and ffmpeg for the demuxing and muxing.

http://sox.sourceforge.net/
Cary Knoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2018, 03:15   #3  |  Link
manono

Alternatively, demux the audio and video. DGIndex - among other tools - will do the job. The video can be run through DGPulldown set for 25->25fps. Any WAV editor can speed up the audio and do the pitch correction. Audacity (freeware) will do it.

This assumes the framecount of the two versions is identical (it usually isn't), and that the Japanese DVD is 100% soft telecine. A D2V file made using DGIndex will give you the answer to that one. Later you can mux the speeded up M2V and the "fixed" audio into an MKV.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2018, 03:37   #4  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b

Quote:
Originally Posted by manono View Post
25->25fps
Is that a typo or am I missing something?