Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th December 2009, 00:50   #6401  |  Link
MKVCrazy
HD-Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
RipBot264 on Wine hangs!

I am able to run it in Wine and do everything but when I try to load in an AVI file, it will not do what I asked. It will just stay like nothing happened. What else do I need to loading the sources? I also don't see any error messages.
MKVCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 01:11   #6402  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,321
Quote:
RipBot264 on Wine hangs!
is this my fault that ripbot264 works only in native windows environment?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 02:13   #6403  |  Link
DOWNFALL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
hi Atak_Snajpera,

I looked into your sugestion to use Makemkv to create a mkv with the original full blu-ray video stream.

I dont know if this is ment to happen, but it seems to just load the vc1 video in a mkv which is not compatible with windows media center and xboxs & also doesnt remove the black bands at the top and bottom.

I would prefer to keep using Ripbot ;-) But could you tell me if there is a way to keep the original bitrate, but just crop the back bands?

Thanks in advance
DOWNFALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 06:35   #6404  |  Link
MKVCrazy
HD-Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
is this my fault that ripbot264 works only in native windows environment?
Nah, mate. Sometimes your replies can be hard to understand but I understand you Lol. I posted here since this thread discusses about RipBot264 and there are many users using this app will read/post so I chose this thread to see if I would get any reply related to my question.

Too bad something needs to be done to get it work properly. I will also try to search for it and will provide the answer here (if I found it).
MKVCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 20:00   #6405  |  Link
B2K24
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks for the new version. I love this program
B2K24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 20:05   #6406  |  Link
consultant
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 147
I've tried every program (AltMKV, Staxrip, MeGui, you name it). I like the simplicity of RipBot but what I really like is that I can rip my DVDs that have DTS audio to MP4. It appears BeSweet (which Staxrip uses) doesn't support DTS so you have to transcode the DTS soundtrack using another program. RipBot does it!

However there is one thing holding me back from making this my #1 program. I rip music video DVD's where the DVDs are ripped into chapter VOBs so you can build playlists of music videos from different artists. A typical music video DVD may have 15-20 chapters. With Staxrip, I can just add the entire folder of VOBs, specify settings and go. With RipBot I have to individually add each vob, change the crop and deinterlace settings (it doesn't save those from the previous job for some reason) which is WAY time consuming.

Keep up the good work. If you have add the ability to add several VOBs at once, it will be a killer program!
consultant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 20:33   #6407  |  Link
hoju3508
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 197
Haali Media Splitter

Has anyone started using the latest version of Haali Media Splitter?



http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Haali_Media_Splitter

Quote:
Version history:
19/12/2009

* New Features:
o Added a 64-bit version
o A shell extension was removed from the splitter. This will be available seprately at a later date.
o Added truehd and mlp support for Matroska files and transpor streams
* Fixed items:
o Fixed lpcm in transport streams support
hoju3508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2009, 23:13   #6408  |  Link
mikelebron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 104
Too many have said to stay away from this version... I have no personal experience but this is common knowledge around the forums..

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoju3508 View Post
Has anyone started using the latest version of Haali Media Splitter?



http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Haali_Media_Splitter
mikelebron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 05:07   #6409  |  Link
hoju3508
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 197
That was my understanding as well. Thanks for the reply.
hoju3508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 05:43   #6410  |  Link
B2K24
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks for the info about Haali update. I will install it because I'm not encoding right at the moment.
There's probably no benefit for people who encoding 24/7 to risk an update because the x264 is where the speed comes in.
I don't see a new version of Haali have any real performance gains but i could be mistaken though.

eac3to updated today 12/28
B2K24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 15:15   #6411  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,321
Quote:
eac3to updated today 12/28
What? Where?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 15:40   #6412  |  Link
Balthazar2k4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here, There, & Everywhere
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
What? Where?
My thoughts exactly....
Balthazar2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 16:46   #6413  |  Link
survivant001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 449
Hello @Atak_Snajpera

it been a while. I just try ripbot with a movie that contains 2 ausio track : Jap, and french.

ripbot is not able to detect the audio track. (NO AUDIO).
it works fine in Media Player.

I try with all ripbot 1.14.0 and 1.14.6 same problem. Here the log from MediaInfo

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 9 frames
Muxing mode : Container profile=Unknown@4.1
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1h 40mn
Bit rate : 4 332 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 4 701 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16/9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.196
Writing library : x264 core 80 r1373 4322f63
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=9 / deblock=1:-1:-1 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=10 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.0:0.0 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=48 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=0 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=3 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=8 / b_pyramid=0 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=1 / wpredp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / rc_lookahead=70 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=4701 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=50000 / vbv_bufsize=50000 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:0.60
Language : Japanese

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile : ES
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 1h 40mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 24 bits
Language : French

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile : ES
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 1h 40mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s) : 7 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Rear: L C R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 24 bits
Language : Japanese

Text #1
ID : 4
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Title : French Forced
Language : French

Text #2
ID : 5
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Title : French
Language : French
survivant001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 17:47   #6414  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,321
send me 50 mb sample to www.mediafire.com. use DGsplit
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 18:25   #6415  |  Link
bigggt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 93
Is there anyway to override the software check with the new version, i have been using this version since its release but i had to re-install java 64 bit and now ripbot says i don't have java installed.

thanks
bigggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 19:50   #6416  |  Link
mmmmdonut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
@bigggt Check the ripbot ini file.
mmmmdonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 20:01   #6417  |  Link
B2K24
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Sorry i misread the videohelp page and there was just new comments posted on 12/28 not a new version.
My mistake and sorry.
B2K24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 20:39   #6418  |  Link
Balthazar2k4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here, There, & Everywhere
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by B2K24 View Post
Sorry i misread the videohelp page and there was just new comments posted on 12/28 not a new version.
My mistake and sorry.
No problem, but I really went scouring the internet in search...
Balthazar2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 22:40   #6419  |  Link
Mihai_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
I don't need extra audio because I like more original soundtrack.
I was raised in country where you don't have stupid dubbed versions in cinemas (Full translations with native actors).
The same here in Romania ... in cinemas and at tv, all movies have the original audio, and we read the subtitles for all foreign movies.
But ... for cartoons is a different story, these are dubbed, for kids who cannot read the subtitles.
Here are DVDs and Blu-Ray with cartoons with original english and dubbed romanian audio, and I want to keep both audio in mkv or mp4.
The kids who don't understand the english language, and cannot read, need dubbed audio, at cartoons.

Last edited by Mihai_; 29th December 2009 at 22:42.
Mihai_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2009, 06:40   #6420  |  Link
radigast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
...I want to keep both audio in mkv or mp4.
RipBot does extract all available audio. You simply need to locate the extracted audio and add in the appropriate command line option to RipBot's commands to mkvmerge.

(Assuming an .mkv container):
1. Find your RipBot temp folder and the appropriate job folder.
2. Locate the additional audio file you want to include, taking note of the filepath and filename.
3. In that same job folder, find the [YourJobNumber]_MuxFiles.cmd and edit it with notepad.
4. Based on the information you see for the other audio file, you can put in the appropriate commands to include this second audio file as well. Read up on available commands in mkvmerge here.
5. Save your edited .cmd file.

*Note: Be sure to triple-check your typed commands, as any mistakes mean that mkvmerge will not be able to properly mux your file. If you have a queue, your encoded video file will be overwritten by the next in the queue. Obviously, with no muxed mkv file and an overwritten video stream, you will need to re-encode the video again. This has happened to me twice on 40 hour encodes.

I regularly add additional audio streams, and also edit this to include default languages for the video and track names for the video and audio. Works like a charm everytime.

Hope this helps!

--radigast
radigast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.