Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th September 2010, 20:09   #3401  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,775
Patched x86 and x64 don't work.
Unpatched x64 work, but of course i've to remove the --fade-compensate option.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2010, 22:51   #3402  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 514
Will see if I can see what's the reason. Have you tried with scripts that don't relate to Lagarith?

Anyways, what I can see being the problem:
  • Lagarith is having fun
  • L-SMASH or something results in it failing
  • Cosmic radiation

Am building a new build with an updated L-SMASH to see if I can re-create what is happening to you at all.

As for the audio error, it's fine. Happens every time you don't use the audio feature >_>.

Edit: Chikuzen had tested it with UTVideo and it seems to be fine. I'm running a test encode on 32bit build + avs at the moment myself. Thus I'm inclined to blame Lagarith.
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]

Last edited by JEEB; 6th September 2010 at 00:37.
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 00:16   #3403  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,775
I'm only using avi in lagarith YV12. Work fine with patched 1688 rack04 version...
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 01:43   #3404  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
I'm only using avi in lagarith YV12. Work fine with patched 1688 rack04 version...
From the results so far I can see that most probably some part of the new code is just affecting Lagarith, and nothing else.

Until you tell me it breaks something else, my care levels will be very low to do something about it. Lagarith has been and still is a broken pile of balls, and it even has good alternatives nowadays (did I mention UT Video already from YV12 all the way to RGBA, or, you know, something that can be decoded by ffmpeg if you only need YV12?). Of course this isn't the best thing you could've expected, but unfortunately Lagarith just is what it is. Re-encoding those YV12 sequences into something else should've been your goal for a long time now, to be honest.

Of course, if you actually find that it breaks something else that I can do something about, do tell me.
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 04:10   #3405  |  Link
livetolove92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by livetolove92 View Post
This is my settings

And this my avs

This my log

I use the latest x264 1713, ffms2, megui, avisynth for x64.
I can't create the .stats file. x264 crash immediately when i run the bat.
Somebody helps me
livetolove92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 04:16   #3406  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by livetolove92 View Post
Somebody helps me
You have specified your stats file as ".stats". Try giving it a real name before the extension:

--stats "movie.stats"
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 04:27   #3407  |  Link
livetolove92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
still not work. But I can use the same command with FFVideosource instead of ffmpegsource2.
If I del --b-adapt 2 new issue happens
x264 [error]: timebase mismatch with 1st pass (1001/24000 vs 1/25). The source's fps is 23.976

Anyway, tks for your help ^^

Last edited by livetolove92; 6th September 2010 at 04:39.
livetolove92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 04:43   #3408  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
You still get the --stats error when specifying a proper filename? Or are you reporting a new error?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 04:49   #3409  |  Link
livetolove92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
I still get the --stats error when specifying a proper filename. x264 crash immediately when I run the command. But if I replaced ffmpegsource2 by FFVideosource in avs it works correctly.
livetolove92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 13:07   #3410  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEB View Post
Lagarith has been and still is a broken pile of balls, and it even has good alternatives nowadays (did I mention UT Video already from YV12 all the way to RGBA, or, you know, something that can be decoded by ffmpeg if you only need YV12?).
Of course, if you actually find that it breaks something else that I can do something about, do tell me.
When i was looking for a lossless YV12 codec with keyframe only, i only found lagarith (or found maybe 1 or 2 others, but toooo slow), and, as it was working fine until now, i didn't see the point of changing.
Now, i didn't know UT Video, i've just take a look, and i'll give a try. Seems interesting, as you can also say if video is interlaced or not.

I'll tell you my results.

Edit : Works fine with UT Video. Thanks.

Last edited by jpsdr; 6th September 2010 at 13:22.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 03:58   #3411  |  Link
livetolove92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
You still get the --stats error when specifying a proper filename? Or are you reporting a new error?
I have fix it. It sucks. I just add 2>log1.txt to pass 1.
livetolove92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 19:56   #3412  |  Link
easyfab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post
For OSX,
A) install Xcode - it's on the OSX install disc or through Apple Developer Connection.
B) Install MacPorts (by following Parts 1 & 2 from http://davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/ - although if you want to go on to install wine feel free to).
C) Use MacPorts to install subversion, git-core, yasm, nasm, texi2html, automake, autoconf, libtool, pkg-config (might already be installed through Xcode...I can never seem to remember this), and I think that's it.



svn checkout svn://svn.ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg/trunk ffmpeg
svn checkout http://ffmpegsource.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ ffms2
git clone git://git.videolan.org/x264.git

cd ffmpeg
./configure --prefix=$HOME/ffms2_build --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-postproc --disable-encoders \
--disable-muxers --disable-debug --disable-network --disable-hwaccels --disable-indevs --disable-outdevs \
--extra-cflags="-march=pentium3"
make
make install

cd ../ffms2
./configure --prefix=$HOME/ffms2_build PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$HOME/ffms2_build/lib/pkgconfig
make
make install

cd ../x264
wget http://vfrmaniac.fushizen.eu/OtherSt.../mp4muxer.diff
patch -p1 < mp4muxer.diff
PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$HOME/ffms2_build/lib/pkgconfig ./configure --extra-cflags="-march=pentium3"
make
make install
make distclean

PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$HOME/ffms2_build/lib/pkgconfig ./configure --prefix=$HOME/x264-9bit \
--extra-cflags="-march=pentium3" --bit-depth=9
make
make install
make distclean

PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$HOME/ffms2_build/lib/pkgconfig ./configure --prefix=$HOME/x264-10bit \
--extra-cflags="-march=pentium3" --bit-depth=10
make
make install



All -march=pentium3 parts should be changed to the processor you actually have; refer to GCC's documentation for that list...-march=native could also be used if you'd rather not take the time to target your cpu explicitly and let GCC autodetect it.

The MSYS/MinGW instructions are pretty much identical to those - the only place they differ are that ffmpeg requires two additional options: --enable-memalign-hack and -U__STRICT_ANSI__ needs to be added to the cflags, like --extra-cflags"-U__STRICT_ANSI__ -march=pentium3".

EDIT: I forgot...I have read reports that ffmpeg won't build under Snow Leopard unless --disable-asm and --arch=x86_64 are also given. I'm not entirely sure because I can't remember if I've ever built without those options, so be aware of that as well.
Thanks qyot27 , very useful.

FFmepg/lavf build is now Ok and LAME, FAAC too
but not FFMS2 r331 I got compile error mesage ( pthread problems ) ? I use Komisar pthreads 2.9.0.0 GC-static
build for info .

But it's ok I can build x264 audio with mp3 and faac .

Here is my build (based on the experimental silverfilain-x264 source ) if someone want to try.

Link removed as request

I think It's only working with mp4 muxer and sometimes audio is not sync but it give a good overview of futur x264 with audio encoder.

Let play with it if you want

Last edited by easyfab; 8th September 2010 at 09:34. Reason: link removed
easyfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2010, 07:13   #3413  |  Link
Chikuzen
typo lover
 
Chikuzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 597
@easyfab
Please don't distribute the binary that links libfaac.
Distributing the binary that links libfaac undertakes the violation of the license since it contains a lot of codes of the reference encoder(GPL incompatible).
(I proposed that add "--enable-nonfree" in the configure, and it was approved. )
__________________
my repositories

Last edited by Chikuzen; 8th September 2010 at 07:15.
Chikuzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 07:44   #3414  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,039
I am currently suffering of macroblock and fluctuations in dark areas. I read there was a patch, called AQ patch, created to alleviate this problem.

Is it implemented on current tree or is there a newer, better, one?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 11:43   #3415  |  Link
nurbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,457
There are currently 2 different AQ modes in x264 and the first one is activated by default. I haven't heard anything about a new patch. The last change to AQ was at the beginning of this year IIRC. If you use low bitrates the blocking is in some cases very hard to get rid of, especially when the picture is dark and contains fog or smoke.
nurbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 13:43   #3416  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by nurbs View Post
There are currently 2 different AQ modes in x264 and the first one is activated by default.
Where can I find syntax/switches?

Thanks.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 13:44   #3417  |  Link
nurbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,457
x264 --fullhelp

Same as always.
nurbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2010, 02:08   #3418  |  Link
Chikuzen
typo lover
 
Chikuzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
I am currently suffering of macroblock and fluctuations in dark areas. I read there was a patch, called AQ patch, created to alleviate this problem.

Is it implemented on current tree or is there a newer, better, one?
I think that it is Haali 's AQ Pathch that you look for.
Haali's AQ is older than VAQ, and the one to do working that lowers QP in dark and blue points.
(because HAQ doesn't decrease bits at all unlike VAQ, the filesize will be increased if you use.)
The patch is still maintained by VFR maniac, and includes his "MixAQ build".
Chikuzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 17:49   #3419  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,528
I have compiled x86 and x64 builds of x264 r1834 for the sole purpose of performing your own speed tests relating to threading.

x264_r1834_x86-x64_posix

x264_r1834_x86-x64_win32thread

My results:

CPU: Intel Core2 Duo T7250
OS: Windows XP Professional SP3

x264_r1834_x86-x64_posix
encoded 2595 frames, 32.84 fps, 429.02 kb/s

x264_r1834_x86-x64_win32thread
encoded 2595 frames, 33.86 fps, 429.02 kb/s

Last edited by rack04; 15th December 2010 at 18:14.
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 20:26   #3420  |  Link
soneca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 753
Hi, rack04
Here the difference was much smaller.
Using RipBot264...

CPU: Intel i7 980x
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

x264_r1834_x86-x64_posix
encoded 47162 frames, 95.40 fps, 3033.76 kb/s

x264_r1834_x86-x64_win32thread
encoded 47162 frames, 95.66 fps, 3033.76 kb/s
soneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
h.264, x264, x264 builds, x264 patches, x264 unofficial builds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.