Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st May 2015, 17:38   #30641  |  Link
cvrkuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post
Panasonic only started to support 4:4:4 without downsampling to 4:2:2 in 50, 60 series and only for incoming YCbCr. Incoming RGB always processed in YCbCr 4:2:2.
But don't try to set Catalyst to YCbCr 4:2:2, that way you will lose even more.
Maybe is subjective but on my eyes, get best picture if I choose RGB 4:4:4 Pixel Format PC Standard (Full RGB) in AMD CCC, so that Pixel Format stay.

One more question .. Should I choose 8bit instead 10bit in AMD CCC for Panasonic TV? I am not sure I can see any differences in picture quality
__________________
Intel Core i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, RAM 32 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24),
Panasonic TX-P42G20E, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, Win 10 Pro x64,
PotPlayer 1.7.16291 64-bit, madVR v0.92.17
cvrkuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 18:15   #30642  |  Link
Qaq
AV heretic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvrkuth View Post
Maybe is subjective but on my eyes, get best picture if I choose RGB 4:4:4 Pixel Format PC Standard (Full RGB) in AMD CCC, so that Pixel Format stay.
That should do best.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvrkuth View Post
Should I choose 8bit instead 10bit in AMD CCC for Panasonic TV? I am not sure I can see any differences in picture quality
With my OLED the difference is day and night. With 10 bit banding is almost gone, more clarity in picture. But 10 bit takes a bit longer to switch to exclusive mode, thus if I thought I see no difference, I woudn't use it.
There were an opinions here that plazmas handle 10 bit their own way without any real benefits. Make sure you have set yours the right way. Personally I always set my TVs to PC mode for decent RGB 4:4:4 handling. That means a playback on 60Hz dispaly, but its ok for me, smooth enough. Check out your TV modes to find out the most suitable for madVR's technology and your visual perception.
Qaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 18:42   #30643  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvrkuth View Post
One more question .. Should I choose 8bit instead 10bit in AMD CCC for Panasonic TV? I am not sure I can see any differences in picture quality
Personally, I would always do a quick test with a good grey ramp test pattern, and if you really don't see differences, then 8bit should be fine, but it's very hard to tell differences with actual movie or video content if you don't have the right samples, so a test pattern will solve that for you pretty quickly.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 19:16   #30644  |  Link
cvrkuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post
That should do best.

With my OLED the difference is day and night. With 10 bit banding is almost gone, more clarity in picture. But 10 bit takes a bit longer to switch to exclusive mode, thus if I thought I see no difference, I woudn't use it.
There were an opinions here that plazmas handle 10 bit their own way without any real benefits. Make sure you have set yours the right way. Personally I always set my TVs to PC mode for decent RGB 4:4:4 handling. That means a playback on 60Hz dispaly, but its ok for me, smooth enough. Check out your TV modes to find out the most suitable for madVR's technology and your visual perception.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSunrise View Post
Personally, I would always do a quick test with a good grey ramp test pattern, and if you really don't see differences, then 8bit should be fine, but it's very hard to tell differences with actual movie or video content if you don't have the right samples, so a test pattern will solve that for you pretty quickly.
Thanks for Your help!
Regards
__________________
Intel Core i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, RAM 32 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24),
Panasonic TX-P42G20E, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, Win 10 Pro x64,
PotPlayer 1.7.16291 64-bit, madVR v0.92.17
cvrkuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 22:28   #30645  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
@madshi

Is it possible to have an option to use D39 overlay in windowed mode and D311 in exclusive mode?

I like that overlay keeps the gamma ramp for the desktop and disables it in the player window for use with the 3DLUT. Yet, it seems that I have a 10-bit display and I'd like to take advantage of that which requires D3D11.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 22:35   #30646  |  Link
cyberscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hmmmm... If you activate the debug build, you use the original v0.88.10 build, because I only sent you a modified release build. But the problem still occurs with the modified release build, too, correct? I'll have to create a debug build for that then, to get a proper new debug log.
Yep, same issue as before with the modified release build. Would it be useful to send you a debug log of 88.8 to compare?
cyberscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2015, 23:25   #30647  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberscott View Post
Yep, same issue as before with the modified release build. Would it be useful to send you a debug log of 88.8 to compare?
No. But please try these two (both debug builds):

http://madshi.net/madVR8810test3.zip

Please let me know if either of them works (or both). If either of them does *not* work, please upload a debug log for that. If both don't work, please upload a debug log for both. Thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 00:17   #30648  |  Link
cyberscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
No. But please try these two (both debug builds):

http://madshi.net/madVR8810test3.zip

Please let me know if either of them works (or both). If either of them does *not* work, please upload a debug log for that. If both don't work, please upload a debug log for both. Thanks.
Neither of those worked. One slight difference I noticed was with the present queue is now stuck at 2-5/8 instead of the previous 1-4/8 on both builds. Here are the logs.
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=...19334988377767
cyberscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 00:29   #30649  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
I know this is the madVR thread but since Shiandow's debanding algorithm is being tested along side madVR's, I hope the thread will forgive me for the following.
In my tinkering with the deband algorithm's this weekend I have confirmed for myself a rather happy alternative use for Shiandow's algorithm set at 1.00 strength and .01 margin with grain. It does an excellent job of deblocking and denoising my old dvr rips at sub 480p resolution without totally killing detail (in tandem with nnedi3) and making it a fuzzy mess. Well more fuzzy than it already was.
This is just my opinion, but I think it would really be beneficial (for me and possibly even a small minority of users) if Shiandow might be able to optimize his debanding algorithm further down that path and possibly madshi could use it as a denoiser/general deblocker for madVR somewhere in the near future.
Not every user uses madVR for just relatively clean HD content. I for one have a lot of old dvr files that I just can't see myself getting rid of and no amount of recoding that I can personally do will improve the quality of these files.
This is just a suggestion an by no means a demand in any way, shape or form.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 02:09   #30650  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Code:
madVR v0.88.10

* fixed: some problems when using NNEDI3
* slightly modified "high" debanding preset, once more
I tried NNEDI3 again and it still doesn't work. What's interesting is that if I apply NNEDI3 frame quadrupling, it does change rendering times, but that's because it applies Jinc3 twice. See attached picture. I'm using dual-graphics Radeon HD 7670M on Windows 7 x64.


Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:08.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 02:52   #30651  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
have you checked it without profiles?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 04:57   #30652  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,773
The double "> Jinc3 AR" report is normal if you weren't using doubling but were using upscaling refinement with the "refine the image after every ~2x upscaling step" option checked. It looks like NNEDI3 doubling is unavailable or that profile isn't the one being used?

The bold text doesn't change once you open the settings page so changes to the source (probably not the issue here) or the settings can cause madVR to use one of the other profiles without any indication.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 05:46   #30653  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Call me crazy but my favorite feature after the possibility for 10bit, was that the uninstaller/installer no longer does "DING!" everytime is run.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 07:11   #30654  |  Link
Blackfyre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
Call me crazy but my favorite feature after the possibility for 10bit, was that the uninstaller/installer no longer does "DING!" everytime is run.
I actually miss the "DING"
Blackfyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 07:51   #30655  |  Link
MysteryX
Soul Architect
 
MysteryX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
The double "> Jinc3 AR" report is normal if you weren't using doubling but were using upscaling refinement with the "refine the image after every ~2x upscaling step" option checked. It looks like NNEDI3 doubling is unavailable or that profile isn't the one being used?

The bold text doesn't change once you open the settings page so changes to the source (probably not the issue here) or the settings can cause madVR to use one of the other profiles without any indication.
I was using upscaling refinement, but with the other option checked to do it only once. If I disable refinement, the double upscaling is gone.

It's using the right profile. NNEDI3 never worked on my computer, no matter the driver version, no matter if I reinstall Windows.

However... Jinc4 and Lanczos8 were removed, probably because NNEDI3 is a better alternative. But since I don't have NNEDI3, there are cases where Jinc4 and Lanczos8 serve me, so for now I'm better to stick to the old version.

Last edited by MysteryX; 24th June 2015 at 07:08.
MysteryX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 09:00   #30656  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
With v0.88.9 and v0.88.10 Average stats > rendering never stabilize, it jumps up and down and i've have frame drops. It applies to Jinc and jumps from 6ms to 22ms. If I choose Bicubic it settles at around 18ms after a few seconds. If you need more information about my sys and settings, say so.
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 09:33   #30657  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberscott View Post
Neither of those worked. One slight difference I noticed was with the present queue is now stuck at 2-5/8 instead of the previous 1-4/8 on both builds. Here are the logs.
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=...19334988377767
The first log makes sense, but the 2nd doesn't. The 2nd log indicates that it wasn't from the build 2 I intended you to test. Either I uploaded the wrong file, or you tested with the wrong file. To be safe, I've uploaded the 2nd build again:

http://madshi.net/madVR8810test4.rar

Could you please test this build again? Thanks!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 10:00   #30658  |  Link
Braum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysteryX View Post
I was using upscaling refinement, but with the other option checked to do it only once. If I disable refinement, the double upscaling is gone.

It's using the right profile. NNEDI3 never worked on my computer, no matter the driver version, no matter if I reinstall Windows.

However... Jinc4 and Lanczos8 were removed, probably because NNEDI3 is a better alternative. But since I don't have NNEDI3, there are cases where Jinc4 and Lanczos8 serve me, so for now I'm better to stick to the old version.
I don't think it matters because your rig isn't powerfull enough to upscale with NNEDI.

I got a i5 3570@4,5Ghz and a 7870XT and to upscale 1280x720 to 1680x998 I can't use Double NNEDI 16x.

I can use NEDI in double and quadruple tough.
Braum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 11:27   #30659  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
the file in question is 280p that pretty easy to double at least.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 14:56   #30660  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,528
What aspects of a video card are important for madVR performance? I currently have a GTX 680 and get frame drops with NNEDI3, 64 neurons when upscaling 720p to 1440p. I'm considering upgrading to a GTX 970.
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.