Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th October 2015, 20:35   #33641  |  Link
tahaa7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 36
I just noticed something interesting: when I watch a video in MPC-HC in windowed (non-Exclusive) mode, madvr seems not to be using GPU acceleration, and the CPU usage is 90-100%, while the GPU is at 10% or less. This of course reflects itself in video stuttering. However, when I switch to fullscreen exclusive mode and monitor CPU and GPU usage, it then becomes more like 50-50.

Is there a specific reason for that? Is that expected behaviour?
tahaa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 20:38   #33642  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
Yesterday I had the problem using ISR, I turned it off and played a video without subtitles to rule that out today. (I do have XySubFilter 746 installed, though.)
And you can 100% reproduce the problem with v0.89.11, but not at all with v0.89.9, without using XySubFilter, is that correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahaa7 View Post
I just noticed something interesting: when I watch a video in MPC-HC in windowed (non-Exclusive) mode, madvr seems not to be using GPU acceleration, and the CPU usage is 90-100%, while the GPU is at 10% or less. This of course reflects itself in video stuttering. However, when I switch to fullscreen exclusive mode and monitor CPU and GPU usage, it then becomes more like 50-50.

Is there a specific reason for that? Is that expected behaviour?
Sounds strange. Has that always been that way? Or is it a new problem? Are you using software decoding or copyback or native hardware decoding? What GPU? OS? This is not an Optimus system, is it?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 20:47   #33643  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
And you can 100% reproduce the problem with v0.89.11, but not at all with v0.89.9, without using XySubFilter, is that correct?
Correct. (video has no subtitles to begin with, ISR is off, I even uninstalled XySubFilter to make sure just now)

I'm not using Aero. (In case it makes a difference)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 20:47   #33644  |  Link
Knight77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I can't help you with that (I'm not a C++ dev ), but you can ask the MPC-HC/BE dev teams, I think they are smart enough for that


I'm against it at its current state, I made couple of screenshots around 1-2 week(s) ago, where you could easily see the unwanted modifications on the picture by it.
Are you suggesting to do not use Superres in chroma upscaling? Just to understand. What about image refinement in case of image not upscaled (I.e. 1080p>1080p)? Which refinement do you suggest ?

Sent from my XT1095 using Tapatalk
Knight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 20:50   #33645  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You probably have not updated XySubFilter to build 745 yet, have you?
Na, that was on 745. I also noticed with double lined subs, when the video frame is set to normal on a larger resolution screen (1080 on 4k), one line is on the edge on the bottom of the video frame instead of inside, and one is in the black bars. Looks a bit weird.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 20:59   #33646  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
Correct. (video has no subtitles to begin with, ISR is off, I even uninstalled XySubFilter to make sure just now)

I'm not using Aero. (In case it makes a difference)
I've tried to reproduce it here. I've reset madVR to default settings. Then I've played a NTSC DVD with DXVA deinterlacing and software decoding, switching back and forth between windowed and fullscreen playback (both FSE and windowed maximized). RAM consumption seems to be stable here. We're talking CPU RAM, not GPU RAM, right? Can you also try with default madVR settings and a DVD, so we do the same tests? If you can't reproduce the problem that way, either, could you please find out where the difference is between a setup that produces the problem and a setup which doesn't?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arm3nian View Post
At first the move subtitles wasn't working for me. Then it started to work. But it messes up when scrubbing through the video. With my .ASS sample it starts at the bottom if I have it selected, but if I scrub a bit then it goes higher up.
What exactly do you mean with "scrub"? It's not a term I'm familiar with in the context of video playback. Which subtitle move setting do you have selected? Can I have a sample of the video you have this problem with, and step-by-step guide to reproduce the problem with that sample?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 21:08   #33647  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Screenshot and sample, please!
Vobsub problem sample cut:
http://expirebox.com/download/556b09...043bca9e3.html

Can't get the screenshot with the subtitles in FSE/overlay/windowed.

Last edited by dansrfe; 16th October 2015 at 21:11.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 21:11   #33648  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
We're talking CPU RAM, not GPU RAM, right?
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Can you also try with default madVR settings and a DVD, so we do the same tests?
I don't have any NTSC DVD at hand.
I used that sample:
wget -U quicktime http://movietrailers.apple.com/movie...tlr2_h480p.mov
(I can upload it somewhere if you don't have wget)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 21:27   #33649  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
Vobsub problem sample cut:
http://expirebox.com/download/556b09...043bca9e3.html

Can't get the screenshot with the subtitles in FSE/overlay/windowed.
What should I see with that sample? It seems to work fine here, either with or without "move subtitles" enabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
I don't have any NTSC DVD at hand.
I used that sample:
wget -U quicktime http://movietrailers.apple.com/movie...tlr2_h480p.mov
(I can upload it somewhere if you don't have wget)
Have you tried with madVR reset to default settings? Are we talking about CPU RAM or GPU RAM? How are you measuring RAM consumption? And which RAM consumption numbers do you get with v0.89.9 and v0.89.11? Thanks!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 21:29   #33650  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
What exactly do you mean with "scrub"? It's not a term I'm familiar with in the context of video playback. Which subtitle move setting do you have selected? Can I have a sample of the video you have this problem with, and step-by-step guide to reproduce the problem with that sample?
I mean jumping to different parts of the video. Remember the crash involving smooth motion? Like that.

The anime I tested with is 1080 with no black bars, so it takes up the full screen when upscaled to 4k, I guess a 1080 screen with a 1080 source would also work. When I have "to the bottom of the screen/window" selected and I start the video, the subtitles start on the very bottom as expected. But if I jump around, the subtitles move north, and end up where the subtitles would be if I had selected "into active video area". So I guess you could say the first option in 'move subtitles' doesn't work correctly.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 22:06   #33651  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Have you tried with madVR reset to default settings?
Yes. (But as I said I don't use Aero, which means "Old Path" windowed mode)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Are we talking about CPU RAM or GPU RAM?
CPU RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
How are you measuring RAM consumption?
Looking at the MPC-HC process in the Windows Task Manager.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
And which RAM consumption numbers do you get with v0.89.9 and v0.89.11? Thanks!
0.89.9: at start goes to 330k and stays about there no matter what I do
0.89.11: at start goes to 330k, then after first max.->min. to 580k, 2nd max.->min. to 820k and just keeps on growing with roughly that speed to 1G, 2G...
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 23:00   #33652  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,717
Could someone please do me a favor and post a profile rule which activates a profile via a certain scalingFactor.x/y value?
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 00:08   #33653  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You're not saying strength 4 is faster than strength 3, are you? It's not supposed to be that way, if that's what you're saying.

Yes, the performance optimization mostly benefits high strength settings. The previous madVR build got very slow when using high strength. The latest build should still lose some performance when turning up strength, but far less.
No, I'm saying that going from 3 to 4 previously absolutely killed performance, while now is far more affordable. Good job!
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 01:23   #33654  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Could someone please do me a favor and post a profile rule which activates a profile via a certain scalingFactor.x/y value?
What do you want the rule to do?
I'm guessing generally you would want something like this:
Code:
if (scalingFactor.x >= 1.2) and (scalingFactor.y >= 1.2) "Profile 1"
else "Profile 2"
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 02:21   #33655  |  Link
agustin9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 85
Subtitle margin problem

The subtitle margin changes with scale using XySubFilter, not with the internal mpc engine.

Example:



I'm using madvr 0.89.11 and XySubFilter 3.1.0.746...
Thanks!
agustin9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 02:32   #33656  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arm3nian View Post
What do you want the rule to do?
I'm guessing generally you would want something like this:
Code:
if (scalingFactor.x >= 1.2) and (scalingFactor.y >= 1.2) "Profile 1"
else "Profile 2"
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Could someone please do me a favor and post a profile rule which activates a profile via a certain scalingFactor.x/y value?
The scaling factor rule don't work properly last I tried.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 02:38   #33657  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
The scaling factor rule don't work properly last I tried.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
Worked fine for me. Most likely an error in your script. There's a little green check mark that comes up when it thinks everything is correct.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 03:08   #33658  |  Link
zvans18
Registered User
 
zvans18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 22
i actually do have a problem i can't seem to resolve on my own: for a few releases automatic refresh rate changing hasn't worked. it's not a big deal as the only thing it helps with is 25 fps (i have 50, 60, and 66 profiles in nvidia settings) which i don't watch often. all that happens is occasionally the screen will flicker after player close, if it happens at all

doesn't matter if i use dx9 or 11, fse or not, switch on playback start or fullscreen

win 8.1, gtx 970, 358.50 drivers, MPC-BE x64 1.4.5 787, madvr 89.11, lav 66

i don't want to nuke madvr settings because of how many profiles i have, but will if it's the only fix, i've been overwrite installing madvr since somewhere in late 87.x (whatever the first KCP x64 used)

followup question: what's a good rule of thumb for fresh installing, other than 'when weird stuff starts happening'?
__________________
Windows 10 // i7-8700k + GTX 1080 SLI // MPC-BE x64 + LAV + XySubFilter

Last edited by zvans18; 17th October 2015 at 03:21.
zvans18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 03:40   #33659  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
I switched to the internal subtitle renderer in MPC-BE and all problems are gone.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2015, 10:06   #33660  |  Link
M@ssy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
If I keep active the image doubling with the cuvid, the images freezes once in full screen

Last edited by M@ssy; 17th October 2015 at 10:12.
M@ssy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.