Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th May 2017, 19:48   #43741  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
I am helping a user with the following issue. Frames keep repeating creating judder.

Video of problem here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRvmy2bM8i8

Quote:

This is in DSPlayer. Some movies/video will do it, some wont. This is a 23.976 movie, but it does the same with a 50fps video file I have. I've just tested with MPC-HC with the 50fps video file... It's ok in full screen, but the problem appears in window mode. Meanwhile, the same 23.976 movie I've uploaded to youtube does the exact opposite (ok in window mode, haywire in full screen).

hardware/software:
windows 10 pro creator's update 64bit
mpc-hc / dsplayer,lav, reclock all in 32bit
Intel i5 4670k
intel HD 4600
Toshiba HDTV 46G310U

Thanks,
Max

Edit: Ok, manually switching to 23p in intel hd graphics control panel does the trick for the 23.976 movie. Weird. Switching it to 50p for the 50p file doesn't solve the window glitch however. I did input 1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60 in diplay settings in madvr.

Last edited by Warner306; 17th May 2017 at 19:51.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 20:52   #43742  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipanema View Post
It seems a bit strange that madVR tries to run the configuration gui just because the input pin is being connected - is this normal behaviour ?

It seems a bit pointless, especially when the gui doesn't even appear.
Did it show up in system tray? The GUI loads minimized.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 21:05   #43743  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipanema View Post
It seems a bit strange that madVR tries to run the configuration gui just because the input pin is being connected - is this normal behaviour ?
This is perfectly normal behavior. You should probably tone down whichever "security" app you use.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 01:40   #43744  |  Link
ipanema
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks. It seems to start up in the tray, and then exits when the madVR is destroyed.

The dialog is not from a security application, it's the standard Windows warning when an unknown exe is executed. Un-ticking the "Always ask before opening this file" gets rid of future warning dialogs for the madHcCtrl.exe

Thanks again.
ipanema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 02:08   #43745  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
I use JR with madvr and it has a section were it automatically selects the different frame rates which I have ticked.
Do I also have to select 1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60 in display settings in madvr?

If so and since I play everything back in 4K, do I have to write them differently?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 02:41   #43746  |  Link
johnnylaiyee
Registered User
 
johnnylaiyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
I use JR with madvr and it has a section were it automatically selects the different frame rates which I have ticked.
Do I also have to select 1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60 in display settings in madvr?

If so and since I play everything back in 4K, do I have to write them differently?
I prefer Madvr's framerate control. You can type 2160p23 to work in 4k.

JR's framerate control sometimes crashes the playback for me.
johnnylaiyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 02:48   #43747  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
So do you leave JRs frame rate switched to auto on or off with using the one on madvr?

So is this what I would do in madvr since everything is scaled to 4k?
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p50, 2160p30, 2160p60, is that all?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 02:52   #43748  |  Link
johnnylaiyee
Registered User
 
johnnylaiyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
So do you leave JRs frame rate switched to auto on or off with using the one on madvr?

So is this what I would do in madvr since everything is scaled to 4k?
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p50, 2160p30, 2160p60, is that all?
I leave the JR's settings to off.

And yea, those are good enough for all kinds of 4k playback.

BTW, do you use the video clock feature in JR?
johnnylaiyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 02:59   #43749  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Yes i have always used video clock in JR and it seems to work fine...
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 03:02   #43750  |  Link
johnnylaiyee
Registered User
 
johnnylaiyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Yes i have always used video clock in JR and it seems to work fine...
Do you find any sound quality difference between bitstreaming and multi-channel PCM?
johnnylaiyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 03:07   #43751  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Not that I have noticed..
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 07:28   #43752  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
Is it more correct to set my 1080 video card on resolution to 23 rather than 24?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 07:45   #43753  |  Link
johnnylaiyee
Registered User
 
johnnylaiyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Is it more correct to set my 1080 video card on resolution to 23 rather than 24?
Yes, 23 is suitable for 23.976 playback
johnnylaiyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 19:53   #43754  |  Link
dioxholster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnylaiyee View Post
Yes, 23 is suitable for 23.976 playback
why not 24? Would that produce stutter? 23.976 is an error anyway since its supposed to be 24, why do theyy still use it.

Last edited by dioxholster; 18th May 2017 at 20:03.
dioxholster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 03:57   #43755  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,059
i'm pretty sure cameras can do both.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 04:26   #43756  |  Link
kalston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxholster View Post
why not 24? Would that produce stutter? 23.976 is an error anyway since its supposed to be 24, why do theyy still use it.
Has to do with NTSC.

There's some true 24fps blu-rays out there still, just very few.
kalston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 10:36   #43757  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 842
Hello!

I've been having hangs using potplayer, when I quickly open files after each other, fast enought so the playback doesn't have time to start.
At last I thoroughly tested it and it apparently it depends on using madVR as a renderer. I reported it to the potplayer dev (with Potplayer and madVR configuration) and he claims it's a madVR bug.
I of course can't tell whether he's right or not, but I thought I'd mention it here.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 13:32   #43758  |  Link
takenori
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
just want to ask does anyone have a problem opening madvr settings with windows 10?
its a new build with windows 10 updated to the latest patch, so im wondering if i need to install anything else to make madvr works.
thanks
takenori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 13:52   #43759  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by takenori View Post
just want to ask does anyone have a problem opening madvr settings with windows 10?
its a new build with windows 10 updated to the latest patch, so im wondering if i need to install anything else to make madvr works.
thanks
No problems here, but running the Restore Default Settings batch file has always fixed any madVR problems I've run into after a change to my system.

Just be sure to make a note of all your settings before you run it, if you can get to them. Best bet is to run "madHcCtrl.exe editLocalSettingsDontWait" command from the madVR folder.

Last edited by jkauff; 19th May 2017 at 14:00.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 14:28   #43760  |  Link
takenori
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
No problems here, but running the Restore Default Settings batch file has always fixed any madVR problems I've run into after a change to my system.

Just be sure to make a note of all your settings before you run it, if you can get to them. Best bet is to run "madHcCtrl.exe editLocalSettingsDontWait" command from the madVR folder.
it still wont appear.
i tried both that line and editLocalSettings but still the same.
the apps is running in the task manager and need to be force closed, but the window settings still not appearing
-----------------------------
just found this and found the problem with nahimic 2. now it appears.
http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=478

Last edited by takenori; 19th May 2017 at 15:03. Reason: solved
takenori is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.