Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th June 2020, 23:05   #1  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Best 'dancing grain' filter for x265?

I'm looking for a good "dancing grain" filter for x265.
Since MCTemporaldenoise is not working any longer (can't get it to work on Staxrip), I tried SMDegrain, FFT3D and some other.I I like fft3d so far, but maybe you guys know better filters?
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 05:51   #2  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
TemporalDegrain2(grainLevel=false)

"Temporal Degrain is a very slow, multi-stage temporal denoiser originally created for killing the dancing grain present in 300."
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 08:48   #3  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
I can't find it in Staxrip.
I only have removegrain with repair and mctemporaldenoise (which I don't get it to work)
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 14:23   #4  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalfunky View Post
I can't find it in Staxrip.
I only have removegrain with repair and mctemporaldenoise (which I don't get it to work)
I know, I asked the StaxRip-developers to include it, but they never did.
But you can feed StaxRip an *.avs file, that you can put TemporalDegrain2 in.

Last edited by Forteen88; 13th June 2020 at 14:46. Reason: fixed grammar
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 19:48   #5  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Thanks! How do I include the .avs file in Staxrip?
What do you use for resharpening the picture?
I used aWarpSharp2 and I think it's good.

Last edited by crystalfunky; 13th June 2020 at 19:52.
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 20:26   #6  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalfunky View Post
Thanks! How do I include the .avs file in Staxrip?
What do you use for resharpening the picture?
I used aWarpSharp2 and I think it's good.
First install AviSynth+,
https://github.com/AviSynth/AviSynthPlus/releases

Then, in the program AvsPmod (or Notepad), you should write (and save the file as "filename.avs" (without the citationmarks), set what filename you want, but the filename should end with .avs),
Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+\fft3dfilter.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+\masktools2.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+\mvtools2.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+\RgTools.dll")
Import("C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+\TemporalDegrain-v2.2.1.avsi")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+\LSMASHSource.dll")
LWLibavVideoSource("C:\Videos\yourvideofile.mp4", threads=1)
TemporalDegrain2(grainLevel=false)
I think that it will be enough (assuming you use that filepath for TemporalDegrain-v2.2.1.avsi), I don't think that a video-source loading-filter is needed, since Staxrip got an integrated loading-filter.

All the filters (fft3dfilter, masktools2, mvtools2, RgTools) that are needed for TemporalDegrain2 are downloadable here,
http://www.avisynth.nl/index.php/TemporalDegrain2
Extract the filter's .dll files to C:\Program Files\AviSynthPlus\plugins64+

I hear that sharpening is a bit bad for compression, so I rather use a sharpening-filter on playback. So I can't give you good advice on that.
I used to use LimitedSharpenFaster-plugin.

Last edited by Forteen88; 16th June 2020 at 10:10. Reason: formatting
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 21:47   #7  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
What do I do with that file then?
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 23:13   #8  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalfunky View Post
What do I do with that file then?
You right-click in StaxRip's "Source"-field, choose "Open...", then choose "Single File" and load your *.avs file there.

UPDATE: Oh, I tried my script, and it didn't work, so I added video-loading (LSMASH) in my script above now, and now it works in StaxRip.
I just read that the Staxrip-dev will integrate TemporalDegrain2 into StaxRip, but maybe it takes time for the developer to release that update.

Last edited by Forteen88; 13th June 2020 at 23:29.
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2020, 23:35   #9  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,493
TemporalDegrain2 is included in the next build.

The docs were updated to describe how to add custom filter profiles:

https://staxrip.readthedocs.io/usage...ilter-profiles

The custom profile definition:

Code:
[Noise]

TemporalDegrain2 =
    Import("D:\TemporalDegrain2\TemporalDegrain2.avsi")
    TemporalDegrain2(degrainTR=2, postFFT=3, postSigma=3)
All dependencies are included in current version 2.1.3.0 and staxrip detects and loads them automatically.

I hope it's understandable and works.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2020, 20:58   #10  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
answered already in the avisynth thread.
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2020, 23:57   #11  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,357
A quick and dirty option within x265 itself is the --nr-inter filter. This does an adaptive deadzone around high frequency details in predicted blocks. Net effect is that the grain texture of the IDR frame tends to be preserved throughout the GOP without it dancing around so much. It can provide some welcome ABR reduction as well, since random high frequency noise that changes every frame is quite expensive to encode. --nr-inter 500 is a good place to start, although a lower value might be better in practice depending on content and encoding settings.

If you want to get rid of noise even on IDR frames, there is also --nr-intra. But that can soften the image quite a bit, removing non-random detail as well.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2020, 08:02   #12  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
oh thanks, I didn't know I can use them separately, although I always got some really blurry picture with those settings. Probably as you said because of the nr-intra setting.
Will try it out and will let you know how it turns out.
I liked fft3d so far. I wish I could get temporaldegrain2 to work, but so far no luck with staxrip.
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2020, 11:35   #13  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalfunky View Post
... I wish I could get temporaldegrain2 to work, but so far no luck with staxrip.
I've confirmed that my method works for that, that I wrote above.
Tell me what error you got if that didn't work for you.
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2020, 21:36   #14  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Staxrip 2.1.3.1 crashes with the following error: 1 (0x1)
Unzulässige Funktion (improper function)
when I start the encoding process.

How good is FFT3d compared to TemporalDegrain2?

Last edited by crystalfunky; 15th June 2020 at 21:46.
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2020, 10:18   #15  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalfunky View Post
Staxrip 2.1.3.1 crashes with the following error: 1 (0x1)
Unzulässige Funktion (improper function)
when I start the encoding process.
OK, it is probably wrong filepaths, or not all the required plugins are there, or not correct 64-bit version of the plugins.
IDK about FFT3d.
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2020, 16:11   #16  |  Link
crystalfunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forteen88 View Post
OK, it is probably wrong filepaths, or not all the required plugins are there, or not correct 64-bit version of the plugins.
IDK about FFT3d.
The filepaths are solid, because I can encode without the filter without problems.
Staxrip is checking the plugins if they are there. So I guess if something's missing, Staxrip wouldn't even start the muxing process. The same with the 64-bit plugins. But I can be wrong of course.
Is the new staxrip version 2.1.3.1 running on your system with the TemporalDegrain2 filter enabled?
crystalfunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2020, 16:27   #17  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalfunky View Post
The filepaths are solid, because I can encode without the filter without problems.
Staxrip is checking the plugins if they are there. So I guess if something's missing, Staxrip wouldn't even start the muxing process. The same with the 64-bit plugins. But I can be wrong of course.
Is the new staxrip version 2.1.3.1 running on your system with the TemporalDegrain2 filter enabled?
You can test the AVS-script in the program AvsPmod, and if you don't get a frame-window in AvsPmod when you press the F5-key on the keyboard, then you might get a more precise error-message.
No, I can't choose TemporalDegrain2 filter in Staxrip version 2.1.3.1.
EDIT: Sorry, I meant that I tested Staxrip version 2.1.3.0. That's the latest version I see at,
https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/releases

Last edited by Forteen88; 16th June 2020 at 17:09. Reason: correction
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2020, 16:29   #18  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,493
@crystalfunky

It runs here, maybe a dependency is missing, staxrip has a detection for dependencies but it could be incomplete, maybe try this:

https://github.com/abbodi1406/vcredist


@Forteen88

If it's not in the menu then you can find it in the Profile editor in the Defaults tab.

Last edited by stax76; 16th June 2020 at 16:32.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2020, 17:10   #19  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
@Forteen88
If it's not in the menu then you can find it in the Profile editor in the Defaults tab.
My bad, I meant that I tested Staxrip version 2.1.3.0. That's the latest version I see at,
https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/releases
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2020, 18:01   #20  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,493
Quote:
My bad, I meant that I tested Staxrip version 2.1.3.0. That's the latest version I see at,
https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/releases

It was added in 2.1.3.1 Beta:

https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/b...g.md#2131-beta


Download:

https://staxrip.readthedocs.io/intro....html#download
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.