Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th July 2015, 12:41   #2781  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,290
wasn't it "ok" to do copyback with the openCL khronos extension. which makes the amd copyback issue not a "bug".
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 13:46   #2782  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Yeah the Khronos group didn't mandate the need to do interop without a copyback so it's not technically a bug, but that doesn't mean it isn't a problem.
Anyway until Nvidia brings back their interop extension, you'll have to use the shader version of NNEDI3. On my Kepler, the OpenCL version is a fair bit faster. Fermi is the other way around... Go figure.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 13:57   #2783  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Dear devs,

The latest code check-in on GitHub is meant for v2.39.0 (available as test build only at the moment), which unfortunately has some breaking changes to the extensions API due to the introduction of ScalerTaps.Two.

Hardware scalers have also been removed and nearest neighbour / bilinear now works properly when used as a downscaler - i.e. they are 1-tap box and 2-tap triangular filters respectively.
The new nearest neighbour downscaler should be around the same quality as the old hardware bilinear (and non hardware bilinear) when downscaling by a small amount but it should give much better quality at larger downscale factors (but it's still just a box filter at the end of the day). You may find the new bilinear to be adequate in most cases without the need to go to Bicubic even.

Anyway if anyone wants to have a play with it besides the devs, feel free to download the test build from http://mpdn.zachsaw.com/Test%20Builds/3220/. If you encounter any problems, please report them here. Do note however that if you want to use it with extensions, you'll have to use the latest source from GitHub.

Cheers.

Last edited by Zachs; 29th July 2015 at 14:01.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 16:12   #2784  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
How can I use SuperRes after each doubling when using NNEDI3 quadrupling?
I have two conditional scripts in a row set up for quadrupling:
Code:
if SourceSize.Width < 1280 and SourceSize.Height < 720 and NeedsUpscaling
-> use NNEDI3 + Image Processor
if SourceSize.Width <= 1600 and SourceSize.Height <= 900 and NeedsUpscaling
-> use NNEDI3 + Image Processor
If I simply replace NNEDI3 in these two scripts with SuperRes (each with NNEDI3 as prescaler), I seem to end up with only NNEDI3 doubling instead of quadrupling.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 16:53   #2785  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 753
As of now that's not possible since SuperRes always scales to the screen size. There are also some subtleties when you use SuperRes multiple times like that since it's best for SuperRes to know that the original image was, which it won't if you simply use it after the image has been doubled.

For now it's best to just use the NNEDI3 quadrupler as a prescaler for SuperRes.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 17:13   #2786  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
Ok, .
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 00:08   #2787  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
Dear devs,
The new nearest neighbour downscaler should be around the same quality as the old hardware bilinear (and non hardware bilinear) when downscaling by a small amount but it should give much better quality at larger downscale factors (but it's still just a box filter at the end of the day). You may find the new bilinear to be adequate in most cases without the need to go to Bicubic even.

Cheers.
Does the new scalers would be of any benefit together with SuperRes in the future versions, where bilinear played a role in downscaling 2x scaled image to the original size?
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 00:14   #2788  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
It should already have an effect. You should try it out. Feedback's always appreciated as usual.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 02:07   #2789  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
BTW, while we're on the subject, has anyone noticed the SM5 NNEDI3 is now around 10% faster with the same neurons vs OpenCL with the recent Nvidia drivers? At least on my Fermi cards, it was neck and neck (with SM5 just a touch faster) when we first implemented it. We haven't updated the NNEDI3 code and the only thing that's changed would've been the drivers. Just wondering if anyone's noticed the speed improvements.
My 750Ti can do 256 neurons at 720 x 480 x 24FPS now.. It's pretty much at it's limit though.

D3D9, with hardware bilinear chroma and luma no SM or FM and no dithering on a 720x480 24 FPS file using NNEDI3 on OpenCL with a target resolution of 1920 x 1080

Code:
MPDN

Neurons  Rendering time          GPU %
16          10.6                 15%
32          13.3                 20%
64          17.8                 30%
128         23.7                 53%
256         39.6                 91%

madVR

Neurons  Rendering time          GPU %
16          10.4                 12%
32          13.1                 18%
64          17.7                 31%
128         25.6                 57%
256         43.7                 96% ~Frame drops~

Last edited by ryrynz; 30th July 2015 at 06:09.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 02:31   #2790  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Speaking of NNEDI3, I've just checked in some codes that allow you to select different neuron count for each pass.
First pass is definitely much more important than second as the second relies on the first.
Go have a play.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 20:15   #2791  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
Zachs, MPDN often crashes with this error when I change lots of settings in a row, e.g. when comparing scaling results:

Sometimes the player also becomes sluggish before this when switching between fullscreen several times (non-FSE).

Furthermore, the dialog to add shaders to image processor can't be reached if media is opened in the player, it then opens somwhere in the background or so and can't be pulled to the foreground.
The player must be terminated because it locks itself out.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 00:16   #2792  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,679
Good thing there's two NNEDI3 versions.. Since Nvidias w10 driver kills openCL compatibility ATM with no ETA on the fix.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 02:03   #2793  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Zachs, MPDN often crashes with this error when I change lots of settings in a row, e.g. when comparing scaling results:

Sometimes the player also becomes sluggish before this when switching between fullscreen several times (non-FSE).

Furthermore, the dialog to add shaders to image processor can't be reached if media is opened in the player, it then opens somwhere in the background or so and can't be pulled to the foreground.
The player must be terminated because it locks itself out.
This error message is from the CLR (i.e. .NET runtime) and indicates a serious problem in the runtime. First thing that comes to mind is that there's a memory corruption that has affected the runtime. It could be caused by a number of things though... even a GPU driver can cause that since they run mostly in user mode now.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 02:04   #2794  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Good thing there's two NNEDI3 versions.. Since Nvidias w10 driver kills openCL compatibility ATM with no ETA on the fix.
Have they even said they're going to fix it?
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 02:14   #2795  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
They may bring it back or not, we have not been told yet:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...18371/#4618371

And SM5.0 NNEDI3 is still working well here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
This error message is from the CLR (i.e. .NET runtime) and indicates a serious problem in the runtime. First thing that comes to mind is that there's a memory corruption that has affected the runtime. It could be caused by a number of things though... even a GPU driver can cause that since they run mostly in user mode now.
It happens out of nowhere while I'm in the settings dialog, mostly of render scripts.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 02:23   #2796  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
They may bring it back or not, we have not been told yet
And SM5.0 NNEDI3 is still working well here.
Yeah real shame after I posted those glorious openCL NNEDI3 results.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 03:52   #2797  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Is it actually possible to run 353.49 Hotfix drivers under Windows 10? I heard they force the latest one on you via Windows Update. I wonder what would happen if you are running a beta driver that is newer than what Windows Update has...
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 11:15   #2798  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,290
you can run 353.49 and you can disable the update. it's not true that you can't stop updates.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 12:50   #2799  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can run 353.49 and you can disable the update. it's not true that you can't stop updates.
Confirmed 343.59 fixes OpenCL. Huhn you might wanna let people know about this on the madVR forum, also mention the device installation settings option to disable auto updating from Windows Update.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2015, 13:02   #2800  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Uh detailed instructions on how to disabled windows update for GPU drivers would be nice...
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct3d, mpdn, nnedi3, opencl, reclock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.