Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th April 2013, 14:58   #1  |  Link
illCP
Registered User
 
illCP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
DGIndexNV - block artifacts in DVB-S2 H.264-stream

Hello,

I'm pretty sure this is not concerning DGIndexNV directly (more to that below), but as it bothers me the most here:


I'm experiencing block artifacts in a h.264-TS when decoding it with DGIndexNV 2044. It's a DVB-recording from BBC HD (Astra 28.2E) a couple of months ago, recorded with yaVDR 0.4. I've uploaded a small sample containing the affected position (cut from the original VDR-TS with TSDoctor):

http://www.mediafire.com/?rb59vbubam4an44

The problem appears from frame 114 to 121, mainly in the left bottom corner - see attached screenshot. I admit it's not a huge disaster because it's barely noticeable, but it points to a decoder problem.

At first I assumed it might plain and simple be an error in the stream, caused by bad satellite reception, the VDR itself or whatever, but I wondered why TSDoctor didn't report an error or a warning. Then I noticed some DirectX-filters/-decoders are showing the scene without any error. I did further checking on that and discovered the following pattern:


OK, no artifacts:

- MainConcept 8.5.0.53.657 on MPC-HC 1.5.1.2903
- LAV filters 0.56, CUVID disabled on MPC-HC
- CoreAVC 3.0.1, CUDA disabled on MPC-HC
- VLC 2.0.5 (as far as I know VLC uses its own decoders and no DirectShow-filters?)


Error, artifacts:

- DGIndexNV 2044
- LAV filters 0.56, CUVID enabled on MPC-HC
- CoreAVC 3.0.1, CUDA enabled on MPC-HC


So it seems the problem appears whenever CUDA is involved, software-based decoding seems to be fine. My problem here: As a matter of principle DGIndexNV is not designed to turn off CUDA...


My System:

Windows 7 x64
nVidia GTX 550 Ti (two of them to be precise) with driver version 314.22 (just updated yesterday to be on the safe side)


Any ideas?
Attached Images
 
illCP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2013, 17:55   #2  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,070
same happens with GTXC 660 and 314.22 drivers
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 09:47   #3  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by illCP View Post
My problem here: As a matter of principle DGIndexNV is not designed to turn off CUDA...
Of course, why a tool optimised for a task should disable its advantage?
Use DGindex, it doesn't rely on CUDA (or NVidia) at all.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 10:05   #4  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 4,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghitulescu View Post
Of course, why a tool optimised for a task should disable its advantage?
Use DGindex, it doesn't rely on CUDA (or NVidia) at all.
Good call. Now tell us how to get DGIndex to parse AVC streams.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 17th April 2013 at 10:58. Reason: typo
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 10:09   #5  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 4,997
I can also confirm the artifacts with DGNV using a simple script loaded in VDub (GT240, driver 275.33).
FFVideoSource works fine with this clip.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 10:50   #6  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghitulescu View Post
Use DGindex, it doesn't rely on CUDA (or NVidia) at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Good call. No tell us how to get DGIndex to parse AVC streams.
Sorry, I meant DGAVCindex.
I do not use them so I am not that familiar with their names and versions.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 11:24   #7  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 830
Yup, this sample looks like an ideal candidate for testing nVidia CUVID decoder issues. I confirm that blocking artifacts occur with DGDecNV 2044 32-bit on my GT520 & GeForce drivers 301.42 whereas VLC plays it just fine.
Perhaps neuron2 could make use of his nVidia connections and poke them a bit with this sample - provided the stream is indeed 100% error-free.
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2013, 18:24   #8  |  Link
illCP
Registered User
 
illCP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004
FFVideoSource works fine with this clip.
With this cutout it's OK, but FFVideoSource fails when trying to use it for the whole stream: The frame structs vary between MBAFF and Fields (TFF), it seems FFVideoSource can't handle that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghitulescu
Sorry, I meant DGAVCindex.
Apart from the fact that you can't officially download it for some time now and neuron2 pretty much abandoned it for several reasons: It also seems to have problems with altering frame structs within a stream. DGAVCDecDI on the other hand seems to work fine except for some artifacts at the beginning of the (complete) stream.

BTW: LAV set to "DXVA (copy-back)" shows the same error, "DXVA (native)" seems to work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kypec
Perhaps neuron2 could make use of his nVidia connections and poke them a bit with this sample - provided the stream is indeed 100% error-free.
That's what I was hoping for
illCP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2013, 21:02   #9  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 663
I have open sample with avidemux and playback properly.
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2013, 21:59   #10  |  Link
Sulik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 215
The stream isn't compliant: it is flagged as num_ref_frames=4 (and doesn't use more than 4), but requires more buffering due to frame reordering (it violates its specified level_idc value).
Sulik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
artifacts, block, cuda, dgindexnv, error

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.