Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th November 2009, 12:52   #1  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,270
weightp coreavc artifacts corruption

New x264 builds show visual artifacts caused by weightp 2.

Reason, coreavc doesn't support it yet. Will in Version 2.

Solution = VLC player or ffdshow decoder or Media Player Classic Home Theatre

Example,


Warning: This post will only be helpful to those who can follow rule 1a.
__________________
http://www.7-zip.org/

Last edited by Audionut; 13th November 2009 at 14:41.
Audionut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 13:16   #2  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
This is a problem many Mobile Devices won't support weightp=2 it seems, so all content you create with it wont probably be interoperable with most Hardware Decoders (or embedded codecs running on DSPs) on the market currently (talking about all the current available 720p HDMI Pmps for example). Weightp=1 seems to be the same Ateme uses since the beginning and have no problems but with X264 weightp=2 streams i can see a bulk of issues coming if it get's used by more and more people i guess it's gonna get problematic once again for the ecosystem around H.264, especially already on the market solutions will be affected, not sure if this is a good thing @ all maybe it would be better to skip weightp=2 completely in terms of interoperability.

I mean it isn't a good thing at all for the user and content producers if it brakes so many Devices already on the market, and be sure not everyone of those will be updated only to support this like CoreCodec now does it. I find this a very Problematic situation if it's really no bug i saw these problems already but visually i see black blocks not like here distored blocks which seem to use weightp=2 i really hope it's a bug (or miscompiled X264 streams floating around, will do my own tests soon) .
This seems to have the potential to become the new Qpel, GMC disaster we had with ASP just in another incarnation we just slowly moving out of the High Profile problem and now another one gets created that seems even more problematic.
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 13th November 2009 at 13:39.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 15:05   #3  |  Link
ajp_anton
Registered User
 
ajp_anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stockholm/Helsinki
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audionut View Post
Warning: This post will only be helpful to those who can follow rule 1a.
Those who follow 1a would've found this info on at least 5 places on this forum even without this.
ajp_anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 15:44   #4  |  Link
unschuldsengel
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
I am having the same issue with Flash Player
unschuldsengel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 15:47   #5  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
[...]
This seems to have the potential to become the new Qpel, GMC disaster we had with ASP just in another incarnation we just slowly moving out of the High Profile problem and now another one gets created that seems even more problematic.
Dont know; I've been expirimenting. CoreAVC, ffdshow and others dont seem to accept weightp correctly. But my STD (panasonic BD30) accepts them fine. The refs-problem i posted before hasn't shown up any more (it seems i did the test incorrectly, so i'm running the same test again to rule out errors i made before).

So in this case its not like the GMC we had before, where computers accepted gmc, and STD's didn't. It's the other way around now, and computer-software can be fixed.

And anyway; We were already warned about the problem OP/Audionut mentioned. DS wrote about this potential problem on the x264 GIT even before weightp was added.

Last edited by G_M_C; 13th November 2009 at 15:50.
G_M_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 15:56   #6  |  Link
nurbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,460
ffdshow works without problems for me.
nurbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 18:20   #7  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_M_C View Post
Dont know; I've been expirimenting. CoreAVC, ffdshow and others dont seem to accept weightp correctly. But my STD (panasonic BD30) accepts them fine.
What the heck are you on about?

We've tested dozens of software and hardware decoders. There are a grand total of two that fail: CoreAVC and the Apple TV. Basically everything else works.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 20:13   #8  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,655
No problems discovered so far with CoreAVC 1.9.5 using CUDA.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 21:08   #9  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
No problems discovered so far with CoreAVC 1.9.5 using CUDA.
...because CoreAVC with CUDA enabled lets do NVIDIA's VP2 hardware decoder all the work
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 13th November 2009 at 21:34.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 21:31   #10  |  Link
CpT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by unschuldsengel View Post
I am having the same issue with Flash Player

So am I. Exact same issue as shown above in first post.
I can post a screenshot if needed.

Edit: I should add I'm not using coreavc. This seems to traverse across multiple gui's, seems its an x264 issue.

Last edited by CpT; 13th November 2009 at 21:48.
CpT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 21:52   #11  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
I already tested this with Flash. It works perfectly. If it didn't, I wouldn't have made it default.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:09   #12  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
I already tested this with Flash. It works perfectly. If it didn't, I wouldn't have made it default.
Your sample works perfectly fine with Flash 10.0.32.18, maybe some old/outdated version had problems?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:19   #13  |  Link
CpT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 135
This has been tested in 2 different flash players and I'm of course using the latest flash.

It can be seen here http://vizmu.com/player/flash/test2.html
Scrub to 50 seconds, it's shortly after that @ 56-59

working version - scrub to 50 seconds.
http://vizmu.com/movie-trailers/724/129861/


When I disable weighted p its fine. It seems to be very specific to the scene type.

Last edited by CpT; 14th November 2009 at 02:21.
CpT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:20   #14  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by CpT View Post
It can be seen here http://vizmu.com/movie-trailers/724/129861/
Scrub to 50 seconds, it's shortly after that.
403 Forbidden
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:24   #15  |  Link
CpT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 135
lol, Where do u live? We only allow viewing from a few countries.

Last edited by CpT; 13th November 2009 at 22:28.
CpT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:30   #16  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
Nothing to do with weightp; looks like a corrupt file to me. Stop using miscompiled builds of x264.

If you have the latest x264 and you don't think your build is miscompiled, give me the exact settings and input file necessary to replicate the problem.

Last edited by Dark Shikari; 13th November 2009 at 22:35.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:33   #17  |  Link
CpT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 135
What build do you suggest for 32 bit. I've tried the last few versions from http://x264.nl/ and jeeb's and rack's. All have the same result unless weighted p is disabled.

Edit: Getting settings together for you now. Edit:nvm

Last edited by CpT; 13th November 2009 at 22:46.
CpT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:39   #18  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by CpT View Post
What build do you suggest for 32 bit. I've tried the last few versions from http://x264.nl/ and jeeb's and rack's. All have the same result unless weighted p is disabled.
Nevermind; I was wrong, JM says the encode is not corrupt.

Does the problem still occur if you encode with weightp and --nf?
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:54   #19  |  Link
CpT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 135
Testing that now.

Edit: just tested, same results with --nf + weighted p

Last edited by CpT; 13th November 2009 at 23:05.
CpT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2009, 22:57   #20  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by CpT View Post
lol, Where do u live? We only allow viewing from a few countries.
Germany
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
artifacts, coreavc, corruption, weightp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.