Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th July 2017, 11:24   #1  |  Link
P.J
🎸
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 462
Editing ProRes metadata

I got some prores videos that have wrong metadata e.g. scan type, aspect ratio.
Is there anyway to edit them?

Code:
Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : ProRes
Format version                           : Version 0
Format profile                           : 422 HQ
Codec ID                                 : apch
Duration                                 : 5mn 32s
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 41.0 Mbps
Width                                    : 720 pixels
Height                                   : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 29.970 (30000/1001) fps
Standard                                 : NTSC
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:2
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 3.955
Stream size                              : 1.58 GiB (95%)
Writing library                          : fmpg
Language                                 : English
Matrix coefficients                      : BT.601
P.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2017, 20:17   #2  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,139
These are rather MOV headers.
You can edit them- there are some tools which can do it on hex level (most Mac thought)
You can fix it with ffmpeg using copy option for video and audio and just adjusting aspect and interlacing.

ProRes does also hold some private info about some parameters. e.g. interlacing, but 99% apps read MOV headers not ProRes private ones.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2017, 21:51   #3  |  Link
P.J
🎸
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
These are rather MOV headers.
You can edit them- there are some tools which can do it on hex level (most Mac thought)
You can fix it with ffmpeg using copy option for video and audio and just adjusting aspect and interlacing.

ProRes does also hold some private info about some parameters. e.g. interlacing, but 99% apps read MOV headers not ProRes private ones.
Thanks for reply, but would you explain more?
P.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 13:18   #4  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,139
It has not much to do with fact that your video is ProRes.
Mediainfo reads those info from MOV container headers, not ProRes private headers, so fix is abut changing MOV headers, not ProRes.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 17:15   #5  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
Mediainfo reads those info from MOV container headers, not ProRes private headers, so fix is abut changing MOV headers, not ProRes.

So you can use -aspect in ffmpeg with -c:v copy -c:a copy to change the AR , and you can hex edit the fiel atom to get scan type interleaved fields and TFF , but mediainfo will still introduce another field called "original scan type" - progressive . What can you do to get rid of that short of re-encoding, or what else to hex edit ?
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 20:19   #6  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,139
This info comes from private PorRes header and only way to fix it is to re-encode file with proper interlaced encoding using prores_ks.
It's only mediainfo which checks ProRes private headers. Don't know any other real world app which would do this, so any transcoding etc will use MOV headers.
You can also hex edit 1st ProRes frame, but this info will be in every frame (although mediainfo most likely checks just 1st frame?).
Mediainfo will give you position of 1st PorRes frame in advanced parsing mode.

Proper solution is to use good ffmpeg command in 1st place.

Last edited by kolak; 14th August 2017 at 20:23.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.