Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd December 2017, 13:20   #21  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
So it's async even with simple script like:
Code:
a=ffaudiosource("source.mkv")
v=ffvideosource("source.mkv", fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001)
AudioDub(v, a)
?
Also tested ffms2000?
Then please report to ffms devs: https://github.com/FFMS/ffms2/issues

But if it's the same problem with all source filters .... fishy.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 22nd December 2017 at 13:22.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2017, 15:04   #22  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkelf5 View Post
Can't attach the timecodes as they exceed the 300kb limit
Code:
http://www12.zippyshare.com/v/d7CYgXUP/file.html
Sorry, I can't help you with that kind of timestamps (irregulars in video and audio).
I don't know how can be managed inside AviSynth.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2017, 16:14   #23  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
I've edited thousands of vfr files. In avisynth and other programs. I'm telling you from a lot of experience, this is the 1 case where directshow is 10x better than everything else . (Usually you should avoid it like the plague). Much more consistent and places frames more accurately than the others.

Code:
DirectShowSource("video.ext" , fps=23.976, convertfps=true)
Whether or not you can use Trim() directly in that script, depends on your directshow filters, your splitter and decoder. The safest thing to do would be to encode that to an I-frame intermediate first, then apply whatever filters you want.
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2017, 16:48   #24  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,078
Basically I do agree, but there are some misconceptions about DSS2Mod here...

DSS2Mod is DirectShow based. It will always convert VFR to CFR, i.e. "convertfps=true" is not needed. It will NOT index the source, but there is a "preroll" parameter which is extremely useful for difficult sources (default is 0, a value of 15 works well for most sources, and it should be raised to 100 or even higher for difficult sources). In my experience it works best when LAV Filters are used as the DirectShow source filters.

DSS2Mod does not handle audio, DirectShowSource should be used for audio. IMO this combination beats ffms2 for most sources (it probably does not beat DG's tools).


Cheers
manolito

Last edited by manolito; 22nd December 2017 at 16:56.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2017, 17:17   #25  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Basically I do agree, but there are some misconceptions about DSS2Mod here...

DSS2Mod is DirectShow based. It will always convert VFR to CFR, i.e. "convertfps=true" is not needed. It will NOT index the source, but there is a "preroll" parameter which is extremely useful for difficult sources (default is 0, a value of 15 works well for most sources, and it should be raised to 100 or even higher for difficult sources). In my experience it works best when LAV Filters are used as the DirectShow source filters.


The problem with DSS2Mod, is it often drops one or two frames on some sources (usually at the end) , sometimes green frame at the beginning , regardless of preroll. This is repeatable behaviour.

I've literally done thousands (closer to tens of thousands) of tests on several different setups from different sources - capture sources, camera sources, web source - This is a huge sample size. I'm very confident making these claims




And for FFMS2 / lsmash - the conversion usually puts frames in not quite the right spots . You can tell in a NLE when looking at the audio waveform. Directshow is closer to correct. Again tested on thousands of sources
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2017, 20:17   #26  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,480
When ffms2 gives me sync issues, DirectShowSource on the graphs themselves is the solution.
Together with LAV Splitter, LAV Video and LAV Audio, bien entendu.

Code:
vide0=DirectShowSource("video.grf", audio=false)
audi0=DirectShowSource("audio.grf", video=false)
AudioDub(vide0, audi0)
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2018, 11:43   #27  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,480
For the record...

1) Last week I messed around with some ancient ASF files, and I have to say that FFMS2 is unable to deal with them properly;

2) This morning I downloaded a couple of .WEBMs from YouTube and verified that they too are "problematic" to FFMS2 :/

But again, GraphStudioNext and DirectShowSource() saved the day.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.