Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th July 2010, 22:18   #1  |  Link
sspotts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Crop losing sound

I'm new to ripping DVD's and used [spam] to rip hundreds of my DVD's to AVI so I can easily access them through my TiVo.

Unfortunately, I used a single default aspect ratio for all of the movies, 700x400, 1200kbps video bitrate, 128kbps audio bitrate, MPEG4 video codec. Most of the movies have a black band top and bottom, and I wanted to use Avisynth to remove the bands. I tried a simple crop command, which did remove the bands, but the resulting AVI has no sound.

Is there some trick to this? I just want to remove the bands and keep everything else the same.

Last edited by Guest; 11th July 2010 at 23:11. Reason: 5
sspotts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 22:26   #2  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,394
Please give more detailed information - exact Avisynth script, which application, what settings.

The only thing I can tell you for sure is this: the crop() command of Avisynth does keep audio intact. The error necessarily must be somewhere else.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 23:13   #3  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspotts View Post
Is there some trick to this? I just want to remove the bands and keep everything else the same.
Yes, you have to dub the audio and video back together in your script. E.g.:

vid=AVISource(...).Crop()
aud=... # your audio source filter
AudioDub(vid,aud)
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 23:23   #4  |  Link
MatLz
I often say "maybe"...
 
MatLz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 584
Doesn't avisource keep the audio ?
MatLz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 23:34   #5  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I don't know. I never use it.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2010, 23:49   #6  |  Link
MatLz
I often say "maybe"...
 
MatLz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 584
You joker
It does...

But, for optimal quality, even if it is long to do that, he should start from his DVDs, not from his AVIs.

btw, to have assign the same bitrate to all movies is bad....recode a maybe bad encoding may be more bad...

Last edited by MatLz; 11th July 2010 at 23:53.
MatLz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 00:00   #7  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatLz View Post
But, for optimal quality, even if it is long to do that, he should start from his DVDs, not from his AVIs.
Of course you're right, which explains why I never use AVISource().
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 00:35   #8  |  Link
sspotts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Okay, so if assigning the same bitrate is bad, how do you get the right numbers? Is there a simple way to rip 6-700 DVD's to AVI?

I also just tried using VirtualDub to process the scripts, and it blew up the size of the file no matter what I tried. The scripts I've been trying are simple:

AVISource("E:\Video\SciFi\Pitch Black.avi")
Crop(0, 44, -0, -48)
sspotts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 00:48   #9  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
In VirtualDub you have to set an output compression with Video/Compression, otherwise uncompressed RGB will be used.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 01:31   #10  |  Link
MatLz
I often say "maybe"...
 
MatLz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 584
Well, your audio issue is strange and should be investigated, but that's not a problem here because you don't need to process audio at all. Your audio is already compressed.
Just mux it after to have processed the video.
But I suggest you to use AVC to limit the quality loss.
MatLz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 01:51   #11  |  Link
MatLz
I often say "maybe"...
 
MatLz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 584
So, if I were you :
-identification of similar 'cropping values' videos
Put all of them in the same folder
-do a .bat launcher for each folder to write all the scripts ( avisource().deblock().crop() )
-after that put all in the same folder and make an other launcher to encode and remux

As it is low res, it will be relatively fast to process, so you can use really high settings for the encoder with low quality based value (crf 17-18)
MatLz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2010, 04:46   #12  |  Link
sspotts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
I wish I knew what you two just said...
sspotts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avi, crop, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.