Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd May 2015, 11:58   #1  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
HCenc 0.28

A new release: HCenc 028

- needs Avisynth 2.6 RC1 or higher
- support for mod8 resolutions

This new release expects Avisynth versions with AVISYNTH_INTERFACE_VERSION = 6.
Tested successful with:
- regular Avisynth 2.6 RC1 - RC3
- Avisynth MT by SEt (Current version 2015.02.20)
- Avisynth+ (tested r1779, r1718 or higher should work)

Download here.
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2015, 14:13   #2  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank315 View Post
A new release: HCenc 028
&&

Quote:
- needs Avisynth 2.6 RC1 or higher
Confirmed!
Quote:
- support for mod8 resolutions
Checked
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2015, 15:30   #3  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,353
Hank, can you please explain how you determine if Avisynth is installed? I have a setup where I run batch files to select the version of Avisynth I want. I don't have registry entries but rather I just have the avisynth.dll directory in my PATH. I currently have AVS+ 1825 MT installed and can open a script with version() with no problem in VirtualDub. But when I run HCenc 0.28 it tells me that Avisynth is not installed. Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by videoh; 3rd May 2015 at 17:00.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2015, 18:52   #4  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
The registry is checked:

Code:
  ...
  iret = RegOpenKeyEx (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE,&    ! Key handle at root level
                       regpathC,&              ! Path name (SOFTWARE\Avisynth)
                       0,&                     ! Reserved
                       KEY_READ,&              ! Requesting read access
                       LOC(hKey))              ! Address of key to be returned
  AVS_installed = (iret == ERROR_SUCCESS)
  ...
If AVS_installed = false a warning is generated but if there's an Avisynth.dll which can be loaded it will use that one.
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2015, 19:20   #5  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 938
Now this is an update. Thanks for your continual work.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2015, 21:23   #6  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank315 View Post
If AVS_installed = false a warning is generated but if there's an Avisynth.dll which can be loaded it will use that one.
Excellent, thank you very much. And thank you for the update!
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2015, 22:01   #7  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank315 View Post
If AVS_installed = false a warning is generated but if there's an Avisynth.dll which can be loaded it will use that one.
Apparently, your code does not work on a 64-bit OS. When I test your registry call with KEY_READ | KEY_WOW64_64KEY then it works. Registry handling is a bit different for 64-bit Windows.

I suggest and request, therefore, that you eliminate the registry check entirely and just load the DLL that you find.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2015, 00:38   #8  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
Strange, here it works OK (Win7 64 bit).
Quote:
I suggest and request, therefore, that you eliminate the registry check entirely and just load the DLL that you find.
Maybe not such a bad idea, if LoadLibrary succeeds simply proceed.
Will have a look into it tomorrow, thanks for the report.
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2015, 01:32   #9  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank315 View Post
Strange, here it works OK (Win7 64 bit).
Hmm, yes, confusing. I'll look into that a bit more also.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2015, 00:01   #10  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,258
I'm getting crashes and hangs with AviSynth+ r1825 with 0.28. The crash or hang occurs during the sampling pass - if there's a crash, it's at the switch from Phase 1 to Phase 2 (and then even crashes DrWatson), and if there's a hang, it occurs at the very end of the sampling pass, before switching to actual encoding. 0.26 is unaffected and can use r1825 without issues.

I've seen this happen on an old Celeron II (Pentium III Coppermine base) machine running WinXP, and on a mid-2011 iMac running OSX 10.10 with AviSynth+ and HCenc under Wine 1.7. The XP test was single-threaded, and the iMac/Wine case was with Prefetch(4).


EDIT: It appears that a standard 2-pass encode is fine, though, as tested on the aforementioned Celeron. So it seems to only affect the sampling pass in a *1PASS encode.

Last edited by qyot27; 8th May 2015 at 00:39.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2015, 11:31   #11  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by qyot27 View Post
It appears that a standard 2-pass encode is fine, though, as tested on the aforementioned Celeron. So it seems to only affect the sampling pass in a *1PASS encode.
I can reproduce this. However, it crashes with every version of Avisynth.

-> Crash dump
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2015, 22:46   #12  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
I can also reproduce it and yes it will crash with every version of Avisynth.

This update should fix it

And as requested by videoh Avisynth.dll is just loaded, which one can be checked with the Avisynth info button.
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2015, 22:57   #13  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,353
Awesome, Hank, thank you!

I confirm things work great for me now. The Avisynth Info feature is great, as it shows the path and version. Sweet.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2015, 23:10   #14  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank315 View Post
Thanks Hank, working fine here, too.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 05:08   #15  |  Link
qyot27
...?
 
qyot27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,258
Yep, it's working now. Thanks.
qyot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 06:15   #16  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,961
Just gave version 0.28 a short test run, it does work on my old machine. I normally use an older AviSynth version, but thanks to Groucho I can easily switch to the latest 2.6 RC3.

Question is: Why should I?

Going over the change log all I can see is support for HD output and support of more color spaces. I use HCenc ONLY for DVD creation, so these improvements do not matter for me.

Are there any other improvements in the encoding engine which would result in better quality for DVD compliant output compared to version 0.26 ?


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 09:20   #17  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
I normally use an older AviSynth version, but thanks to Groucho I can easily switch to the latest 2.6 RC3.

Question is: Why should I?
There are quite a number if bug fixes from 2.5.8 -> 2.6.0, as mentioned here. I seem to recall that you use 2.5.7 so that list may be even longer. 2.6.0 is also faster and uses less memory than previous versions.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff

Last edited by Groucho2004; 9th May 2015 at 09:44.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2015, 10:38   #18  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,961
Sorry, I was not clear enough...

My main question was why I should consider using HCenc 0.28 instead of version 0.26. Since all I use it for is DVD output, will version 0.28 have any advantages? (I also don't see why anyone today would use the MPEG2 format for HD output since even H.264 is almost obsolete these days).

For AviSynth the only reason I still have to use 2.57 is that I cannot live without good old DVD2SVCD. And every AviSynth version after 2.57 gives me a totally white screen in the preview window. I tried a lot of things to debug this behavior, but it is the avisynth.dll, nothing else.


Cheers
manolito

Last edited by manolito; 10th May 2015 at 02:40.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2015, 02:48   #19  |  Link
SuLyMaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 156
Bumpzor :P Interested in this too!
SuLyMaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2015, 19:46   #20  |  Link
Precomposed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 13
Where can I find the license agreement?
__________________
Jon Geddes
Precomposed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.