Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th July 2018, 04:22   #1  |  Link
Ditto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Extracting and remuxing HDR metadata without reencoding video?

So, there are two encodes from the same source - one without the HDR metadata and one that's with. I was hoping MKVToolNix may have a function which allows you to do what I'm requiring about, but perhaps it's not that simple (should be possible I imagine, though I'm not sure how linked the data is to the specific x265 parameters, or whatever other codec, set for the encode). Is it not just a header file which goes by the effective time/framerate of the video stream (irrespective of compression methodology)?

In any case, if somebody knows of the effective tools/software and accompanying steps (whichever aren't obvious) and can provide them here, that would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Ditto; 9th July 2018 at 13:54.
Ditto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2018, 03:43   #2  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,562
MediaInfo will read the values, if it's HDR10. You could use something like this tool https://github.com/SK-Hardwired/nv_hevc_hdr_patcher to patch in the metadata, though I've never used it and can't vouch for it.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2018, 13:32   #3  |  Link
Ditto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
MediaInfo will read the values, if it's HDR10. You could use something like this tool https://github.com/SK-Hardwired/nv_hevc_hdr_patcher to patch in the metadata, though I've never used it and can't vouch for it.
Right, I've heard people had trouble with MediaInfo to do that for some reason though (but yes, it's HDR10). I'll try it out and try using the referenced tool. Once I do, I'll report back. Thanks, sincerely!
Ditto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2018, 12:19   #4  |  Link
K.i.N.G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ditto View Post
Right, I've heard people had trouble with MediaInfo to do that for some reason though (but yes, it's HDR10). I'll try it out and try using the referenced tool. Once I do, I'll report back. Thanks, sincerely!
So did you have a chance to try it out and if so how did it go?
K.i.N.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.